We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know Before You Go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund) to your Saves list
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   No.33 Fujian South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Know Before You Go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been a fan of the Jinjiang hotel chain for about 7 years, but this stay may have changed my mind. The hotel was as expected, basic, clean, and cheap. The problem is that it was advertised as being within walking distance of Nanjing East Metro Station. It is within walking distance, but you wouldn't want to try if you have suitcases. The map coordinates the hotel provided are not correct and show the hotel three times closer to the station than it really is. When you finally do get in sight of the hotel, you find that you can't cross the street at ground level. You have to drag your suitcase/s up 75 steps, cross over the street, and then drag them down another 75 steps. This is not an experience to make you happy to have chosen this hotel.

Then there is the problem of trying to get back to Nanjing East Station. Taxis will not drive you there because it's not far enough. This is not supposed to happen in China, but it does. ALL the time. The best you can do is ask to go to a station a minimum of Y40 (US$7.50) away and then once on the road, hand over the money and ask to the driver to drop you off at Nanjing East. All with pre-written destination in hand and lots of pantomime.

Most Jinjiang Inns I've stayed at have been fine, if basic, Chinese motel type hotels. My problems are only with this specific location and the problems getting to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    211
    48
    9
    1
See reviews for
4
13
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights during family trip last weekend. Location was ok, Fuzhou road and nanjing pedestrian street are within walking distance (15 - 20 minutes). We also managed to get our Hangzhou Fast train ticket from Fuzhou road (one of the official sales office) with only additional RMB 5 charges. We walked to Yuyuen & Fuyou road about 15-20 minutes as well. It is a bit difficult to stroll our luggage all the way to Yuyuen Metro station (to get to train station) but we still managed to make it. Rooms are basic but ok. Bed Mattresses are a bit hard. But, overall room & toilet are clean, the room price is reasonable cheap compare to hotels nearer to nanjing pedestrian street. The only complaint is the check in process is too slow, it took us about 30 minutes for the staff to check our passport,info key in..etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesenik, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Hotel is next to the small park and if you get windows on this side you can get nice view on night Shanghai. Staff was ok with basic english. Room where clean but even that hotel must be quite new, you could find that the materials are not the best ones. There is only wired internet in the rooms. Best places to eat we found on the top of Jinjings road or close to the Bund.
Hotel is very good for the price even that is not on the top of metro station, you can walk to it for about 15min.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Based on reviews and price (about$45/night) we stayed here for 4-days and were quite pleased. Only one of the front desk staff can actually speak English but he is enthusiastic and helpful so when we needed help I would check to see if our buddy was there. Upon arrival they immediately handed me a phone to talk to the Renhe Hotel in Hangzhou who had called to report that they had the camera i had stupidly left in a taxi. Our buddy faxed all the documents that the Renhe needed to ship me the camera and he flagged me down when it arrived. I loved the location, a street food paradise especially at breakfast. My better half might have been a little less enthused as she lives in constant terror that something she eats might kill her. Housekeeping is on the ball,

Shanghai is fascinating as long as you don't make the mistake of buying a ticket for the City Sightseeing hop on hop off tour bus. It costs almost nothing and is worth far less than nothing. It is not a tour so much as a packed cattle car which gives you practice sitting in parked buses and sitting waiting for buses. Their interest in providing any service ends when you give them your money. It is not connected with the hotel but I had to get in my licks. We saw pretty much the whole tour by foot the day before but actually saw something. The catch with a walking tour is trying to stay alive as the only real traffic rule is that there are no rules. Cars turning right on red do not stop just because you have a green walk light and the cops don't care.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights a few weeks ago. The hotel is referred to as on The Bund but don't be fooled by this, it's a 10-15 minute walk from The Bund. It's a 15 minute walk from the Old Town/Yu Yuan Gardens and from the nearest Metro station on Nanjing Road. The hotel felt very secure because you need a key card to activate the lift and access the stairway. The room was spacious and clean with two free water bottles provided every day but the bed, as most are in Chinese hotels, was hard. The bathroom was also clean and the shower hot. The check in staff were very slow and clearly not trying very hard to process the booking fast. They didn't speak English and the general answer to all of our questions was 'no' when in fact the answers were probably yes! The other staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful though. I was suprised that there wasn't a computer with free internet in the hotel or wifi as it seemed to attract businessmen. I only paid about £25 per night for the room, via Agoda, so overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roadtrip
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I paid $39US/night from Agoda.com for a Standard A room. Taking the metro from the Pudong Intl. airport is quite easy. Take line 2 (which is the METRO line that goes to the airport, not the Maglev) to East Nanjing station then switch to Line 10 for 1 stop at Yuyuan Gardens. It takes just over 1 hour and cost only 7 rmb. From there it is a 10 minute walk. Take exit 4. When you get to the top of the stairs, right in front of you will be Renmin road, cross it and turn left, walk about 5 blocks, then turn right on Fujian road....walk about 3 blocks and you will run into it. It is very easy, and safe, even late at night. You will have to walk on the road for parts as the sidewalk is in disrepair.
Print Map....
http://maps.google.com/maps?pq=no.33+fujian+south+road,+huangpu+district,+shanghai+200002&hl=en&cp=53&gs_id=m&xhr=t&q=No.33+Fujian+South+Road,+Huangpu+District,+Shanghai&gs_upl=&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.&biw=1600&bih=745&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=0x35b2705df5329a9f:0x2ad7cf1877f46fb,China+Shanghai+Huang+Pu+Qu+Fu+Jian+Nan+Lu&ei=F2BLTsHIKZGrrAeHmO2pBw&sa=X&oi=geocode_result&ct=image&resnum=1&sqi=2&ved=0CBkQ8gEwAA

The hotel itself is a little worn, but everything works well, and is walking distance (5 to 15 minutes) to many tourist attractions and metro lines. There is free hardwired internet in the room with ok speed, flat screen TV with only 2 English channels,kettle with green tea, 2 daily btls of water,good reading light on desk and at bedside, and the A/C is great. the beds are hard, as most are in Asia, the pillows are soft but firm. There is no fridge in the room, and safety boxes are at reception, which I used without problem. The Jinjiang Inns are a large popular chain in China, so expect noisy families staying here, loud voices heard in the hallways anywhere from 7am to 11pm over my 5 night stay.The traffic noise (car horns) can be loud during morning and evening rush hour.They always seemed to have at least one English speaking person at reception.
In my opinion the hotel is good value for such a great location in Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked through Agoda asked for a double bed and higher floor (as family with 2 small kids) got neither. Room was a smoking room didn't bother complaining. Booked a standard room but got a twin.
Booked for 5 nights writing the review from the room. Location good but at least 10 min walk to nearest metro.
Staff neither very friendly nor very helpful.
No self laundry although the hotel offers laundry per piece but quite expensive.
Housekeeping does a good job.
We were on third floor facing the park but the window is so small you can barely make out anything.
Rooms are clean and big with hot water and toiletries. Shower pressure is adequate but shower curtains are short.
Reception and check in perfunctory with no consideration for families with kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund)

Address: No.33 Fujian South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund) Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai The Bund), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.