We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for better hotel elsewhere” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yun's Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Yun's Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Yun's Paradise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.789 Fuxing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 248 Reviews
beijing
1 review
“Look for better hotel elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

- hotel looks sad
- Too old
- breakfast is the worst I have in the past 2 years travelling
- Hardly speak English
- Room smells with cigarette
- No drinking water was provided
- Water drainage on the shower is blocked.

Room Tip: choose a better hotel nearby. Hotel is too old and they smells bad. Breakfast is horrible and the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    127
    53
    11
    13
See reviews for
11
45
19
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located at about 10 min walk distance to Yuyuan, and 20 min walk distance to Nnajing Road, and less than half hour to the Bund. The hotel looks big, but the room not big as expected, the facilities in the room seems very old already and the bathroom a little tight. The staff not so kind as expected

Room Tip: Better with window facing the road, with more fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great location, a few steps from YuYuan garden and Lao Beijing Traditional Beijing Kao Ya, Nanjing Road, and the metro and busses. These alone can keep you occupied for days. I have stayed here many times and never been disappointed. The rooms are standard, the usual hard mattress you find all over China, good for the back. The place is clean, although a little ragged here and there. One pleasant surprise, at least in my room. When I awoke at night to go to the toilet, a couple lights picked me up on a movement detector and gave me just enough light to come and go with out waking me up. Great idea! I wish more hotels would adopt it!

The staff is very helpful. There is always someone with just enough English to help with whatever you may need. They have a huge breakfast buffet for around 68 RMB.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

What a terrible place, dirty and very unfriendly staff. Rooms are in much need of a clean and an update. Breakfast room far to small for the hotel. Staff not helpful. Safe not provided at first until requested, then a small portable one was dumped in the room. Very noisy location. Dirty half empty fountain at the front. Was covered in bed bug bites after the stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Location is about 10 minutes walk to Yu Yuan Garden. Conveniently located with a shopping mall across the road, no problems finding food. There is also a supermarket in the mall. Room size good and toilet clean. Free wifi. Wifi password is the last 6 digit of your passport. Do do expect service with a smile here - from reception to restaurant staff. Very harsh mannerism. Lobby is smoke filled. Breakfast is another experience - chinese and western. Some food are cold and stale bread. Here again the cooks don't even look at you when you request for omelette or soup noodles. As we were with a tour group, our last night in Shanghai we were assigned to a smoke filled stale air room. We had to open the windows to air the room. This experience tells me that there is no enforcement of no smoking in air conditioned place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Yes, I think this really is the dirtiest hotel in the world.
We arrived tired and looking for some rest before exploring Shanghai. What we found was rude reception staff, tatty and smoke filled corridors that had not seen a vacuum cleaner for some months and then a very small room without an outside window and a glass wall between the room and the bathroom which resembled a window from the red light district of Amsterdam. After complaining and then eventually paying to upgrade to better rooms we found something a little larger with windows but equally dirty.
In many hotels around the world you might find a bible in the beside drawer. Not my choice of reading but they are often present. Not in this hotel. On opening the bedside drawer we found that we had been provided with two packets of condoms which only backed up my opinion that this was more of a 'rent by the hour' knocking shop rather than a 4 star hotel.
I won't mention breakfast as we didn't try it - the smell in the dining room was enough to send us to Starbucks across the road.
Hotel ratings vary widely around the world, but following our visit to Beijing and Xian and their excellent hotels (4 star) I could only give this a generous 2 stars at best.
DONT BE FOOLED BY THE WEBSITE PHOTO'S - THEY PAINT A RATHER PLEASING PICTURE THAT IS FAR FROM THE TRUTH

Room Tip: I dont think this hotel has good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

Location is very good walking distance to yu yuan garden, there is a small park in front of the hotel and lots of locals exercise or hang out there can be a bit rowdy. Rooms not very clean especially the carpets and toilets. Furnishing look tired, curtains half hanging. Price per night is also not that cheap. Service is very bad,i reported that my hair dryer malfunction and the person in charge wanted to come inside to test and was in my bathrobe so i just asked him to give me a new one as i have tested using a few plugs in my room. He insisted to test and tested in another place. he came back with a new hair dryer showing me a sour face but i still tipped him for his service and he looked at me as if i have done something nasty to him..scary dude

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yun's Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yun's Paradise Hotel

Address: No.789 Fuxing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#193 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yun's Paradise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yun’s Paradise Hotel is located at Huangpu District, Shanghai, China. It offers air-conditioned guestrooms, all of which have Philips LCD TV with satellite channels, premium beds draped in picasso cotton beddings, and free high-speed Internet access. Some of its amenities include Yun’s Paradise Health Center, Yun’s Paradise Porch (sells various Jiangnan products), and Harvest Festival Restaurant (serves Jiangnan and Ningbo cuisines. It also features a banquet hall and private room). While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like The Bund, Yu Garden, and Oriental Pearl TV Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yun's Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuns Paradise Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yun's Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.