We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dim sum - best dumplings in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung (Xintiandi)

Din Tai Fung (Xintiandi)
123 Xing Ye Road, Shanghai 200021, China (Xintiandi)
021-63858378
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 12,686 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Chesterland, Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great dim sum - best dumplings in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I really lilked the food in this place. I have given it four starts because I was not crazy about the atmosphere. The location is in a very upscale mall and I could not help but feel I was in an american food court. However, it was comfortable and fast service,

Clever drawings on the walls of Chinese stars who have authographed the wall.

We dined on traditional dim sum Hong Kong sytle (so I am told as I am not an expert). We also had sides of rice. Overall a very simple, elegant and delicious meal. We felt it was quite affordable but locals will tell you it's quite expensive for dumplings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    298
    69
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Geared towards tourists but the quality is outstanding and they speak English and also give you a leaflet on how to eat the dumplings...........consistently great be it in Sydney or Shanghai

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very good dim sum, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

very good dim sum, but a bit pricey. still nice place and it is always quite full so you might have to wait outside till they call your name..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Excellent dumplings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food was great here and it didn't take the usual 2 hours to eat. They say this is the best and I would agree. It is a mall and gets busy, but they move the people in and out. Should not have a problem ordering in english

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Chinese food in a clean way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

When you're in China you might be worried about the safety of restaurants. Well Ding Tai Fung is a Chinese restaurant located in the world's biggest cities. It is considered a fast food because everything is prepared so quickly. CNN GO rated it "World's Best Fast Food". There are many of them in Shanghai so give it a shot!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Xintiandi) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Xintiandi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung (Xintiandi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.