We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still rough around the edge but breakfast totally delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 3,843 Hotels in Shanghai
Melaka, Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Still rough around the edge but breakfast totally delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

As this hotel's official opening is less than 1 year old, you may find some inexperienced young staff and raw edges around the room and hotel.

I stayed in the 96 square meter suite overlooking the oriental Pearl tower which looks great at night. Rooms with riverview is more expensive but also more interesting, as I saw from the health club with great jacuzzi and steam rooms/sauna. The health club and the gym in this hotel is great and much better than the china hotels I stayed, including Hilton Beijing.

The huge suite room is beautiful with classy furniture and soft lighting but the use of space is not clever enough. There are dozens of switches which can be convenient or confusing for some.

Buffet breakfast here is fantastic. The spread is varied enough even for chinese and asian food (korean and Japanese). For South East Asian chinese, chinese food in China buffet either tastes awful or lacking as our version is more of the Cantonese cuisine popular around the world.

The western section of the buffet is sumptuous and delicious. The sausages, hams (including spanish ones) and cheese are of high quality but the best of the buffet have to be the pastry which can rival good bakery out there.

Location wise is just 5 minutes walk from Oriental Pearl Tower which is opposite the Metro. This part of Shanghai is less crowded with tourists than crowd mad Nanjing road.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    136
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
60
15
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July, we booked a standard room without breakfast due to our travel plans and itinerary. The hotel is quite new and only 5 mins walk from the Lujiazui metro station. The interior is designed in a modern but traditional way and the reception is light and airy with a coffee shop to one side. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and contain blackout curtains (avoids being woken up too early in the morning by the light) along with the usual room amenities of a 5-star hotel (TV, internet access, desk, coffee/tea making, toiletries, iron etc). The bed was very comfortable, could have missed our flight by wanting to stay there longer!
We ordered room service as we had returned from the Expo late in the evening, the food was good - for room service and quite a large selection to choose from - but wasn't very hot when we received it. On the second evening we did go to the restaurant (approx 9pm) but the buffet was just being cleared away and so only menu items were available, this menu is the same as room service. The buffet did look very good though.
We tried the bar on the top floor of the hotel, Red Passion. It is good for views at night, cocktail menu was not very original. As with most bars in Shanghai, smoking is still permitted but we managed to find a table with a wall and plants blocking the smokers. Service was abit haphazard as only one person serving so we only stayed for one drink.
The fridge in the room did not seem to keep any items cold so we did not use the mini bar and there was no ice placed in the room in the evening. 2 bottles of water are provided each day.
The bathroom was quite big and contained a bath - separated with the toilet behind another glass door - and a large shower cubicle with a rainfall shower. Good selection of toiletries if you happen to forget something.
While the hotel is quite new I do wonder if some of the finishings, while being very nice, will start to show wear and tear before too long.
We would stay here again and would like to try the pool if we have enough time on our next visit to Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

The hotel was absolutely what you might expect of a large new hotel designed for the corporate/conference market. First impressions of the hotel at check-in were of an imposing (but charmless) lobby filled with lots of staff who seemed a bit lost. Given the number of staff there I was surprised that no one offered to help me with my bags after check-in (which was not without its glitches). I had similar problems at check-out (in particular trying to confirm my car transfer).

The rooms were, as you would expect in a new hotel, really lovely. They were spacious and the views over the Bund were impressive. They had all the features one might need or want in a hotel room for a business trip. The bathroom was lovely and well designed also.

I had breakfast and lunch daily in the River Cafe. Like many Asian hotels the buffets were impressive and really varied so even by day 5 there was enough variety. Service was again, not great. Several times the coffee I ordered never arrived and having the table reset required several requests of different staff. I also had a dinner at Sun time Century (the Chinese restaurant in the hotel). There are many better places to eat in Shanghai and I probably wouldn't recommend it unless you want the convenience of staying in the hotel. The Red Passion bar on the top floor of the hotel had impressive views but it does close quite early so worth getting up there at the start of the night. The lobby bar was a pretty standard hotel lobby bar.

Having previously stayed on Nanjing Xi Lu I found this part of town comparatively very quiet (in a good way).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

Had a good time in this Hotel in this amazing city. No issues at all, and a fine choice if your in Shanghai. The surrounding area is spectacular but can be a little dead at night as its the Financial District, so not much in the immediate vicinity.

Head to the Bund instead if you want to party, across the river in old Shanghai. Bar Rouge on the Bund, has the most jaw dropping view in the world in my opinion. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I spent 3 nights in this hotel witha colleague of mine.
Booked with expedia which was offering 3 nights at a price of 2.

The hotel is brand new. Apparently has been opened only 2 months ago. Even if I booked a city view rooms I've got a river view room which is much better since you have open view of the Hangpu river. Room are huge the bathroom has the bathub and the shower. They only difficult thing is to understand how the lights system works. In 3 days I did not manage to understand it but it is a minor problem.

I made extestive use of the spa, which is incredible. The huge pool at the top floor is worth a bath, in fact yopu swim with a beautiful view of the city. There is also a littlle relaxation area with hot bath and cold bath with also the sauna and the steam bath. The gym although is not huge is vell fitted with tecnogym machines.

Since i do not like the Chinese food I went either to the Spanish reastaurant and the Italian restaurant located inside the hotel. Food was more than good and it was not overly priced as sometimes happens when you dine inside the hotels.

Last to say Breakfast. It was not included in the room price but it is awesome. There are many different choices from croissant, to spanish ham, to chinese or japanese food.

Definitely a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Newly opened 5 star luxury hotel by the Spanish Meliá group. One of the most luxurious I have ever seen. Unbeatable location right alongside the river and next to the Pearl Tower in the heart of Pudong near all the new skyscrapers and just a few yards from the underground metro station to travel to all the tourist attractions. Great views of the Bund across the river. Then there's the food !!! Great location, big and comfortable rooms, great food. Perfect for discovering Shanghai. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
564 helpful votes 564 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

A grand, big, plush, modern, new hotel, a block away from the Pearl Tower in Pudong district. I learnt that this hotel is run by Spanish. I saw many foreign staff around. This hotel is not formally open yet (just soft opening by this time), so during breakfast I always saw many staff busy around with foreign supervisors teaching the serving staff (tone quite serious and loud). Food is good with wide variety.

Room inside is very good, spacious, clean with all necessary amenities. Bed very big and comfortable. Shower (with rain shower), bath tub and toilet are separate in 3 cubicles or area in the toilet room.

View from the room is not open as buildings in Pudong area are all too close with each other. There is a dark heavy commercial buidling in between the hotel and the Pearl Tower and my view is blocked.

Price is relatively low. I believe it's because it's still in trial stage. So valuable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong District, Shanghai 200120, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#29 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#52 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#257 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.