We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Save Saved
You added Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House
No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 312 Shanghai B&B and Inns
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here back in October but I wanted to add a review because it was a fantastic place. Reserving the room over email was easy. They accidentally double booked the room we were in but got back to us very quickly and upgraded us to a bigger room at the same cost. The room was very nice and the location was good, but most of all the service was very friendly and the morning breakfast was very good. We would stay here again.

One thing to watch out for: We were in Shanghai for 3 nights and they only had 2 available so we went hoping for a cancellation to open up a room with their kind offer that if there wasn't one they would help us find somewhere else similar. In the end there was nothing available, which was completely fine as they never made any promises, but the place they recommended had pretty bad reviews when we checked it on tripadvisor so we found somewhere else on our own. Just a word of warning, though I would still recommend staying here even if it wasn't for the full stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    28
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
49
19
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed in the Fleur room and have similar comments to Karlie re the room itself. The breakfasts were very good (though it would have been nice to have some juice as well) - nice to sit at a communal table and get the chance to chat to other guests from different parts of the world. The staff are very helpful, the B&B is well located, with easy access to local eateries and metro line.

All in all a recommended place to stay - comfortable and safe!

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions given on the website (very detailed) to ensure you get a room that meets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The second half of our China trip was to be a week spent in Shanghai, during which time I would be celebrating my birthday. We thought we would splurge a little bit and decided on the Quintet B&B. However, we did still end up going with one of the cheaper rooms, the Fleur de Shanghai, which was still 900RMB/night. Their website is fantastic, very aesthetically pleasing with lots of information about the property and the city.

Bruce greeted us upon arrival and helped us up the stairs with our bags. And there are lots of stairs. 35 stairs, to be exact, to our room which was only on the second floor. That can definitely get tiring after a long day. I would also not recommend anyone with any type of mobility issues to stay here because of them.

Our room was decorated very tastefully, as were the other rooms I happened to see into. It is quite small, though. I've stayed in small rooms before so the size wasn't a big deal, but for the price we were paying it hurt a bit (about $140 CDN a night). There were lots of amenities like robes, two free water bottles per day, tea and tea pot in room, good bath products, hair dryer, safe and more.

Breakfast is Western style, with a choice of eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, tomato, or museli and yogurt. When you check in, you get little slips for each person, each day that you make your selections on and give to the cook each morning. The food was prepared well, but we stayed for an entire week and after a few days it would have been nice to have some different options (and I did have different combos each day).

Some other pros and cons.
Pros:
- I was able to use the computer and printer in the office.
- The rooftop patio is cool
- They left me a note and chocolates on my birthday.
- Sheet with many attractions written in Chinese.
- Close to two metro stations on different lines.
- Big bathtub.

Cons:
- The shower/bathtub leaked like crazy! There was a drain right there, but it took forever to clear off the floor. Dangerous.
- The street noise was very loud.
- While the Quintet is nice, I felt like the price was still way too high for what it was.
- The stairs also make a lot of noise, even if someone is trying to walk quietly. Very disruptive when napping or at midnight when people would come home.

The Quintet is a nice place, but my overall experience was average. If I were to stay in Shanghai again I would look for somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lovely place to stay in Shanghai. Tastefully decorated rooms and yummy breakfasts. Excellent location, close to two metro stations and loads of restaurants. Kenny and Bruce were both great hosts, very accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really excellent place to stay in Shanghai, the location is great and the rooms are immaculate, stylish and comfortable. Breakfast was really delicious, cooked fresh for you by the chef, and the staff (Kenny and Bruce) go out of their way to help. Simple touches, like a handy list of places to go written in Chinese characters ready for you to give to taxi drivers and a list of good places to eat locally, really make a difference. We stayed in 'Aurora' which was perfect, complete with private terrace. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Husband & I stayed here for two nights & loved it. Was our last stop on a 2-week trip in China, and the perfect end. Clean, great location, friendly & helpful staff, and a delicious breakfast too! More than accommodating, the Quintet staff leaves great tips for your sight-seeing ventures in Shanghai, arranges taxis in a timely fashion, and even assisted us in finding out if tickets were still available to a local show before making the trek there. Also, when our departure time required us to leave before breakfast, they'd had delicious sandwiches packed in our room to take on the road. We were in the Bubbling Room, which was quite nice. Only downfall was the few steps to the bathroom, as we'd done an extensive hike the day before arriving and our legs were quite sore. All things considered, highly recommend!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at Quintet for five nights in early February. We loved the location, on a nice French Concession street just a couple of blocks from two subway stations that serve three lines. (One of these is line 2, which serves both airports.) The building and rooms are quaint but fully renovated, with all conveniences and many extras (robes, bottled water, hair dryer, tea kettle and tea set, large safe for valuables, etc.). Excellent breakfasts are cooked to order and served in the dining room on the ground floor. We would definitely stay here again.

My only disappointment: we stayed in the "Oriental Pearl" suite on the ground floor. It's the most expensive accommodation, because in addition to the sleeping room it has a lovely glass-walled and roofed sitting room with a chaise longue and an antique desk. That room is very nice, but because of all the glass, in February it was much too cold to use. I wished we had booked one of the less expensive rooms, although I can imagine that in warmer weather the Oriental Pearl suite might be worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Don't pay a premium for the Oriental Pearl suite in mid-winter; the sitting room is too cold to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House

Address: No.808 Changle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintet is a boutique B&B located in the historic French Concession neighborhood of Shanghai. Stay at one of our six stylish, individually designed rooms in this three-story 1939 garden lane house and experience the bygone elegance of Old Shanghai. All rooms come with private baths, satellite TV, DVD players, and iPod-ready stereo. Enjoy gourmet breakfast in our downstairs lounge dining room or simply relax on the rooftop terrace. Knowledgeable staff can assist with special requests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintet b&b Guest House
Quintet Bed And Breakfast Guest House Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quintet Bed and Breakfast Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.