We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine lovers dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa Wine Bar and Kitchen

Napa Wine Bar and Kitchen
South Bund 22, Zhongshan Dong Er Lu 22, Shanghai 200020, China (The Bund)
021-63180057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,086 of 12,563 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 22 Reviews
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wine lovers dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

First, this is a must for all wine lovers. Do not pass GO! There wine list is impressive and broad. Probably strongest in French wine which is understandable if you are familiar with distribution in PRC.

Wine by the glass...great options, solid pricing despite the other posts. Well below 4/5 stars hotels' pricing on the Bund. 5/6 champagne options?!?!? My new spot!

The wine list is big and there are a few quality bottles of Bordeaux that must be mispriced low. That's all the help you'll get. Can't have competition on that one.

Italian, Californian choices and pricing are great.

The food was very good. French. Not the best restaurant in Shanghai but complementary to killer wine.

Beautiful atmosphere, courteous staff, fantastic service.

BTW, free flow Perrier Jouiet at brunch on weekends. NV Brut, NV Rose and 2004 Belle Époque are the present options. 2 hr limit but I did a lot of damage in 2 hrs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went here for dinner last night and were very disappointed. There were very few Napa wines available and absolutely nothing you couldn't buy at any other box store that sells wine. There is an extensive list of global wines but nothing amazing and certainly not for the exorbitant price. The service was horrendous. It was an hour between the time we got our appetizer and main entree, both of which were disappointing. The menu lists several vegetable side dishes but the only thing available was broccoli which again was terribly overpriced and mediocre. For an appetizer we ordered the steamed abalone which was very tough and flavorless. The waygu beef entree that costs about $75 consisted of 3 oz of cubed meat and though the grilled cubes were nicely flavored the cured cubes were tough and stringy. The other entrees were the halibut which wholly under-impressed and the lamb which was the best of the three but still just ok. We ordered apple pie for desert and everything about it was wrong. A tiny bowl of cold, small cubes of apple beneath what tasted like a crumbles of graham cracker crust, topped with melon ice and a mint leaf. Nothing worked. We didn't finish it. The entire meal took 3 1/2 hours and wasn't worth the walk there. We won't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“great food great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

the food are great and yummy . wine option are alot they even have dessert wine which tasted delicious , i also try their cider which taste really good. plan to go back there again for their lunch. we go there for restaurant week so the portion are tiny ( too tiny in my opinion )

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, I think not!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This restaurant was recently named the Best Fine Dining establishment in Shanghai, by That's Shanghai Magazine. All I can say is the owner must have stuffed the ballot box! I would not even consider this place in the fine dining category with all the other exceptional venues in Shanghai. I will say they had a very extensive wine list, but most overpriced. Unfortunately I believe the owners spent way too much on an extensive and expensive wine inventory and way too little on the menu and attention to detail. The bread was stale and dry when they served it, uneatable. The menu was so-so with no real zest, flavor or excitement in any of the dishes. We started out with several of the small dishes, and they were unique but not special. The main course was very disappointing. One person had the Prawns, and they were so small they looked more like river shrimp than prawns. The service was acceptable, but only because the restaurant was half empty. The fact this won the award and on a Saturday night was less than half full should have told me it was not going to be a fine dining experience.
I will not go back and do not recommend that anyone looking for a fine meal even consider this overhyped venue. If I did not like several of the other venue winners from the That's Shanghai 2013 survey I would question the validity of the vote counting. This restaurant was a definite DUD!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went there for sunday brunch. Actually it's more a fixed price lunch as you can choose among the different plates, there isn't the usual brunch buffet.
Location is simply wonderful, furniture is very nice and so the music.
Portions are ok (not big) but food is very good and plates are very well prepared.
Service is attentive and wine selection is notable.
We liked it very much, even if the price is not a cheap one for Shanghai we think it's right for the offer: 260 RMB for food, wine starting from 80RMB for glass.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Napa Wine Bar and Kitchen also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Napa Wine Bar and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napa Wine Bar and Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.