We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool atmosphere, but that's it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Save Saved
You added Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty lodging in Shanghai
vivace13
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere, but that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The atmosphere at the Captain hostel was really unique and fun. The sailor theme was carried out well throughout the hostel. However, for the price, there needed to be mroe to make my stay truly outstanding

The rooms were clean and spacious, with air con, thankfully. But the room we had on fuzhou road was very noisy throughout the day and night. I guess this comes with shanghai, but it would have been more pleasant to to have been in a room away from the road. The overall location was good. Pretty easy access to the metro and the bund promenade. The free breakfast was fine.

One of the things that put me off was that they made you pay for the internet. 5 RMB for 15 minutes! The charge for printing is also ridiculous...10 rmb for color. The staff was also not very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    103
    57
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
18
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yangshuo, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

During the last 7 years I've been coming to China, I have stayed in many hotels and hostels and Captain's Hostel near the Bund in Shanghai was definately one of the best. I've stayed there 3 times in different years and was amazed everytime again by the perfect location, the friendly atmosphere and the very nice dorms. Very nice boat-style design, with an eye for details. The hot and powerful showers were wonderful and the bar at the top of the hostel has fantastic views of the bund (the only downside is that this bar used to be a bargain a few years ago, but prices of drinks are unfortunately up to Shanghai prime time standards now).

Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — The design of the rooms and the shower
  • Disliked — The rooftop bar-prices lately
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

A chinese speaking friend booked this over the phone for 4 nights.

Captain has "hostel" type rooms and hotel type rooms, and we went for the cheapest of the latter (RMB 400 per night, for two persons). We were initially given the smallest room but, on request, were significantly upgraded to a very nice room, very luminous, on the 5th floor with most windows to Fu Zhou Lu. Everything was fully functional and clean. The person who usually came to do the room was extremely nice and efficient. Reception were helpful in writing some destinations out for me.

The hostel bar (6th floor) with a tremendous view to Pudong is directly above but the sound is very tolerable.

Washing machines are fine and cost RMB 7 with powder. Use of the hotel safe/room was RMB 2 every time. Internet was at 5 RMB per quarter of an hour. All these services proved practical.

Location is excellent. Literally 1 minute away from the Bund, and about 15 minutes walk to the People's Square (Shanghai Museum etc...). Taxis come by often and Fu Zou Lu is a very busy street with plenty of shops, restaurants and banks.

One criticism (which probably would not affect your stay - but which took us aback): we returned from a day's travels one afternoon to find new furniture had been installed. Our stuff had been unceremoniously shoved out of the way. My suitcase had travelled onto some clothes, and various items had migrated onto the clean sheets on the beds. A half-empty bottle of water had been, presumably by the workers or staff, in the room. We brought this down to reception who took it back.

Overall, this was a very comfortable and cheap base to explore Shanghai and its surroundings from - so no regrets.

  • Liked — The location - and the sound of the bells from the Bund!
  • Disliked — The state of the room after the installation of the new desk.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

I loved this place!!! It is a little more expencive than your average Chinese hostel, but I couldn't have asked for a better location. The hostel's top floor bar has to have the most beautiful view in the city of the river. The museums and other major tourist areas are walking distance.
The hostel itself has very friendly staff and nice rooms. The meals are fairly inexpencive for being American and English dishes and the drinks are plentiful.
The shower leaves a bit to be desired, but what can you expect?

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — The community bathrooms were a B+
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

It was a great location to stay for you to budget your trip which you can save your money and spend on other stuff. My trip was last year with a team of officemate since we are on the way back from Suzhou to Malaysia. All of us kinda of worry since one of the team member said it is was a 'hostel', the impression was a hostel with a very minimum facilities and toilet was not really in a good condition. Well! You know what??!! Unexpected! It was clean and comfortable accept it is small. BTW, I booked room with queen bed size, but i think it is enough for me since the main purpose transit at Shanghai for 2 nights just wanted to enjoy the beautiful of Shanghai scenery at night. CAREFULL, there are TWO Captain Hostel, we had been caught into trouble when we reach at the hostel at we booked and they transfer to the other side (next to the river) since they said it is fully booked (we already confirmed 3 days ahead there are a room available)... luckily it was good.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days during a brief trip to Shanghai.

The hostel is in a fantastic location which is about a 5 mintue walk to the bund. It is also reasonably close to Nanjing road (for shopping and food) and the Nanjing Road Metro Station.

There are a range of facilities on offer. There is a washing machine for 5 yuan but no dryers. There are clothes horse on level 4 to dry your clothes. There is internet but in my opinion quite expensive compared with other internet cafes.

There are 5 showers (for each gender) in the entire complex. There will probably be a small wait at busy times. The showers have good pressure and good heat. There is a bar serving food until late with a great view of the city skyline.

The rooms are large for a hostel, there are 9 bunk beds in each room but it does not feel cramped at all. The rooms are clean and the sheets changed everyday. The decor is new and tasteful. The rooms are secure and each bunk has a good locker which can easily fit a large rucksack as well as a small backpack.

The staff are indifferent in my opinion - not nasty or anything but not friendly either. They speak English though.

I would definately come here again for stay in Shanghai.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

We found this hostel through the LP guide and thought the location was promising. We booked into a 8 bed dorm to save money.

Positives:

The location really can't be beat. It is right off the Bund and walking distance from many sites. It is one of the most central hostels we stayed at in Asia.

The desk staff spoke English and were helpful.

There was a nice area to sit in near the desk. Internet was also available in the lobby but a little expensive.

Negatives:
The hostel needs to put some limits on the messiness in the dorms. We walked into our room and it was so full of junk, garbage, clothes, that every flat surface in the place was covered except our beds. A good European hostel would not stand for that nonsense and would have thrown everything away. There were lockers but no one used them. It turned out to be a large German student group who were friendly but thankfully flying home the next morning. We told the staff to clean everything and they did. The Koreans who came the next night were much cleaner. The room was also on a major street and the honking outside started about 6 am and went on all day. Bring earplugs.

The bathrooms for the dorms were located in a separate building in an outdoor courtyard. We were there in the winter and they were FREEZING. They weren't all that clean either.

The bar was nice enough but the service wasn't that great and it was all incredibly expensive western food and expensive drinks. There are some nice places to get great, cheap Chinese food(recommended by the LP guidebook) so don't waste money eating here. The view is fabulous, though, so getting a drink to enjoy the view is a nice idea. Otherwise, the same beer can be bought at a fraction of a price elsewhere.

Overall we would recommend this place, especially if you are splurging for your own room. The location is so great for the cheap price we would definitely stay here again and hope for clean roommates.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — messy rooms, bathrooms for dorms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch)

Address: No.37 Fuzhou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and HostelWorld so you can book your Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch) Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Youth Hostel(Fuzhou Rd Branch), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.