We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 out of 2! My favourite Spanish restaurant .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ElWilly

ElWilly
Huangpu District Zhongshan East 2nd Road 22 5 Floor, Shanghai, China (Huaihai Road)
021-54045757
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 12,686 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huaihai Road
Description: “el Willy” cuisine focuses in Spanish traditional, contemporary tapas & rices with a fun twist. The structure of the menu follows the Chinese Yin Yang structure of a meal. All the food is designed to be shared family style & to be eaten comfortably with chopticks.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“2 out of 2! My favourite Spanish restaurant .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We love Movida in Melbourne and El Willy's makes my mouth water just thinking about the food. It's fresh, its tasty, it's clean and well presented, its quirky and Willy is character worth meeting. WE had lunch there in April 2013 and pre booked way ahead for dinner in October 2013. We took a fried with us and it did not disappoint. We all left satisfied. The oysters are divine as are the Garlic prawns served in a sardine tin, the sardines are excellent and leave you wanting more as does the special mini toast served to us. The mixed dessert was a great tip offered to us by our waitress. look do yourself a favour and pre book a table late in the afternoon and eat your day away watching the barges cruise down the river. We will return and recommend to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    74
    28
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Went to El Willy's with a group of 8. The restraurant is lovely inside and has a fantastic view of the Shanghai Pudong skyline across the Bund and river. The staff was attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent. We ordered many dishes and all shared them. The steak dishes and the calamari were my favorite. They have an excellent wine selection of varying costs. It is not cheap but you should enjoy the experience if you choose to go...we did.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful scenery, and lovely atmosphere. Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is one of the most popular Spanish restaurants in Shanghai.
Because it has moved to Waitan, along to the HuangPu river, it has newly acquired the beautiful scenery from the windows other than good food and lovely atmosphere which it already has had.
So, this restaurant is almost always crowded by American, European and Asian people. You should make a reservation before visiting there. The staffs on the phone speak English.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food - quite expensive for the city average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is great, with an amazing view enriched by beautiful big windows. Food is excellent for quality but do not expect big portions. Excellent for a cozy dinner of a couple of small group of friends. If you are 5-6 persons or more, you have to order every Tapas double otherwise there is not enought for everyone to taste, but it worth. Select 3-4 of them in double portion and then go for a main. If you choose wine be ready to have a bill more than 600RMb each. Main negative note: if you pay with credit card it is possible Bank of China does not work and waitress are not very good in using POS and its issues. We were 9 people all paying with cards and we spend almost one hour waiting there becasue their POS did not worked with Bank of China ( and we are in CHina actually......).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great view of the bund and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice Spanish restaurant and great place to bring out of town guests. Food and service is good. They have a nice set lunch menu which costs RMB168 per head.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ElWilly also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ElWilly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ElWilly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.