We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Three Star Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Bund Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bund Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 3,739 hotels in Shanghai
California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Three Star Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hotel situated not in the best part of downtown Shanghai. Room okay, bathroom okay, large shower 6' by 3', very big. Water pressure very good, W C and sink also good. Good size bathroom with marble floor. Coffee maker very fast and easy to use. Some small problems, phone started beeping at 2:00 AM, disconnected, light in closet went on as you hit the floor getting out of bed, but soon went off, light for wifi connect was blinking all night long, also disconnected, shower door somehow got off tract, but was fixed next day, no hair dryer. Beds in China are hard as a rock, can request more quilts to soften area, but it still is sleeping on a rock. All that said, Hotel was okay for a three star, was not a problem going to an from at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    216
    107
    42
    17
See reviews for
46
120
45
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

- Stayed here for 4-nights on business trip.
- Reasonably priced hotel. You get good discount if you book over internet. Paid around 110
US$ inclusive of taxes per night
- 5 to 7 minutes walk to Nanjing Road
- Staff at front office, restaurants & lobby bar undestands & speak english well. Helpful
ofcourse.
- Free internet in lobby as well as in rooms.
- Upgraded to superior room located on 17th floor on arrival.
- Very clean & nicely maintained floor as well as rooms.( Check the pictures)
- Taxi to Xin Tan Di, French town costed me between 12-25Y. Old Shanghai shopping area &
New Shanghai Exp costed me in between 40-60Y which I found very reasonable.
- Take tour guidance from front office before stepping out of the hotel. They are very helpful
especially Mr Jackson who tried his best to help all the guests to best of his knowledge about
the city & related information.

Room Tip: Bund or City view, both rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel , well located 15 min walk to Nanjing Road main street. After several group chinese meals we escaped to the Pizza Hut on Nanjing road. Nice western style hotel. you will be satisfied. Big room and had a nice restaurant. Room service was decent and we had a mini bar. There were 2 free bottles of water everyday and a good coffee maker, and hair dryer. Close to local markets and a good place to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location near downtown Shanghai, cleaness and service need substantial improvements. I got a windowless room with stained carpet and wallpaper. The floor was not cleaned. Also the bathroom was not in great shape. The place needs renovation but with good service and cleaness it would at least be acceptable. The five stars have stopped shining long time ago...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
446 helpful votes 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located near city centre and waterfront, this hotel is well situated. All rooms face a canal, however, hotel rooms on the one side face the River as well which is a few city blocks away near the huge walking shopping mall.

Reception was chaotic because of a woman reception manager who grabbed everyones passports who where checking in bypassing other reception staff who had control of one check-in at a time. The staff were obviously fearful of her and her tactics.

Our room (opposite river-view rooms) was clean, very spacious, larger than river-view rooms. Rooms had a safe, mini bar (with stupidly expensive products), separate tub & shower, window seats and a nice view of the canal and partial city view.

Included in our room (perhaps compliments of our tour company), we were provided 2 bottles of water. You cannot drink water in China.

Breakfast was interesting. I think this hotel is used mostly by tour companies because there were many large tables rather than smaller ones. There are a few tables with city views but the rush is on to get them. The food is quite good with a selection of both chinese and western foods including eggs, noodle soup, cereals, nice bread, etc. There are many wait staff - mostly standing around with nothing to do. The omelet/noodle table only has one cook which is not enough. In the 3 days we were there, we had 2 different egg cooks, both were rude. Jack, refused to make eggs where the egg yolks weren't broken. When we asked for over-easy eggs and not to break the yolk, he huffed, rolled his eyes, walked away from the table cook stand for a minute and put the non-flipped undercooked eggs on my plate. The other cook, punished us for asking for a second soup by letting the noodles boil an extra 10 minutes and made us stand waiting for him to cook eggs for many other tourists before serving us. I guess they don't recognize they are in the hospitality industry. The restaurant is also used for buffet dinners if you arrive late or don't want to venture out.

The bar downstairs would be nice but over-charges so most people don't use it except as a waiting area prior to leaving the hotel. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, which is always a benefit.

The hotel gives competitive rates for changing money. Careful when buying postage stamps as staff charge more than appropriate - our tour guide told us a price, the staff quoted a higher amount and then retracted when challenged by the tour guide.

Generally speaking, I would recommend this hotel for westerners traveling to China.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the River, the other side has larger rooms. Both have a view of the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Within 2 blocks of the center of Nanjing Road walking street, it was a great value for its location. Its exteriors aren't particularly well-appointed because it's in an older district, but its interiors are quite high quality.

I got upgraded to the executive floor on the 16th, and my window had a gorgeous view of the Pudong skyline at night. Bathroom was all marble, with separate roomlets for tub, shower, and toilet. Corridors on the executive floor was all redwood. Very large and comfortable bed. French windows with marble. Free wifi and broadband.

It's a 10 minute walk from the Nanjing Road East subway station and a little hard to find. Cab drivers in Pudong don't really know the area; I found that only the cabbies who worked Puxi knew the area well enough to find it, so you might have to try several cabs before someone agrees to take you depending on which area of the city you're in. 25-30RMB taxi ride to get to the bar district.

I paid $80/night, and felt like it was a $400/night room back in the U.S., so I'm highly pleased, but make sure you know your roads down pat before getting there the first time because it is a little hard to find.

Oh, and don't drink that sparkling water they put on your bed stand. It's not free and cost 49RMB.

Room Tip: City view rooms are actually better because you get to see the Pudong skyline. River view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here a few days while on a tour. More than adequate for the price with glass external elevator on the bund side.

Friends had room with a great view, but to be honest i didn't look out of my window as a hotel is just a place to rest, sleep, shower and sh1t.

Nice and local for shopping and use of metro. Great local space nearby (Tao's Cafe, Dainchi Road). Free wifi throughout.

Recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#159 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bund Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.