We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in middle of Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bund Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Bund Riverside Hotel to your Saves list
The Bund Riverside Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 3,989 Hotels in Shanghai
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in middle of Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

- Stayed here for 4-nights on business trip.
- Reasonably priced hotel. You get good discount if you book over internet. Paid around 110
US$ inclusive of taxes per night
- 5 to 7 minutes walk to Nanjing Road
- Staff at front office, restaurants & lobby bar undestands & speak english well. Helpful
ofcourse.
- Free internet in lobby as well as in rooms.
- Upgraded to superior room located on 17th floor on arrival.
- Very clean & nicely maintained floor as well as rooms.( Check the pictures)
- Taxi to Xin Tan Di, French town costed me between 12-25Y. Old Shanghai shopping area &
New Shanghai Exp costed me in between 40-60Y which I found very reasonable.
- Take tour guidance from front office before stepping out of the hotel. They are very helpful
especially Mr Jackson who tried his best to help all the guests to best of his knowledge about
the city & related information.

Room Tip: Bund or City view, both rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    264
    129
    52
    23
See reviews for
62
166
63
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel , well located 15 min walk to Nanjing Road main street. After several group chinese meals we escaped to the Pizza Hut on Nanjing road. Nice western style hotel. you will be satisfied. Big room and had a nice restaurant. Room service was decent and we had a mini bar. There were 2 free bottles of water everyday and a good coffee maker, and hair dryer. Close to local markets and a good place to stay in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Great location near downtown Shanghai, cleaness and service need substantial improvements. I got a windowless room with stained carpet and wallpaper. The floor was not cleaned. Also the bathroom was not in great shape. The place needs renovation but with good service and cleaness it would at least be acceptable. The five stars have stopped shining long time ago...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
190 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Located near city centre and waterfront, this hotel is well situated. All rooms face a canal, however, hotel rooms on the one side face the River as well which is a few city blocks away near the huge walking shopping mall.

Reception was chaotic because of a woman reception manager who grabbed everyones passports who where checking in bypassing other reception staff who had control of one check-in at a time. The staff were obviously fearful of her and her tactics.

Our room (opposite river-view rooms) was clean, very spacious, larger than river-view rooms. Rooms had a safe, mini bar (with stupidly expensive products), separate tub & shower, window seats and a nice view of the canal and partial city view.

Included in our room (perhaps compliments of our tour company), we were provided 2 bottles of water. You cannot drink water in China.

Breakfast was interesting. I think this hotel is used mostly by tour companies because there were many large tables rather than smaller ones. There are a few tables with city views but the rush is on to get them. The food is quite good with a selection of both chinese and western foods including eggs, noodle soup, cereals, nice bread, etc. There are many wait staff - mostly standing around with nothing to do. The omelet/noodle table only has one cook which is not enough. In the 3 days we were there, we had 2 different egg cooks, both were rude. Jack, refused to make eggs where the egg yolks weren't broken. When we asked for over-easy eggs and not to break the yolk, he huffed, rolled his eyes, walked away from the table cook stand for a minute and put the non-flipped undercooked eggs on my plate. The other cook, punished us for asking for a second soup by letting the noodles boil an extra 10 minutes and made us stand waiting for him to cook eggs for many other tourists before serving us. I guess they don't recognize they are in the hospitality industry. The restaurant is also used for buffet dinners if you arrive late or don't want to venture out.

The bar downstairs would be nice but over-charges so most people don't use it except as a waiting area prior to leaving the hotel. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, which is always a benefit.

The hotel gives competitive rates for changing money. Careful when buying postage stamps as staff charge more than appropriate - our tour guide told us a price, the staff quoted a higher amount and then retracted when challenged by the tour guide.

Generally speaking, I would recommend this hotel for westerners traveling to China.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the River, the other side has larger rooms. Both have a view of the can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Within 2 blocks of the center of Nanjing Road walking street, it was a great value for its location. Its exteriors aren't particularly well-appointed because it's in an older district, but its interiors are quite high quality.

I got upgraded to the executive floor on the 16th, and my window had a gorgeous view of the Pudong skyline at night. Bathroom was all marble, with separate roomlets for tub, shower, and toilet. Corridors on the executive floor was all redwood. Very large and comfortable bed. French windows with marble. Free wifi and broadband.

It's a 10 minute walk from the Nanjing Road East subway station and a little hard to find. Cab drivers in Pudong don't really know the area; I found that only the cabbies who worked Puxi knew the area well enough to find it, so you might have to try several cabs before someone agrees to take you depending on which area of the city you're in. 25-30RMB taxi ride to get to the bar district.

I paid $80/night, and felt like it was a $400/night room back in the U.S., so I'm highly pleased, but make sure you know your roads down pat before getting there the first time because it is a little hard to find.

Oh, and don't drink that sparkling water they put on your bed stand. It's not free and cost 49RMB.

Room Tip: City view rooms are actually better because you get to see the Pudong skyline. River view rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here a few days while on a tour. More than adequate for the price with glass external elevator on the bund side.

Friends had room with a great view, but to be honest i didn't look out of my window as a hotel is just a place to rest, sleep, shower and sh1t.

Nice and local for shopping and use of metro. Great local space nearby (Tao's Cafe, Dainchi Road). Free wifi throughout.

Recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night here , the last stop on a two week trip around China.
Originally booked by tour operator into another hotel it only took ten minutes to decide to change to this hotel and so glad I did.
The Riverside Bund Hotel had helpful staff only too glad to help carry bags up the few steps to reception. Checking in was easy & quick all the staff I met spoke good English.
This really was a four star hotel. I had a twin room on the 15th floor which had all the facilities that I could have needed & a breathtaking view of Shanghai's most famous buildings. A great seating area & bay window made it a pleasure to take it all in - this got even better at 22.00 when a firrwork display started.
The hotel is in a fabulous location near the Bund in quiet streets but only a couple of streets away there are bustling streets with tea-shops , food sellers & alittle further on a modern shopping area full of large international stores.
The glass lift that travelled on the outside of the hotel was another bonus discovery. Breakfast on the 18th floor gave more stunning views & a great choice of western or Chinese food with helpful attentive staff.
I regretted having to move on so quickly but if I should ever return to Shanghai this will be the hotel I book

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 3,989 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
People’s Square
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
#158 of 3,989 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
People’s Square
Seventh Heaven Hotel
Seventh Heaven Hotel
#198 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Bund Hotel
The Bund Hotel
#146 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
People’s Square
Baron Business Hotel
Baron Business Hotel
#374 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Hongkou
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
#368 of 3,989 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bund Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bund Riverside Hotel

Address: No.398 Beijing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#159 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bund Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bund Riverside Hotel Shanghai is ideally located in the heart of Shanghai Commercial District, nearby Huangpu River. The other side of our hotel you can see the symbolic Oriental Pearl TV Tower and the Lujiazui International Financial Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bund Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bund Riverside Hotel
Hotel Bund Riverside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bund Riverside Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.