We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got no where to go in the evening” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2991 Gaoke West Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China (Shanghai New International Expo Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #310 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Hsinchu, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Got no where to go in the evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Low rates & good breakfast. I stayed in an excutive suite and the room is small but seems to be ok. Location is terrible for tourist but near expo center. Kind of right choice for expo vistors and exhibitors. Anyway too far away from local attractions such as the bund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is my first time in Shanghai....so I would like share my experience of staying in Blue Horizon and Shanghai City. Before arriving to Shanghai....make sure to install few handy apps for your survival in shanghai, Mandarin chiky apps (mandarin in English translator), Shanghai rail map lite & Google maps (make sure to browse shanghai map and save the point of interest prior to departure, so that the map will be available offline & Wi-Fi switched on after arrival.....no internet required for GPS navigation). Most important....take a screen print or hard copy of your Hotel name and address in CHINESE.

Upon arrival in Shanghai pudong international airport.....take the line immigration for foreign tourists, once completed proceed to Taxi terminal on the ground floor. You would find lot of people approaching you for taxi....do not say anything...just walk straight and take the que for taxi. Once you are inside the taxi show the hotel name and address in CHINESE (for those of you don't know the Chinese name is different from English ....so the actual name is translated to Chinese. If you say...Hotel Blue Horizon.....nobody will know!!! ) please make sure the meter is down and Google map open with gps and Wi-Fi on. Google map will help you to track where the driver is driving you...The distance from airport to hotel is about 32kms....which would take 40 mins....the minimum taxi fare is 14RMB for 2.4kms and 3RMB per km.....My total fare was110RMB .


Hotel Staff in Blue Horizon - The hotel check in went smooth....I choose the Executive Suite Wing which is behind the hotel. The hotel doesn't have Wi-Fi in rooms.....only wired internet!!! To access public Wi-Fi...you have to go the Main Lobby. The room was very clean and staffs were extremely hospitable. The house keeping service during the stay was very professional....kudos to that. I should thank the front desk and bell boys for the care and great service. Cheers to a great team!!!

Main purpose of my visit was SIAL China and see few tourist spots. For those....whose main purpose is SIAL, this is the right choose....the hotel is very close to Shanghai New International Expo Center. The hotel has shuttle bus for drop and pick up (8-9am & 5:10-6pm). Please make sure to take pick address in English & Chinese. I choose to take taxi around 11am.....and my fare was 20RMB with no traffic. Morning 9-11am is peak hours near SNIEC and you would end up paying 30-40RMB.....if at all you choose to go during peak time.....please get down where you are stuck.....cross the road and take the bridge to SNIEC . Now getting back to hotel....if you have chosen the hotel bus shuttle ....go to the location mentioned. If you have decided to go by taxi between 5:00- 6:30pm.....you would hardly find a taxi driver who would take with meter down!!! Be prepared to pay 50RMB to hotel. You will find lot of drivers approaching you for taxi.....they would start with 100RMB.....negotiate for 50RMB...they would take you.

Sight-seeing and getting around Shanghai.......Hotel Blue Horizon is very far from the city....you need to spend 50-60 RMB to get to the heart of the city.
I choose to see Shanghai city with Shanghai Metro Rail....the closest metro station to the hotel is Longyung road ....it's about 15 mins walk from the hotel (use Google map to locate the Metro) I choose to take taxi....take the Shanghai Metro Rail app and show it to the driver.....it's about 5 mins by taxi, I paid 14RMB.Tip: always use Google map to see where the driver is taking.... The best deal for tourist is take a unlimited 1 day metro pass (18RMb)....if you intend to stay longer in Shanghai...go for 3 day metro pass...which is 45RMB.Top spots to see in The Bund, Pearl Tower, Super Brand Mall,Yù Yuán, Jing'an Temple & East Nanjing Road. You could see all the place with Line 2 and Line 10. Use Google map to find the way to the spots....you would need to walk 10-15 mins from the metro to most of the tourist spots.....except for East Nanjing Road.

Food in Shanghai- Taste of any food is adapted over time....so what is tasty for you....May not be for the other. The hotel buffet is 90% Chinese ...the breakfast is included in the room ....the buffet is open from 6:30-10:00am. You would find heavy traffic in the restaurant from 07:30-09:00......overall it was good. The main chef in restaurant was very helpful in suggesting the dishes......all the F & B staffs very courteous.....great service! Most of my meal during the day was in Mc Donald's or KFC.....you can find Mc Donald's ad KFC all over Shanghai. If you are business visit...you would be dining with a Chinese host....make sure to follow the Chinese tradition.....always the oldest or the most senior person sits first in the important chair and then followed by order.

Taxi in Shanghai - As in everywhere you would you find good and bad people.....I got scammed thrice by Shanghai Taxi drivers They would take for a long long ride.......so please switch your GOOGLE MAP every time you get on to a taxi!!!

Pick pocketers in Shanghai- pick pocketers are all over Shanghai....I read lot of reviews about it and I was extra careful with my belongings.....I did not have any experience ....Thank Goodness!

Foreign Exchange in Shanghai - China has a strict foreign exchange policy. For each transaction.....there a commission of 50 RMB. I read lot of reviews saying to hold the exchange slip for converting the currency back to Usd. That's not true in my case. Basically there is 2 transactions......USD-RMB and RMB-USD......so you would pay a total of 100RMB (17USD) in commission for currency exchange I used SPDB CHINA FOREX. Using ATM is the best solution in China!!!

Overall it was good trip to Shanghai....I had met some wonderful people, extremely hospitable hotel staffs....overall I had a great time and I am taking some good memories back home. I hope my shared experiences will help the first time travelers to Shanghai.

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Suite in the new wing of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you are going on aa Holiday then this is not the right Hotel for you as it is far from the city centre. But if you are going to attend the exibition: then this is the right choice. Hotel offers free shuttle to and from the Exibition centre. Service is also good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pros:
1. Very friendly concierge when we checked in, offering ice water while we are waiting for the room.
2. Located in Pudong which close to Shanghai New International EXPO Center(10 mins by taxi)
3. Easy access from/to PVG airport by Longyang Maglev Train (5 mins by taxi)

Cons:
1. Super far from city center, cost nearly RMB 50 from hotel to Puxi area.
2. Bathroom shower compartment area should block by shower curtian, all the bathrrom floor got all wet and flooded after shower, thats really annoying.

Room Tip: 1. Only suggest to stay if you are attending exhibition in Pudong area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

although i spent one night there but it was very comfortable. the room is extra clean and quiet environment.
the breakfast is rich, although Shanghai food is all sweet but you can find continental choice and other light food as well.

Room Tip: it was very quiet in the second building 50 meters away from the Lobby, you take the corridor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed 6 days in this hotel and everything was very good. the quality is high, the price is lower than the european standard. I stayed for business and everything is ok, I suggest this hotel. please note that in order to arrive to the hotel I suggest to use everytime a taxi, it's cheap and the place outside the hotel it's not Xintiandi !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Conveniently located 3 kms from the Maglev & Longyang Road Metro station, thus you are not far from reaching the heart of shanghai within 25-45 minutes. Very uninteresting neighborhood and if you were to kill time in the evenings then I suggest you take a good book with you. Close to the Shanghai Expo center & suits perfectly if your primary purpose of visit were to be the exhibition grounds.
Fairly adequate breakfast spread, very well managed & maintained, well- spoken & extremely courteous staff, clean and modern rooms.
A couple of massage parlors & a 24 hour super mart across the road well stocked for daily need items.
Overall a pleasant stay, good value for money for a city like Shanghai. Would I stay there again, Yes if I were to visit the expo center otherwise would prefer other alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.2991 Gaoke West Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201204, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 3,950 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 671
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon International Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.