We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good during wine week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo

The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo
No.2967 West Lujiazui Road, Shanghai, China (Lujiazui)
021-50541265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #158 of 11,633 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $40 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
China
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good during wine week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Note, I went during the "wine week" so we had a three course meal for about CNY220 each incl 6 small glasses of wine. This of course makes me very positive of the value for money.
The deal was Appetizer, Pasta (2choices), Main (sirloin or cod), dessert and 6 different glasses of wine.
We were seated outdoors with a very good view, service during the dinner was okay, decently trained but no warmth and need to learn to be a bit smoother and smiling.
Appetizer was fine, salmon etc. not remarkable but okay taste, very simple dish also.
Pasta with seafood was pretty good, again solid but not remarkable.
I had the sirloin, very nice meat, perfectly cooked and good quality meat. I liked it a lot but a bit too simple a dish. Just a piece of meat and not much else. I tasted the cod as well and it was okay.
Dessert was ok, the creme brûlée was too runny.
Overall the food was a 3.5 or so.
Wines, 3 good, 3 not that good, 1 white wine was tasteless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    50
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Middle of the pack”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have been to many Italian restaurants in Shanghai. So my comparison is to those in the area and The Kitchen is just average. The view is exceptional right on the river. The outdoor dining deck is a plus. The atmosphere with an open kitchen is good as well. The price is high and the food is average. For my money there are other Italian restaurants both large and small in Shanghai that deliver with better food at the same or lower prices. My pasta was dry with very little lobster which was a disappointment. The tuna appetizer was again average with large leaves of mint that were not really edible. I tried the dessert of caramel ice cream which was just a small ball with stale biscotti cookies. The service was good. Unless there is a client request or invitation I will probably stick with the other restaurants on my goto list.

Table tip: Avoid anything close to the door on a weekend when there is live entertainment. You will never be able to hear the conversation at your table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good... but pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

When you need good, simple, well cooked REAL Italian in Shanghai, this is your place. Great for business dinners, should be even better for romantic, but this I've never tried. It's expensive, and a little too expensive for the quality, but your also paying view I guess. If spending OPM, feast away, otherwise you might want to order.... carefully.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correggio, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but ... for the price of a kidney transplant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have been to this restaurant several times and when I am in Shanghai I like to be back from time to time. The view is just spectacular with an all glass wall overlooking the Huangpu River.
You can easily spend the night just looking at the outside scenary dominated by the countless lights on boats, ferries and flagship buildings on the other side of the shore.
The food is good ( I suggest fish and pasta dishes over meat courses) all the way to dessert.
Service is a little underqualified for the place.
The wine list offers a good selection of italian picks with whites better thant red wines.
However there is always a bitter at the end of the dinner: when the bill comes.Oopla!
Budget an average of 1,000 RBM per head, which is, all considered, just D E A R.
Price-to-Value is not there, and it will probably be the only remember to hold you back from returning more often.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The kitchen Salvatore Cuomo in Pudong Is one of the best Italian restaurant in Shanghai. Food is very good the owner is from Naples Italy good variety of product directly imported from Naples good selections of wine. The place Is very beautiful on the evening and i suggest to book table on the terrace and dont miss to taste the amazing pizza.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen Salvatore Cuomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.