We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong, Shanghai, P.R. China, Shanghai 200120, China (Formerly Gran Melia Hotel) (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 3,837 hotels in Shanghai
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Huge room with modern amenities. Very very quiet - absolutely no noise from adjoining rooms.
Service was great. Views were very good (room 1212). 2-3 minute walk from Oriental Pearl and subway.On site dining options are expensive (but it is 5*) lots of options right outside the door though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Iain679,

Greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai.Thank you for taking your precious time to share your comments with us.

We are pleased to learn that you truly enjoyed our hotel for its good equipped rooms,helpful service ,breathtaking view and ideal location!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Shanghai and hope we can have another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Best regards

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    131
    40
    13
    4
See reviews for
29
59
15
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in Gran Melia about a year ago. Service of the hotel is excellent and structure of the design is pleasant as well. Not only the service and architecture but landscape of the most rooms are amazing. In addition, it is close enough to the centre of Shanghai by taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempinski_Shanghai, General Manager at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear artun b,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and your positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the hotel staff.

I am glad to inform you that we are now managing the hotel under the Kempinski brand as the Grand Kempinski Hotel, Shanghai.

We thank you once again for sharing your experience and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Martinez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The price ($130 through expedia) of the hotel is very reasonable. But there are many reasons to seek other options in Shanghai. The service is unsatisfactory. Trying to reach the front desk from my room, for example, my call was never picked up (I did, admittedly, give up after two minutes on the line). I'd advise not ordering room service or eating at the Kempinski restaurants - the food quality was very, very poor. The decorating scheme of the spacious rooms overlooking the river feels a lot like a generic airport hotel. I'm opting for Shanghai's Park Hyatt in the future. If you're looking for a "special" place to stay in Shanghai, I'd suggest you consider other locales as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear 849Susan:

Greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai!

Thank you for taking your precious time to write a review and tell us about your unpleasant experience. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service you experienced in our hotel. Your reviews is taken very seriously ,which will help us a lot to improve our service . We have already shared the information within our management team to make sure such kinds of acts from our staff will never happen again.

We really appreciated that if you can kindly let us know of your contact details .We also welcome you directly contact with us via email to prd.shanghaipudong@kempinski.com

We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future and witness our improvement!

With best regards,
The Entire Team of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sel,mlysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we really enjoyed our room while staying here, the room is well layout and the view of the bund is simply beautiful esp at night. i could just sit sipping coffee enjoying the view for hours.
the staff are helpful though and the front desk though they can speak english but their comprehension is average. we were there on the day before ramadhan and we were trying to get help from the front desk to get the contact number for muslim association, or the morque, and to ask them when did the ramadan fasting start as when we called it was being answered in chinese. after many attempts trying to explain to the front desk staff , we just gave up and just decided to start fasting the next day.
location is good, just 5 min walk to the nearest metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, Web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear mafmSel_mlysia ,
Sincere greetings from the Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai .

Thank you for taking your precious time to write the comment.

We are delighted to know that you love the view of the bund very much and have a memorable stay at our hotel. And please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred to you . We kindly inform you that the nearest mosque from our hotel is Shanghai Pudong Mosque on the Yuanshen Road, which is about 5 kilometers away from our hotel. You
can easily go there by Metro line 2.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai and again thank you for taking the time and effort to review our hotel .Thank you !

With best regards,
The Entire Team of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Checked in for 3 nights at the end of our trip and although we're not even halfway through our stay yet I've decided to write a review already as I'm really impressed with this hotel. I booked online via Agoda - around £110 per night (not including breakfast) for the 3 of us (son is 12 so can still share the room with us) - you'd struggle to get a good quality B&B in England for that amount of money and here we're getting 5-star luxury. The jewel in the crown is the swimming pool on the 30th (top) floor with awesome views over Shanghai! I asked for a room with a nice view when checking in and the receptionist gave us a lovely room on the 23rd floor with a fantastic view over the river. The quality of service has been excellent so far and the level of spoken English is generally very good.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, Web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear travelbuzz1,

Greetings from Grand kempinski Hotel Shanghai ! Thank you for choosing our property and taking the time to post a nice comment sharing your recent stay with us.

It was our great pleasure to be able to provide you with such a good experience in Shanghai. We are thrilled to your generous compliment of our swimming pool on the top floor and our bund view room.

Your satisfaction is the best encouragement for us! Thank you for your comment again.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best regards,
The whole team of Grand kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is correct. The rooms are spatious and comfortable. The bathroom has a heated mirror that feel great. There were some minor details in our shower, but overall, ok. The buffet breakfast is awesome, by the way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherrie D, web coordinator at Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Carlsben,

Please receive sincere greetings from Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and comment.

We are delighted that you had a happy and memorable stay at our hotel. We are glad you appreciated the spacious rooms with dazzling view and exquisite breakfast .

Thank you for your nice comment again.It can encourage our staff to consistently do our best for our preious guests. We look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you in the near future again.Thank you!

With best regards,
The Entire Team of Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so california
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I got a bund view room at fairly reasonable price. Room was great, lobby was great but the bar food had very limited selection. I did not have any concerns about safety but i notice one shop in the hotel lock its doors with something that looked like steering lock!!

When i checked into the hotel, a flower vase broke and gave me a very deep wound. The staff attended me very swiftly but 4 days later when they noticed everything was back to normal they send me $200 receipt. Of course i did not pay but was quite surprised at their attempt. I would have rather appreciated a "note of apologies".

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai

Address: No. 1288 Lujiazui Ring Road, Pudong, Shanghai, P.R. China, Shanghai 200120, China (Formerly Gran Melia Hotel)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#27 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#49 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#262 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai is centrally located in the Lujiazui financial and trade section of the prestigious Pudong district and offers sweeping views of the Huangpu River and the Shanghai skyline. Within walking distance to the Oriental Pearl Tower and only a short drive away from the Jinmao Tower, The Bund, and other well-known landmarks of Shanghai. The Pudong and Hongqiao airports can also be reached within 45 minutes. The Hotel’s design combines contemporary and Oriental features, where guests can enjoy a variety of cuisines including Chinese, Mediterranean, Spanish and an international buffet at Elements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Ctrip DaoDao, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Kempinski Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.