We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Hospet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel in Shanghai. The staff at the Hostel were very helpful and polite. They were doing some renovations, so there was hammers pounding and circular saws buzzing a few minutes after 7am. That was a little early for us. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay. Excellent location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    87
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
33
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 nights and found the staff to be very efficient and they provided a very good level of service.
I stayed in a double room which was clean and quiet. I used the router so I could get wifi in my room which was great. You pay a Y100 deposit.
The bar in the roof is excellent and a great place to meet people.
Lots of cheap places to eat in the streets surrounding the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room was fine if not slightly better than some of the hostels we've stayed in and reception were nice and polite. Although nothing exceptional at all about the place. As a hostel it seemed well designed for a social atmosphere with a rooftop bar and plenty of communal space with a pool table, but it seemed to be let down by the guest. You could sit in a room full of people in complete silence and upon trying to initiate conversation I appeared to shock someone. Having a 'hostel rep' to sort out a few communal activities and get people talking could easily change this from an average hostel to an excellent one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hostel for one night in the private room. It's an interesting place, with comfortable sitting area where you can use wi-fi, place with ping-pong tables, reception staff that speaks English. Rooms are clean and simple, have traditional tea cups with lids and a kettle and an air conditioner. Not bad for $50 for three people. Beds were on the firm side but comfortable.

You can arrange a driver to pick you up at the airport; our driver was late though. However, they made sure that our family arriving later was picked up on time.

It is located in a narrow street lane, can be noisy there, although we were lucky. Not too much tourist info available about the area, so use Internet.
Breakfast is continental or eggs and toast for 40 yuan (7 dollars) so we decided to walk around and found plenty of places to eat including French bakery. We bought loose leaf green tea at the store and used our tea set to make delicious tea.

10 mins walk to the Jing'an temple from here, where you can also take metro.

No US dollars accepted, only credit card or local currency.

If you are a budget traveller, we recommend this place. It has its charm and provides a good experience for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here in a double room for 8 days. I'm not sure I agree with others who say this is a great value hostel. For me, it was a little pricier for what it's worth,

What I liked:
Pleasant and communicable staff
Clean bathroom and comfortable enough bed
Good atmosphere and cozy lobby
Free tap water near the front desk
Quiet room
computers in a lobby (free for 15 minutes)

What I disliked:
have to pay a deposit of 100 Yuan on the first day
Amenities are a little lacking (no soap, no slippers and only two bath towels)
No self-laundry room
hard to operate the air conditioning as the instruction is written only in Chinese

Restaurant recommendations: A.E. Kitchen(omelets, sandwiches), Shooters(sandwiches)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Let's put some words about Jing'an District and Jing'an Temple.

Jing'an District is one of the central districts of Shanghai.It is also home to one of Shanghai's business districts as thoursands of international ventures choose to setup their branches, subsidiries, and ventures in Jing'an District. It has an area of 7.62 km² but with 350,000 population, it is one of Shanghai's most densely populated districts.

Jing'an District was named after Jing'an Temple, an ancient traditional Chinese Buddhist temple, todays temple is a new replica of the old one, located in the southern part of the district. An Art Deco "dancehall" is just across the street; around the neighborhood are bar streets, although some areas develop and other close through the years. The Jing'an park, located oposite to the temple, is quite popular among locals; it used to be a graveyard for foreigners in the old Shanghai.

The Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel is located right in the blocks formed by Jiaozhou Road, Xinzha Road, Yanping Road, and Wuding Road. Banks, Wagas, Dim Sum Shops, Backeries all surrounded. If you would like to go further, Metro Line 2 and 7 could be reached easily by walking distance. If you come from Pudong or Hongqiao Airport, Line 2 and Shuttle Bus all stop over in Jing'an Temple Station.

The hostel itself with 3 floors of accommodation and one roof top area. Hostel could accommodate over 100 people maximum. What attract me is their common area at the first floor and the roof top area. Playing Pingpong, Pool, Watch TV, Drinking Beer in the cool wind after sightseeing.

Their rooms are okay, I was booked into the double room. The size is not that big, but hot water coming out immediately after tuning the valvet on. Not sure where they got the television but seems it has been used long time and screen looks like with earthquakes.

Show Gel and the Shampoo was provided by the hostel which you don't need to bring your own.

Staff is helpful and supprtive, If you need to know anything about the area, just go and ask them, you will always get the answer you want.

You may concern about their cleaness, Don't worry, it is super clean in their room and I see the nanny cleaning the floor many times a day.

However, their price is slightly expensive in compare with other hostels in Shanghai, the dorm price probably the most expensive one in Shanghai as they seems invest a lot in marketing.

In General, it is a very good hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Double Room for 8 nights at Le Travelers. Based on our stay:

Pros
- Value: for $35USD per night for a private room can not ask for much more!
- Location: city central, about a 10 minute walk from the metro, small restaurants and stores nearby.
- Room: clean, comfortable size. Wardrobe, desk, TV, reading lights.
- Free Wifi: only works in common areas, LAN cord in room.
- Common Space: great top floor lounge area and outdoor space.

Cons
- Cold in Winter: Building is freezing, heat in rooms makes it tolerable.
- Bathroom: a little outdated, can get a funky smell.

Suggestions
- Directions: closely follow what the hostel provides and look at exterior and alley pictures from other reviews. Small sign at alley, but easy to miss.
- AE Kitchen: AMAZING inexpensive (same price as hostel breakfast) Western breakfast served all day!! Went here almost everyday. Walk towards metro, on the left side of the street across from Urbn Hotel.
- Angel DVD shop: near AE Kitchen (on the same side), keep walking towards metro, after fruit stand (I think). Small shop with DVD covers in window/door area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Address: No.36, Lane 319, Jiaozhou Road, Jin'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Tour Traveler’s Rest Youth Hostel is located in the downtown area of Shanghai and is just 10 minute’s walk from the Subway (Line 2 and Line 7) (JingAn Temple Station and Airport City Terminal). Shanghai Exhibition Centre, Paramount Entertainment and former French Concession are all within walking distance. 5-minute's walk from the subway Line 7 - ChangPing Road Station, which leads directly to Shanghai EXPO Park.Nearby Nanjing West Road is a busy main road with offices, shops, restaurants and pubs. However the hostel is set back in a quiet residential side street away from the hustle and bustle. The building itself was built in the 1930s and is a former Towel Factory that used to supply towels to almost every family in China. When renovating the building we tried to salvage and re-use as much as we could from the old building – much of the furniture, flooring and panelling that you see in our guest rooms and common areas are made from the original timber.We accepts ISIC, IYTC, ITIC, HI Hostel card, Hostelworld VIP Card, … as our membership cards. We can offer accommodation in double rooms, twin rooms, apartment rooms and shared single-sex dormitories. The hostel offers a lively, vibrant atmosphere and has a Café and Bar, 24 hour access, free internet, bike hire, laundry, luggage lockers, garden, TV/DVD lounge, Table Tennis, Billiards and a quiet reading room. Also, at our reception there is a Travel Center, where customers can book flight and train tickets, as well as tickets for local one day tours and acrobatics shows, and much more besides… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tour Traveler`s Rest Youth Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.