We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, could be called a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BeeHome Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BeeHome Hostel to your Saves list
BeeHome Hostel
No.210 No.490 Lane, DongChang Rd, New Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hostel, could be called a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was the best hostel we've seen in China (we lived in 4 of them). The quality of the rooms was excellent and it could be called a ** hotel as well. We left our luggage there upon comming to Shanghai and travelled for a week some 2000km away. No problem with that. When we came back and checked in this hostel, we got our luggage. I call this good service. The staff was very helpful with suggesting trips.
The rooms were clean, the bathrooms as well and with european-style toilet (truly exceptional in China)!
Although the hostel is located almost in the centre (15minutes walk from Pudong skyscrapers, 2 minutes from the metro station), the prices are great. There were 3 of us and we each had a private 2-bed room for a very reasonable price.
When going to Shanghai, I would live here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
6
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.A.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed upon recommendation from Tripadvisor. It's a tucked away hostel off an alley filled with trees that gives it a country feel event though it's right near the heart of Shanghai. As a solo traveler I stayed in the less expensive private room and should've paid a few yuan more for the nicer bed. I had a small twin bed that's supported by wood (I think another commenter mentioned how bad it was too). I rested well but it's not something I would repeat. Shower/toilet was private and satisfactory although the shower curtain which ran 90 degrees around the corner was insufficient and annoying when showering. Price was fine but I expected a bit more as my other China hotel stays have provided better accommodation for around the same price. On the good side the restaurant was packed when I arrived at night and smelt wonderful, but didn't have a chance to try it on this trip.

Room Tip: Pay for their best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Straight to the point. ( do keep in mind, the context and rating is for a HOSTEL)
1. Great location
2. I took the room option, and quite liked it
3. The cafe is awessomeeee, and great value
Dislikes
1. Could hear dim noises through the rooms
2. the bathrooms could be better, but honestly it wasnt bad
3. Bed was a little creaky

i stayed there during the Expo, and was quite plesantly surprised. I used to cringe at the "living in a hostel" option when on a holiday, but to be honest u can choose a hostel and still not feel like you live in one, especially when u get to save extra dollars and spend it on fun stuff instead.
The other travellers included diverse group of ethnicities, litreally west meets the east. It felt quite young too, 25-30 age group. The hostel is also right next to convenience stores, decent massage parlours, and easy to hail taxis etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

very old and bad smelling rooms ):
they dont want to give therfore discount. very bad service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

On the positive side, the place is relatively convenient and has the basic amenities.

On the negative, the service is mediocre and little details are not attended to. It's hard to sleep later, as the cleaning staff made their grand entrance at nine in the morning. The restaurant is poorly cleaned and lacks a number of items on the menu. People behind the front desk are capable enough, but not friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

I love this hostel.
Things i didn't like about this hostel:
-Location. It's a 10-min walk towards the Subway
-It's really hard to find where it is if you don't know its exact address.
-View is ugly but SWFC is also in the view.
-When we were sleping, the neighbor of the hostel was doing some construction things beside our window.

Things I loved about this hostel:
-restaurant & food
-affordability
-receptionists (especially the girl) are so friendly (but the guy who was there when we checked in @12mn wasn't- didn't even help us out with our luggages going up the 2nd floor)
-their maintenance guy (old man) helped me out with my broken luggage. I really appreciated that.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This is the cleanest and most value-for money hostel in shanghai. Its very near The Bund. Very near the Train Station. Peaceful and Quiet.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BeeHome Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BeeHome Hostel

Address: No.210 No.490 Lane, DongChang Rd, New Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your BeeHome Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BeeHome Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.