We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyably Authentic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paulaner Brauhaus

Paulaner Brauhaus
No.19-20, North Xintiandi Square, 181 Nong,Taicang Road, Shanghai, China (Huaihai Road)
021-63203935
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #511 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, German, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Huaihai Road
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyably Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Having considerable experience of Bavaria and Munich, it should have come as no surprise to me that this far-flung Brauhaus was enjoyably authentic. After all, Bavarian brewers have a certain tradition of working in China. Seemingly genuine Paulaner beer with combined with sizeable portions of delicious Kaesewurst and sauerkraut with fresh, if slightly-undersized brezen topped-off with genuine 'Underberg' schnapps made for a very pleasant dinner. Seated outside, enjoying the 'European Quarter' atmosphere of Xintiandi made for a very pleasant dining experience. The interior also looked the part, but the band played contemporary music, rather than genuine Bavarian tunes, somewhat detracting from the otherwise authentic environment. Like many 'themed' eateries in downtown Shanghai, the prices were quite steep -50% more than that which is charged in Munich- but well worth such an authentic atmosphere so far from home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    33
    67
    48
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey, bland food, big portions, live band”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are multiple Paulaner locations in Shanghai. This location, close to where is live is always packed, so one night my husband and I decided to stop by for dinner. It was definitely an experience. The restaurant itself is huge and super packed both indoors and outdoors. We ate upstairs in the non smoking area (only until 9 PM). It was nice and quiet, until a huge party came in. It was great to see other guests enjoy themselves, knocking down pints of beer but they were so bloody loud it was hard to carry a conversation. Mind you this was 7 pm in the evening. For food, we ordered a Greek Salad (not bad, fresh, large), Steak with Spaetzle (huge portion, husband enjoyed it) and Pork Schnitzel with fries (2 huge schnitzels, crispy, but bland and fries, frozen and bland). For dessert, we had the apple strudel, which we do not recommend. It was horrible. The beer was not bad (per husband). The food was really pricey, but the portions were unusually big for Shanghai. The service was really good, our waiter spoke pretty good English and very attentive. The band was playing on our way out, not bad. Outdoors was busy, as always. Overall, it was an interesting experience. We would probably come back to have a couple drinks, listen to the band and people watch, but definitely not for the food. Too pricey and even though the portions were huge, we would rather have smaller portions with more flavor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Paulaner in Shanghai, no joking..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

When night comes, all foreigners in magic Shanghai are automatically attracted to the old city blocks and Paulaner Brauhaus is a very strong magnet for "aliens" as they have live music! The place is packed (mainly with locals) and you have to be careful as pickpockets are all over the place (written informative messages are immediately seen on the tables). The taste of typical Paulaner cannot be the same in Shanghai as the taste of Greek ouzo is very poor when you consume it in cold Scandinavia. Regardless of early winter days people sit out in Shanghai and Paulaner exterior tables are always occupied with customers. The live music is the strongest positive point with the saxophone player (also sings when he does not blow his saxo) is the center of universe! I tried a tequila sunrise ehat was quite good (warm atmsphere with high relative humidity) help to that I think. As everywhere in this area, you are invited by "massage" hostesses and it was our case even in Paulaner. I can have a bitter Asahi elsewhere the next time..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite Western Live Music spot in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Of all the places playing live music in Xintiandi, this was our favorite. Good band, good drinks, and decent food--schnitzel and fires seemed very popular (though we didn't try it as we would come after dinner).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

not sure why these place still have so many customer, the food is awfull and super expensive. the beer are just soo soo. the atmosphere are good though . the only thing i love from paulaner is on Christmas when they have their spice wine .

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paulaner Brauhaus also viewed

 

Been to Paulaner Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paulaner Brauhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.