We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So far so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan to your Saves list
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan
2F A No.1 Lane 1072 Juxi Road, Luwan District, Shanghai 200023, China (Dapuqiao)   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 131 Reviews
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“So far so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 6days by Mac 2014. Overall the service attitude is good. Environment is quiet. Location is perfect, close to the subway line no 4. We have to request room make up at reception counter otherwise they won't enter your room without your permission. It seem a little troublesome but it is safe precaution for me. The only one thing I don't satisfied is that the flushing system always not working well even we were not throwing tissue paper into it. The room rate is acceptable. We stayed quad room 4人标准间. The price is RMB290/night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    64
    24
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
17
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room with a view of the Suzhou creek. The view was really nice but you have to stand up to see it and the furniture on the deck was broken. The bed was upstairs on the mezzanine, on the floor and very comfortable. The steps, and in particular the drop from the top step, might be an issue for elderly people or someone with a physical disability. Downstairs was a roomy, functional bathroom, separate lounge/TV area and private balcony overlooking the creek. All very clean and spacious. I did ask for extra pillows which were provided no charge. Most of the staff, all of the women in particular, were very helpful. Laundry facilities worked with their encouragement. Excellent location, close to the underground and good restaurants.

Room Tip: I didn't see all the rooms but the deluxe rooms for couples have a good view, are quiet and clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Clean comfortable beds, Great common area with cool people. It's located very nicely near the subway and Nanjing lu. I really liked my stay here. Some promoters came to the hostel as well and took us to some of Shanaghai's best clubs with drinks for free. Loved it. The staff is helpful, but I think they could be a bit more vibrant and excited about wokring there. I don't know. That's just my take on it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good value for money because it's cheap and it has a nice common room with pool and bar, wi-fi available around the whole hostel. On the other hand the room had no windows and looked a bit forgotten with some old wallpaper, the showers could use some fixing. It's literally 30 seconds from Luban rd underground stop, line 4.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

There was construction on one of the floors that is in progress. The Hostel occupies one seaparate floor of a building. There was a lot of dust and intermittent noise. The construction workers were using one of two elevators to haul wheelbarrows of dirt up and down. The rooms are small compared to other places. Restroom stalls and shower stalls are located in an area that also has rooms across from these facilities if you're unlucky to be placed there. The WiFi is INCREDIBLY slow and only accessible from common area. The common area only has a large couch , love seat, gets crowded small tables w chairs. It's a tight fit. There's a pool table and cool hang out area on the roof. They have a washer and dryer and you can buy laundry detergent on premises. When I told the staff that I saw a rat on the roof, they acknowledged my comment and closed the door to the office, as if the rat was gonna knock on their door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

- The beds are clean
- Everyone has two own socket-outlet, a reading lamp and a shelf board
- Door has a keycard looker
- Breakfast is available, with costs
- Map is available, with costs
- The kitchen is very dirty and has no equipment at all, no plates or cups, just a fridge and a microwave
- WiFi in the whole hostel, but you always have to log in again whenever you reconnect
- Showers and toilets are poor and comfortless, for men and women to share
- not really a proper area
- supermarket, bakery and McDonalds in short walking distance

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Our first choice was Rock & Wood International but they had no free spaces available, therefore we had to reserve here. I wouldn't recommend this hostel, but if you can't find any more (or if you have a <60RMB per night budget) then it's fine.

Rooms are good, with AC. Beds are hard, asian style. Lounge isn't cozy and it's impossible to have any type of interaction and meet people because of its layout. Breakfast was OK.

Service and cleanliness is TERRIBLE. We stayed for four nights and our beds (or rooms) weren't cleaned up or even checked. The showers smelled like urine the whole time and the floor was full of hair, every single day (yes, the same piece of hair) because they just wouldn't clean it.

Overall it's a low price per night, but it's dirty and not cozy at all.

PS: water costs ¥5, does it include a view of the Bund????

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan

Address: 2F A No.1 Lane 1072 Juxi Road, Luwan District, Shanghai 200023, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right opposite Metro station, Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel is conveniently connected to any parts of Shanghai. Free Internet access, free movies, free pool game. Clean rooms, 24-hour hot shower, air-cons, comfortable and soft quilts all bring the coziness in a chill winter. Friendly and helpful staffs are willing to assist you at any time. Loads of information and tips about traveling can make your trip to Shanghai and China a truly wonderful experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Blue Mountain Youth Hostel Luwan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.