We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai World Financial Center

Shanghai World Financial Center
Building 1, No.100 Century Ave, Pudong New Area, Shanghai, China
021-68777878
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #5 of 838 attractions in Shanghai
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Malls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Three observation decks offer different experiences at the 94th, 97th, and 100th floors. The 100th floor is the highest observatory in the world, with transparent glass-walled walkways.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The view was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Instead of going to the observation floor, we went to the 91st floor of the Park Hyatt to their restaurant. We had a great lunch -- there is a special Lunch Menu Set. We were fortunate to be seated at a window table and the day was only a little hazy so we had terrific views. We had decided that if the restaurant were full we would have a drink at the bar. Staff were friendly and service was attentive. We were both wearing dungarees and most customers wore business attire; I think we would've felt out of place in shorts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    477
    130
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The visuals are awesome. The elevator is exclusive for tours, and there is a crazy light show in there. The whole experience was very nice, and from the top you can see the old part of the city, and understand a little better how this huge metropolis is growing.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cool, Modern City-Viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Seeing all of Shanghai from over 100 floors up is pretty exciting, and it feels really safe. The floor is thick marble and concrete, though there are glass parts where you can look at the street directly below the Center.

The high-speed elevator has some interesting lighting effects that make it feel like you're going up or down visually, and just the aesthetics of the path up to the top is amazing.

Going on a CLEAR day is a must, otherwise all you'd see is haze and fog. There'll most likely be tourists there, just as a warning, though they have limits as to how many people can be on the observation deck at a single point to prevent having it too crowded for enjoyment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a great experience on the top most fl;oor, however the glass bottom panels as floorings are very narrow and therefore reduces the pleasure of standing and statring at a cabbie metres below! We decieded to drink a bottle of beer on the SKY 99 but were rudly asked vacate "their section" if other members of the group were not drinking. Dont expect our 14 year to drink buddy!
Overalll : Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go in the Evening...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Yes, the view from the 100th floor is spectacular if it is a clear day. If you have a fear of heights, don't worry, while the crosswalk is glass, they have "safe" zones where you can't see down. There is a small restaurant/bar on the 94th floor that has reasonable drink prices (by Shanghai tourist venue standards). While the city is quite interesting during the day, the view truly becomes spectacular once all of Shanghai's neon lights up. Bright sun reflecting from the windows makes it a little hard to see out. The 150 rmb is a little steep but well worth it. This is the highest observation deck in the world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai World Financial Center also viewed

 

Been to Shanghai World Financial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai World Financial Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.