We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental to your Saves list
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week and was very pleased. The room was very spacious, restaurants have a good selection of both Asian and Western food and the buffets were exceptional. Internet speed was great. Pools, beach, spa, playground for the kids, nice lounge area with bar as well. Geat place to stay for a resort type vacation but far from downtown Shanghai for those looking at sight seeing options. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear PatrickSD,

Greetings from Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental!

I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for your most kind comments regarding our hotel’s staff services and facilities which were to your expectations. The hotel team certainly works very hard to keep all our guests comfortable and happy and you may be assured that nothing please us more, than to receive such kind comments from our guests and I shall be delighted to share yours with the team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    146
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
71
46
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Last weekend I stayed 2 nights with my wife. The room was great; the staff was very welcoming and friendly. But we were so disappointed by the restaurant the service there.

How come the food was so bad?

First night we would like try the Mediterranean restaurant, but the staff told us that we have to wait for at least 45 min to have the food. Because of only 1 chef was cooking now. (But there were only 2 tables customer). So then we went to the Japanese restaurant. When we made the order, half of the menu was out of order. Ok then, fine! But what we got was not what we ordered and the quality was not expected. How ridiculous that the staff even asked me to pay 20 RMB for one glass of hot water.

Second day we try a la carte on the main restaurant, Croque-monsieur was the worst one that I have never had (looks like BLT but untoasted). The pasta bolognaise was from the buffet!!! The meat was too dry and hard.

In the evening, we tried the Chinese restaurant. Personally I think it was the "best meal" in 2 days, but no cold beer!!!

For this level of hotel we was expecting better quality food.

I hope they will find a decent chef SOON!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Philmo0605,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience and we have also taken note of your comments and the shortcomings you have mentioned are certainly not acceptable.

I am most concerned that you are not satisfied with some of our services and facilities. We are working hard on improving the culinary foreign section. The specific matters that you have pointed out, I have raised with the concerned department heads so that more care will be taken and the staff trained accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Let us tell you a fairytale:

“Two young women arrive in Sheshan and enter an outstanding palace. Their host warmly greets them and escorts them to their wonderful room. The two young women stay dumbfound for a few seconds, run to the window and discover an amazing swimming pool. Wow! Orchids perfume and decorate the room. Small pastries are here, on the table, arousing their weaknesses for the sweet things! Their host wishes them a Magnifique stay, experiencing the life in the palace like two princesses…

A few steps further and the two friends jump into the pool for an evening swim under the stars. Wow! All these emotions make them hungry so the young women dress up with their most luxurious dresses to go and enjoy a wonderful evening…

They arrive at a traditional Japanese dining room. They sit, look around them and discover a lovely place, view on the swim pool on one side and view on the Chef cooking tasty shrimps, on the other side. They savored delicious homemade sushis freshly prepared with passion by the Chef, tasty scallops cooked to perfection and enjoy a full-favored cabernet sauvignon from South Africa. The evening goes well for the two young women. They talk, talk, laugh, feel already like princesses and enjoy a wonderful time in the Sheshan palace.

Tired, the two young women go back to their bedroom, fall asleep on the most comfortable bed, feeling like a cocoon; such a peaceful place to relax and rest, dreaming about this fantastic evening.

The sun rises up into the blue sky, perfect moment for the young women to enjoy the most amazing breakfast, seated on their terrace, contemplating the view on the quiet pool, feeling like two princesses in paradise... Warm croissant, warm crispy French baguette, delicious jams, egg, bacon, sun, blue sky, quiet… what’s else is needed? A swim and a relaxing sun bath! Noon, perfect moment for it!

The two young women jump into the pool a couple of meters away and then sit half in the water reading their favorite love stories. The place is very peaceful; no one is around. It is exactly what they were looking for, ideal afternoon resting and forgetting the other details of their life, like if they enter another world…

The sun sets on Shanghai, giving another opportunity to enjoy the life in this palace. The lounge is the best place to get the evening off to a beautiful start with fancy cocktails. The two young women continue the evening visiting the palace, amazed! Marble, gorgeous art frame, high ceilings, terraces, patios, all worthy of the most famous palaces… they finish the visit at the Mediterranean fine-dining room, relishing tasteful al dente pastas, mouthwatering desserts and macaroons.

After their last night in this heavenly palace, the two young women leave back to the downtown Shanghai, their mind full of Magnifique memories and a remaining feeling that they were two princesses for 2 days… Wow!”

This is not a simple fairytale. This is actually REALITY! This is Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental!

Room Tip: The pool rooms are amazing, definitely the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, General Manager at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear AurelieSWF,
Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
I am very pleased to see that you and your friend were satisfied with our facilities and enjoyed your stay. It is my pleasure to share your comments on our hotel employees’ efficiency and working attitude with the team, who exemplified the standard of caring, personal service for which we are striving.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
Best Regards,
Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went there with my family last weekend for father's day. We were upgraded to a suite and had full access to the executive lounge. The staff was great and the room was clean and spacious. The outdoor and indoor pool were both great and the beach style pool is very kid friendly, which is great when you have kids!
Only one small issue: the executive check out area has a reception desk for the guests to sit and check in/out. While we were checking out my wife and daughter were sitting and waiting for the checkout process and had some fresh fruit from a plate sitting on the reception desk. The couple that was using the reception desk as a table for eating returned and wasn't pleased. My issue is this: the hotel should not let people use the table as an eating table or they should remove the "Reception" sign so that people are not confused. It created quite an issue and I hope that this can be resolved in the future.
Other than that the stay was very good and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, Owner at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Qingdaoaggie,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
I am very pleased to see that you and your family were satisfied with our facilities and enjoyed your stay. We have also taken note of your comments and the shortcomings you have highlighted are certainly not acceptable. The specific matters you have pointed out have been discussed with the department heads concerned, so that more care will be taken and the staff trained accordingly.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Just in the middle of another great stay at this lovely hotel. Worth the extra for club lounge, staff are truly super coordi, Angela and Cloris make it a perfect experience.

The new beach and refurb outdoor pool are also just the best and great service from the pool staff.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelSheshan, E-commerce Executive at Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear AlexandraShanghai,

Thank you very much for your review highlighting your positive experience while recently staying at the Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.
It is my pleasure to share your comments on our hotel employees’ efficiency and working attitude with the team, who exemplified the standard of caring, personal service for which we are striving.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental.

Best regards,

Beat Klarer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental

Address: Crossing of Jiasong South Road and Sichen Road | 3388 Sichen road, Sijing Town, Songjiang District, Shanghai 201601, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#118 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental 5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short 15 minutes drive from National Exhibition Center and 20 minutes from Hongqiao International Airport, the elegant Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is located conveniently in the Sheshan Mountain National Tourism Resort. Elegant Mediterranean architecture nestles amidst a lush landscape and meandering lagoons. Just a short drive from the city centre sits one of the ultimate Shanghai luxury hotels in a setting that eases guests into tranquility. An international hotel that blends French hospitality standards with Chinese influences Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental accommodates business and leisure travellers in 368 luxurious rooms including 53 suites and 7 opulent three- to five-bedroom villas. The resort and conference hotel features the most amazing swimming pools in the city including 4400 sqm2 of freeform outdoor pools and 2 man-made beaches. Guests in the resorts Luxury Room Pool Terrace accommodation enjoy direct access to the pool from their terrace. Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental is a desired conference and event venue with a total of 3500 sqm2 meeting space including a 1200 sqm2 pillar-less ballroom and 16 meeting rooms. A variety of outdoor event options are as well available. The resort is also is a favorite weekend getaway for Shanghai residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Shanghai Sheshan Oriental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.