Our stay at the Gran Melia Shanghai was mixed. The hotel itself is impressive with a superb lobby area, lounge bar and restaurant. It is close to the finanical hub of Shanghai and a logical choice for a business visit to this fabulous city.
The rooms are very well appointed. We stayed on the 19th Floor overlook the river with views of the Bund. The room was large with a king size bed and medium sized bathroom. Everything was very comfortable. We were promised free internet as part of the package but it took us a couple of visits from the IT staff to get this working. Both IT people were very diligent but it was a disappointment that the WIFI did not work and we needed a router installed in our room to get service. This took about two hours in total.
The room was very clean although there had clearly been a spill of some description on the carpet and despite their best endeavours, the stain was still obvious. The shower had a number of different settings. Beware of the jets in the shower. They are extremely powerful (almost painful) and caused the floor of the bathroom to flood - clearly a design flaw.
The Hotel has a lovely bar on the top floor of the building with a magical view of the Pearl Orient Tower. The drinks are VERY pricey so be warned. We arrived at 12.45am for a nighcap to be told that the bar had closed despite the advertised closing time being 1am. We had to complain to a manager to get service.
Breakfast is served in the lobby restaurant and that too is expensive. My advice is to walk next door to the DBS plaza. There is a lovely cafe called Sunflower that opens around 8am every morning and is half the cost of the Hotel.
As the property is located in the new financial district of Pudong, it is great if you are in Shanghai on business but not so good if you are there on vacation. We were there on vacation. Most of the attractions in Shanghai are on the Bund side of the river and this means that you have to take a taxi to get anywhere. That's fine so long as the taxi driver is prepared to take you to the other side of the river and that seems to depend on the hour of day and the day of the week. Friday nights are to be avoided at all costs. It took us nearly an hour to find a taxi willing to go to the French Concession area of Shanghai. The staff on the forecourt of the hotel were less than helpful. None of them seemed at all concerened. When taxis arrived, they seeemed to allocate them on an arbitrary basis and twice we were left waiting while others were whisked into a waiting cab. We were left standing on the forecourt for half an hour before I complained to the duty manager. Only then were we offered a drink on the house and a sincere apology for the inconvenience. The bellman then came in to tell us a taxi was waiting - just as our drink arrived. When we went outside, the taxi had gone. It seems in this town nobody waits. We went back inside to wait and our drinks had been tidied away. The possibility of delays is really worth bearing in mind if you have to meet others for dinner on the other side of town. Our entire evening was inconvenienced. The Duty Manager insisted on our room number to make amends but when we checked out the following morning there was no credit or consideration. This was very disappointing. Worse, we had the same issue getting a cab as it was Saturday and there were very few taxis in that part of town. When one arrived, the forecourt staff forgot that we had our luggage on a trolley in the foyer and the taxi drove off with another patron.
The Hotel has the potential to be a really lovely property but it is let down but over the top pricing and very poor quality staff with no English on the forecourt of the Hotel. A little more attention to detail in staff training and some repositioning on pricing would go a long way. If you are visiting Shanghai for leisure, I would recommend staying on the other side of the river as the inconvenience of travelling back and forth and the frequent delays can be very disconcerting.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you so much for your note on Trip Advisor concerning your stay at Gran Melia Shanghai.
I am sorry that the wifi and service were not what you had expected. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced in our hotel. We will take follow up actions to avoid same case happen.I hope those issues did not totally ruin your impression of our hotel. Be assured that Gran Melia Shanghai Management will never cease in their efforts to constantly improve the quality of service and product provided.
We sincerely appreciate the gentility to bring your experience to us. It will be a pleasure receives you again.
Customer Service Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.