We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in the Middle of the Shopping District, W. Nanjing Rd.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai to your Saves list
Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.288 Shanxi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #772 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 147 Reviews
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Value in the Middle of the Shopping District, W. Nanjing Rd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The location of this hotel is pretty great, right next to all of the upscale shopping malls of West Nanjing Lu. About a 5 minute walk to the metro line which is in a food area with international cuisine like Vietnamese, Subway (sandwich shop), DQ, bakeries, dimsum, etc.

The room was much bigger than we expected! We booked the cheapest room they had on agoda.com for $80US/nt and didn't expect much, but we got a suite with a separate sitting area, desk, couch, and kitchenette (stove top, microwave, fridge, but NO cookware or utensils! The TV got English channels like Discovery and the bathroom was very nice, clean, and spacious as well. The bed was a bit hard but this is China and there was at least an attempt at a mattress pad, albeit a thin one.

The service was the disappointment. One day we came back at 4pm, tired and sweaty from walking around humid Shanghai to find that there were no towels in our room. I called housekeeping and they said that there were "none available" and that they "would be brought up later". I was irritated because they had the little sign in the bathroom that said they would not take your towels (to save water) unless you placed them in the basket, but every day they took them anyway. We ended up going out again and upon return at 9pm found that we STILL did not have towels. I called concierge and they were delivered about 15 minutes later. Still, not such a big deal if you're getting a good deal on a reasonably nice hotel.

The bellhop and concierge were also a bit judgmental about who they assisted in the lobby, which we discovered upon checkout. The bellhop was just standing there, watching us open the door for ourselves and carry our luggage. There were several taxis by the curb and nobody offered to flag one up for us, we had to walk down to the street to get in. BUT the person coming out behind us (who was a bit older and better dressed) was treated like royalty. This blatant bigotry was not appreciated from the staff and I felt should be mentioned although again, not that big of a deal if you're getting a good deal on a decent hotel. Had I paid the full price of the room I would be much more critical.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    62
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
5
15
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Biggest complaint I have is the bed. It was the hardest I have ever had - like sleeping on the floor. My son and I switched and I took the couch for the remainder of our stay. Nice big room. Automatic door card would not work so we were given an actual key. Very attentive cleaning staff. Hotel dining is very poor. Bar was out of most liquors. Only staff to have any good command of english was the concierge - all others was minimal at best. Location is very good for high end shopping or access to Metro. Free internet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We picked the Golden Tulip Ashar Suites after trying several other (cheaper) hotels that were fully booked.

We booked a Superior Suite because we wanted to have a refrigerator and free internet.
Our room was clean, comfortable and very spacious with a separate work area and bedroom. It even had a small kitchenette (microwave, hot plate and sink) but without any utensils/cookware.

Bathroom was clean. The drain in the sink was somewhat clogged.

After approaching the front desk to check in we were sent up to check in at the executive floor, which was nice. When it was time to check out however, we were asked to checkout at the front desk where the line was long and the process was agonizingly slow and disorganized, especially since we were in a bit of a rush to catch a train.

Overall it is hard to beat the location of this hotel right in the middle of the plush shopping district, restaurants, theater and near main subway lines.

We didn't try the breakfast (extra charge) but opted for the Starbucks that is attached to the building instead.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Beyond our expectations! We were travelling on a budget and the price of this hotel fit perfectly for us. We were so surprised when we first walked into the rooms (there is always that anticipation and worry of "Is the hotel nice or not"), pictures can be deceiving, but this hotel was awesome.

Great views of Shanghai, everything was modern, the bathroom was huge, we even had a mini kitchen area. It's also in a popular shopping district, you can immediately go shopping the minute you step outside. So fantastic for our first Shanghai experience!

Only negatives: The beds were like stone! A common thing in Asian hotels but these were particularly rock hard and very difficult to sleep on. We still managed sleep just fine and would definitely stay again, despite the hard beds. (Oh and no tub, which was kinda sad).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

At around 550 RMB for a night at this location I don't complain much. Just 2 things I'd like to mention: 1) the windows are awful as they let in the street noise (15th floor and I heard every hoink of the cars on the road) as well as an uncomfortable airflow (though in a closed state). 2) there is no wifi and the use of cable-internet is 1RMB per minute. But the rooms are spacious and the showers are fine. The TV programs in English are limted to BBC and AXN.
But the location is very central and I did my free web-surfing at the nearby Element Fresh cafe (3-5 min by foot) which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Room is spacious and bed is suitable to stay. Staff is helpful. It locates in the city and shopping malls are around which is convenient for shopping,

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai

Address: No.288 Shanxi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200041, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #772 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 608
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip Ashar Suites - Shanghai Central is strategically situated in the prime of central Shanghai - West Nanjing Road. Numerous luxurious brands, entertainment and high-end office buildings are just adjacent to it. The hotel is not only easy access to two international airports via Yan'An Expressway, but as well to all the major city sightseeing spots, namely People’s Square, The Bund, Xintiandi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Central View Hotel
Central View Apartment Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Ashar Suites City Centre Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.