We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy enough to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong

Save Saved
You added Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.125 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #666 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“comfy enough to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

one of the advantages i got from this hotel was its proximity to my business venue - that's it. the place itself is tucked in a narrow alley, a short walking distance from the main street so there's no worry about noise because there are several bars lined along the street. i like the small garden outside the place where you can hang out or have coffee in the morning. the lobby is quite dark which makes it a lot smaller than it already is. there are a few tables which can sit around 10 people max so breakfast can be a bit of a riot. i do like to take my breakfast leisurely so i was not very pleased with this. the only consolation to this is the food itself leaves much to be desired. better to have coffee and buns at the nearby Starbucks in Shanghai Convention.

as expected with any other establishment in China, the staff can hardly understand or speak English which can be very frustrating at times. my colleagues and i spent almost half an hour checking in and the same when we checked out. my room on the 3rd level was pretty comfortable in terms of sleep quality. there are no windows so the room smells a bit musky. nothing a linen spray cannot fix. toilets are clean enough so that's a plus. all in all i would probably try another hotel next time i go to shanghai. one can get a better deal for the price. this was a one time deal for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
4
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southwark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel has some advantages: its cheap; its clean; it well located. The business room is quite large too and has broadband (through an ethernet cable).

But . . . the second room I stayed in was exceptionally smelly of fresh cigarette smoke from an adjoining room. Really unpleasant. Also, poor service let them down including slow check in and forgetting basics like toilet paper when cleaning the room!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Location is the only good thing about this Hotel. The rooms are smelly and most of them have no windows. The staff does not speak English at all and is really not helpful.

Room Tip: Even the expensive business rooms are tiny and smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

If you like lying awake on a piece of rock all night long with lost of noise, this is the place for you. I was originally booked into a room on the 5th floor. Right opposite my window was a notorious night club (Manhatten) which I knew pumped out loud music all night long. So I opted to change rooms. They only has one available on the first floor. Big mistake. The noise from the entrance, phone at reception, guest walking on wooden floors was unbearable. I had to utilize simplynoise.com to help me sleep. Check it out if you are in a similar situation. My room was dark and small, there was nothing on TV exept 60 Chinese channels. The matrass was so hard, when I first sat on it, I was convinced it was wooden. In order to help me get comforable, I had to use half the dovet underneath me. A good night's rest is the most important service a hotel provides. They did not do this. I even tried going home early, but no flights were available. Will not be back there again.

Room Tip: Warning: Do not stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We liked this hotel but ended up switching because it was not what we needed for this particular trip. The location is great if you are into shopping - an easy walk to Nanjing Rd. Jing An is also very central, so everything is easy to get to. The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated with antique-style Chinese furnishings, making it a great taste of China and very warn and cosy. The service is pretty much non-existent, so keep that in mind. You aren't paying for it, so fair enough. For us, this was a work trip though and although we booked the business room, it was quite small and very dark (the whole cosy vibe does not involve much lighting). There was only just enough space for one person to use their computer, making work impossible for us, let alone two internet connections. Internet is very slow too. There is a window but it looks out onto a contruction site which is actually very noisy in the mornings and wakes you up bright and early. For us, this meant we felt a bit closed in and could only handle a few days of it before we needed more space to breathe. We ended up moving to a less central location to get the extra breathing room. Depending on your objectives though, this could very well do the job for you.

Oh yes - if you have any mobility issues you may have trouble accessing the rooms. There is an elevator but it does not circumvent the need to climb stairs with your luggage (with no help). Our room was also a very, very long way from the lift area.

Room Tip: If you can afford the business room I would advise it - the other rooms looked very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This was the 3rd time for me to return to the Baolong Homelike Hotel in Shanghai, or B-Hotel, as most people call it. If available, make sure you get a "Business Room". They are quite spaceous, separate shower room and toilette, large double sink area, adequate work table & area, free wired internet etc, and certainly got 2 large windows you actually can open. Well worth the extra few $$, considering that the B has already extremely afffordable room prices to begin with. They do offer a free breakfast. So try it out if you like. Maybe it's not for you. If you walk out and around the block, there are many shops and restaurants, which offer sandwiches, juice bars, and many more food items. A great place to go to is called THE SPOT. Excellent food, great variety. Good drinks and beers. You can order take out, if you want. Go out of the B an to the street. Turn LEFT, and walk a few minutes to the end of the road, where you'll hit a T-junction. THE SPOT is just opposite at the other side of the street. You can't miss it.
Worth to note here is the LOCATION of the B-Hotel !! It's just behind the glamerous Ritz Carlton. You in fact look at the Hotel when going up in the glass elevator at the B. You can access Nanjing Rd. in a few minutes, you got subway access within a few minutes walk as well. For me, and being there on business for a week or 10 days, this is where I will go back to. Can't find a "" better bang for the buck"" so to speak, and again, the location is a big added bonus.

Room Tip: ask for a "Business Room on the 3rd or 5th floor, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

First off, i managed to get a very good rate through booking.com. Only at 239 RMB per night, which as it turned out was a wrong rate (apparently the hotel had increased its rates but the website hadn't). But i just so happened to be checking out with the person who appeared to be the manager, this wasn't a problem, though she did make a couple of phone calls to clarify the rate. AND it helps that i speak enough mandarin to steer my way out of such situations. So at such a price, i thought that the accommodation was quite a steal. Yes, the room was rather small (i might have been better off in the Ibis in the Old City in terms of size), the bathroom definitely flooded a fair bit after each shower, and my room did have that musty mix of wet wood and stale smoke smell. But at least it was a clean place, and they met my booking request for a room that is quiet and has a window (note not all rooms do). I liked that it was near enough to the bus terminal and metro stations from which you could get to/from the airport and hongqiao train station (to get those "gao" trains to hangzhou) because you are backpacking then it is but a short walk. also french concession area (luwan) is just a short 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong

Address: No.125 Nanyang Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baolong Homelike Hotel Shanghai Henglong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.