We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Grand Shanghai to your Saves list
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 654 Reviews
Orem, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hotel in a great location. The staff is helpful and so knowledgable about Shanghai. We had a great trip and it was largely due to this hotel and their employees. The tailor is also incredible. Talk to the concierge if you need anything. The rooms were beautiful, clean and good sized for Asia. The surrounding area has lots to see and do. The subway is right around the corner and connects you to anything and everything in the city. Next time Im in China I will definitely make a stop here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tiffany S,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share with the travelling public your most recent experiences with your friends at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. You are absolutely right that our location is truly great and convenient with subway connection and nice surrounding area.

I am delighted to see that our service, especially concierge team was also helpful and that you had an overall outstanding stay.

I will share your feedback with our team members and since you are longing to come back, we are eagerly awaiting your return soon. Again thank you so much and please take care until we can see you again.

Best Regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    269
    61
    18
    10
See reviews for
40
86
60
328
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I already stayed at this hotel for the second time in a short period and was again not dissapointed. The location is very convenient if you like to be well connected. Yes, it is not by the Bund, but right by an underground station and close to various malls.
The service is excellent for Shanghai standards. English speaking staff and very helpful concierge. I arrived after a treck through Tibet and Nepal, and needed last minute tickets for the Shanghai Rolex Open (Tennis) and they organized it in no time.
Rooms are spacious and the breakfast spread is vast. I would also like to mention the very nice Fitness and Pool area and free Wifi.
I am planning to go back to Shanghai in December and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear adibloech,

Thank you for submitting your stay experience with us! We truly appreciate any feedback we can get and consider any and all comments to be important tools in our development.

Having said this, I am very grateful to know that you had a pleasant second stay with us for our central location, nice room and spacious gym/pool favilities. Specially, we are happy to know that your appreciation for the conceirge with the prompt action for the Shanghai Rolex Open ticket so that their team is recognized for their commitment to service. Hope you enjoy the tennis in Shanghai.

We are look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Warm regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked this hotel based on location and was so glad I did! Fantastic location to the subway, Nanjing Lu for shopping, the new Kerry Centre and Jingan Temple. Easy to get anywhere in the city whether walking, by subway or by cab. Bedrooms were really nice, great size and well equipped. Nice and spacious gym and pool, although pool was a bit too cold. Staff were friendly and helpful especially the concierge, no matter what I needed help with the concierge were always on hand and were truly fantastic. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: If you have a window to the front you get great views all the way to the Bund
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ECH2779,

Firstly, I would like to express my thanks to you for taking the time to share with us your impressions on us! I am very grateful to know that you had a pleasant stay here. In particular, I will note your specific preference for our location, room, and gym/pool facilities, especially helpful service from our conceirge team.

I hope welcome you back soon! You may feel free to contact us with any additional comments or concerns as we would be eager to assist you!

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Staying there for 4 nights just in the week of the mid-autumn-festival. Had access to the club floor which is good and spacious.
Mostly the hotel was fine, location is excellent close to Nanjing Road and shopping.
Rooms are mid-size, the only issue I had that I did not find them too functional, sometimes the design was a bit awkward, for example the room safe just next to the entrance, and could hardly open the door.
Gym facilities were great, well equipped and clean.
Staff mostly helpful, however not too many smiling faces, and particularly in the breakfast/lunch/buffet area on the first floor I even had the impression that they did not get along too well with each other.
The tables there are dark, and they place some kind of dark brownish rubber coverage, and then the plates and cuttlery on top. I always had the impression that these rubber mats were not really proper, and how can one clean them really?
The food quality and variety was medium and I would expect higher standards from such a hotel.
Sometimes a bit difficult to get a taxi as the hotel entrance is backward from the main streets.
Nonetheless would go there again because of the good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear GeoGameSL_11,

Warm Greetings from Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. On behalf, I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share with us a review of your most recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback as an important tool & encouragement in our improvement and development.

I am very happy to hear from you that enjoyed our locatdion and appreciate for your comments on some other facilities and service parts.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any additional questions or concerns, as we would be eager to assist. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that it would be in a convenient location, and with the reputation that the Swissotel chain carries internationally. We were not disappointed. The facilities are extremely great and the location is just a short cab ride or subway ride to the Bund (the subway is under the Jing'an Temple, which is a must see). There are plenty of mid to high end stores and plenty of places to eat.

But most importantly, the concierge service is a must see to be believed. I've never met a group of concierge staff who are so well connected and willing to help as the ones at this hotel. Having had our flights cancelled due to a typhoon in Hong Kong, Iris managed to have the agent refund our money and have us booked on an alternative flight. Without her language skills, charm and her patience (she managed to do everything with a smile on her face which included talking on two phones at once) we would have been in a very difficult position. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jonathan T,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to submit your impression of your most recent stay with us.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location, and thank you for your highly compliment on the service from our conierge team, especially Iris, and it will be surely shared in concerned team then.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Grand Shanghai. We are looking forward to your next visit and our team will provide the unique personalized service you come to expect of us.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Swisshotel is in a great location near Jing An Temple, really perfect for a business stay.

The rooms and bathrooms are fantastic, and the breakfast selection vast - keep looking, I didn't realise quite how much there was until towards the end of breakfast. Good room service too, quick and hot; with the food to a really high standard.... everything you need if you've just flown in and need to get stuff done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Cathbarr,

I would like to extend my most sincere appreciation for your wonderful feedback on your most recent experiences with us. We are pleased to know that you enjoy your stay at Swissôtel Grand Shanghai, in particular we appreciate your positive comments on our room, bathroom and room service.

Please let us know if you have any additional comments you may have about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is located right next to large shopping district and malls with close proximity to Metro Station and Tourist attaractions. If you are a tourist, this is the location to stay. There are many hotels, nightclubs and eateries of all varities close by. Shopolholics can indulge in forigen goods however most of them will be expensive than that in yoru home country.
Plenty of places to roam around by foot and metro, so thats a real saver on pocket.
The hotel itself is a newly constructed building in 2012 and has different views and category of room. The front desk staff are typical Shanghanese Check In staf with a little attitude which they think gives but professional look but actualy seems rude to guests.
Good buffett breakfast spread in Swiss Cafe as i found to fill my stomach even when i am a vegetarian. The Buffet Lunch was not fit for vegetarians.
They have excellent quality of bread which is somewhat difficult to find in shanghai hotels as most cater to Chinese taste which is different then European and like the salt in our bread.
the rooms are most modern ( i stayed on 8th floor- with rubbist view). Try and take rooms with city view on higher floors. Become a member of Swiss Club Gold which is free and you can enjoy 30% off on your Lunch and Dinner bills, which is substantial if you are eating at this location.
Rooms have everything you need, the bathroom walls are made of glass and tiny rooms, but they have privacy even when sharing with someone as they have wooden doors in bathroom ... i like the idea and its better than all glass bathrooms which some hotel boast.
All normal facilities are availble and bath and bed are clean and comfortable.
The hotel itself does not give you a feeling of large property as it is surrounded by many houses across the street which seems to make you look like staying at your home rather than a hotel, but this is restricted only to lower floors.

Room Tip: Higher fllors and City view towards Pudong will be much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManager-SSH, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Shanghai, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear tntdubai,

We are very happy to hear from you for your high esteem of Swissôtel Grand Shanghai.Thank you for taking your time to share with us such a detailed review, highlighting our ideal location, buffet breakfrast, inparticular our bread and our room facilities.

Swissôtel Grand Shanghai opened in 2008 and our team members make great effort to provide good servcie and good facilities to our valued guests. Our loyalty program is now upgraded to Swissôtel Circle, besides the special offer for dining at our hotel, guests could also enjoy various benefits at other Swissôtel properties.

We look forward to your back in Shanghai soon.

Best regards,

Michelle Chong

Director of PR & Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Grand Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Shanghai

Address: No.1 Yuyuan Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#22 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#37 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#193 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding in every way... ideal location for business and pleasure, facilities that are superbly grand, gracious service from staff who anticipate and meet your every need when you travel to Asia's most dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Grand Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Swissotel Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Grand Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.