We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's got everything you want .... and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Puli Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added The Puli Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Puli Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3,843 Hotels in Shanghai
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“It's got everything you want .... and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed at the Puli for six nights when visiting our son who has just moved to Shanghai. One of his business partners had recommended the Puli and we were not disappointed.
It's uber modern with a zen like feel: the long lobby/bar area is full of very cool people having business meetings. However, despite being older and definitely not cool/trendy we were still made to feel very welcome! Our room had a real wow factor despite having a view over the elevated freeway and the building site opposite (we had requested a park view but we were staying in one of the cheaper rooms so did not expect one). The rooms have every amenity imaginable (the club floors even get a local mobile phone to use with free local calls), including great nespresso coffee machine, premium teas, all kinds of computer cables to hook up various electronic bits of kit, a desk drawer full of all sorts of office needs, etc. There was also a torch, which was needed when trying to stumble around the room in the middle of the night without waking my husband. The blackout blinds and venetians (electronically operated) are the most efficient I have come across. The bed was really comfortable with crisp premium cotton sheets changed daily and lovely pillows. The bathroom amenities were top quality too and there was a great sunken bath overlooking the freeway(!) as well as a walk in rainhead shower which was divine.

Breakfast was served in the main restaurant and I loved the European choices as well as the buffet which was very varied. There is also an oriental menu which I didn't try. The waiting staff were delightful and we had the same waiter every day who always greeted us warmly. The views over Jing'an park were delightful.

The pool and spa offer the same breathtaking views (equally great by day and night when the sky is filled with neon). The pool has a real 'wow' factor, being a long lap pool, which whenever I went was completely deserted. I didn't try any of the treatments so can't vouch for those but the spa and jacuzzi area were great with a sauna and steam room as well as a large jacuzzi. It was all well maintained, though I did notice that a light bulb needed changing the whole time I was there, and the first two days the steam room was not operational.

It's quite pricey but we got a good deal from the hotel web site: three nights for the price of two which seems to run throughout the year. There are other deals on offer too. We also seem to have got a good general rate but I guess this varies.

There is an attractive library area with a computer for guests' use (with printer) : this always seemed available but I guess this was because if you are 'uber cool' you will have your smartphone/laptop/ipad with you and be able to use the wifi which is free throughout the hotel.

I liked the decor which fused modern clean lines with ancient artifacts and the public areas have some large bold ethnic artwork.

My only criticism concerns the front desk/concierge service. We made a couple of requests: one was for a recommendation for a chinese herbal medicinist. None was forthcoming. A quick search via my iphone app brought up two recommendations in downtown Shanghai. The other concerned advice about the time needed to get by taxi to the rail station. We took the concierge's advice and were left with one and a half hours to spare before our train! It was only a fast 15 minute journey.

The location of the hotel is excellent in the Jing'an district right next to a metro entrance for lines 2 (which takes you everywhere from the Airport to People's Square, the Bund, Pudong and the fake goods markets) and 7. Jing'an Park is delightful - go take a walk in the early morning and watch the locals practicing Tai Chi and ballroom dancing. There is also (for a fee) a small traditional tea house in an ornamental garden on the site of the original burial ground for the temple. The modern Jing'an Temple is now across the road from the park next to the many upmarket shopping malls where you can shop till you drop!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    155
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
65
214
62
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent one night at the Puli hotel and loved it. We stayed in a suite with impressive views, a perfectly decorated living room and beautiful bathroom. We enjoyed the bathtub overlooking the nearby temple. Free minibar and nesspresso machine were an appreciated plus. The lounge design is perfect, however, to enjoy it comfortably, we learned that we had to book the comfy couches 2 hours in advance. It seems that this is a regular business meeting place, which is a bit ackward resulting in not enough room for hotel guests. Apart from that, the experience was memorable even though short and we would not hesitate to come back there for our next stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011 via mobile

Top hotel, oasis in a busy city. Beautiful rooms, nicely decorated, a good spa, very nice restaurant with an international cuisine with local touch. Conveniently located near a metro entrance but also near a part of downtown. Very customer friendly staff. Will go back for certain to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed at the Puli in mid December 2010 for about five days on a great package deal. Room was sooooo nicely designed. Unlike anything I have ever been in. I was happy to work in the room all day and night! Lobby smelled so good with a big live Xmas tree.

Breakfast was pricey but service was great. The staff, after the second day, REMEMBERED that I loved extra strawberry jam and every morning when I walked in the Manager would bring extra jam to me without asking! Now thats serious customer service! Maybe I am hard to forget. Ha ha! The room service was great too. The HAMBURGERS (believe me, I know my beef as a serious burger connoisseur. I find the best burgers all over USA and the world) were about as good as they get. And a real gourmet green Salad! Not that lame 'iceberg' white lettuce garbage. The only place that is maybe better is Blue Frog in Shanghai.

The Concierge was the best. The nice gentleman helped me track down stores nearby (actually he called all over Shanghai) for a rare electronic item I needed to buy. Also helped arrange express shipment pickup and boxes for me.

Puli is not the cheapest hotel in town, and their are lots of goog hotels in the area. I have tried many of them. But for style, good food, service, location and experience, I would go back every time if I could. Subway across street, French Concession also nearby so there is lot to explore. Go with a good attitude and you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford, nc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My adult son and I spent a week at the Puli while in Shanghai. You know you are in for a unique experience when you walk in the door. View their website. Their photographs accurately portray what awaits. The service is friendly and prompt. The staff went out of their way to meet every request, and seemed to know all their guests by name. The room was very clean and comfortable, with no noise from hallways, adjoining rooms, or even the busy street out front. It was everything one would expect from a luxury hotel. The trendy shops of West Nanjing Road are within walking distance, as is Din Tai Feng, THE place for dumplings in Shanghai. Many other great restaurants are in the neighborhood as well. It is a 10 minute taxi trip west of People's Square and The Bund, and literally across the street from the French Concession area. I would highly recommend The Puli to any Shanghai visitor desiring luxury accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Hotel is sitting right in the city which fits their objective - urban resort. Hotel lobby and room are very nice, just the simple modern niche style my husband and I always enjoy. Staff is very friendly all over. The only bad review I have to complain is on the package details. We signed up for the package "easy spring", in the website it says including 15% tax, 2 3-course dinner meal, 2 spa and breakfasts. Upon checkin they wanted to charge us the 15% tax, we have to take out our computer to show them what is listed on the webpage to get the charge take away. Then at dinner time the captain told us only one 3-course dinner is included, the other person needs to order a-la-carte. Upon checkout, we found breakfasts also charging on our bill, so we had to take extra 30-40min to show them again, on our cpu their webpage, what is included and what charges to take away. Luckily the receptionist is professional, willing to doubel check and correct the charges for us. But maybe hotel is too new, the communication between departments is not very well done so all the confusions arise.
There is only one restaurant in the hotel, the food is just soso...actually if you have the choice in room breakfast or down in restaurant for breakfast, the in room one is good enough....
Overall okay experience. Oh the spa is exceptionally good and professional. That I have to comment very good, very pricy too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_PuLi_GM, General Manager at The Puli Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments on your stay and thank you also for bringing to our attention that we have kept you waiting when we tried to sort out the package details at check out. Our packages are there to make things easier not more complicated. Not to make excuses but to at least let you know what happened: for unknown reasons the reservation was recognized for 1 person in stead of for 2 which made no sense but unfortunately caused the hick up in package details and progressively so throughout your stay. Please accept my apologies. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Puli for five nights and it is undoubtedly one of the most beautifully designed new hotels around. Our room was stunning, large and had fantastic views. It's just a shame that the poor service makes the experience of staying here such a disappointment. The hotel is understaffed throughout; at breakfast we waited 25 minutes just to get a menu in a restaurant staffed by three people and serving around 60. Staff throughout the hotel - particularly on the front desk and the concierge staff - were rude and obnoxious, although I wonder to what extent this was due to the fact that they were often run off their feet. The hotel manager - who we wanted to talk to about our complaints - ignored us in favour of talking obsequiously to one of his regular guests. For a hotel of this design quality, and at this price, the poor level of service means that I would never return, nor recommend to others. Oh, and the hotel pool, while a beautiful design, is totally impractical for a hotel this size; the pool is so slender that no more than three people can swim at any one time, which meant that in a five-day stay we managed to use the pool only once. And the ladies' spa was out of order for the duration of our stay. Not really a five-star experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Puli Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puli Hotel and Spa

Address: No.1 Changde Road, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#3 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#7 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#319 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Puli Hotel and Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With handcrafted luxury at the core of its service philosophy, The PuLi guest experience marks a departure from the expected generic style of luxury usually associated with conventional collections of foremost hotels. The result is a distinctively unique, new spatial and guest experience, to heighten discovery and bring delight to the senses. The PuLi, with 26 floors, 193 rooms and 36 suites will offer 24-hour in-room dining as well as 24-hour concierge, laundry and valet services. Jing'An, the hotel's signature 120-seat Restaurant located on level 2, also boasts impressive views across the park. A 32-metre Long Bar will offer one of Shanghai's "longest" wine and champagne selections by the glass. The bar and lounge will create a chameleon-like atmosphere as the space transforms in character and mood through the day. A superbly equipped state of the art gymnasium, sauna, steam room, experiential showers, jacuzzi pool, 25-metre lap infinity pool as well as the first Anantara spa in Shanghai operated by the award-winning spa group, is available to all guests on level 3. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Puli Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puli Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Puli Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.