We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)

Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)
Huanghe Lu (near Nanjing Xilu), Shanghai, China (People's Square)
021-63276878
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 12,561 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: People's Square
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

It's favoured by both local residents and tourists. Went there several times with friends. Located on a busy and small street full of small restaurants. Not very spacious, and you can always see people queue outside for a table.
There are a lot of choices for different kinds of filling such as pork, shrimp, crab... Last autumn, when I went there with a friend, it only offered the crabmeat filling. It's a seasonal offering!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    20
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best Buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Best buns in china, we tried everyones recommended crab/pork and they were delicious. Service was ok and place was full and we were at 10am. Must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Jia Jia is no. 1 in Xiao Long in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I have been living in Shanghai for 11 years, I recommend Jia Jia as no. 1 in Xiao Long.
Its Xiao Long is juicy compared to other restaurants, the best I like is the duck egg yolk Xiao Long, but I don't recommend shrimp or mushroom flavor. The crab yolk one is too expensive and not value for money.

The restaurant is small and always got a long queue outside. The atmosphere is not classy. The table turnover is high. Longs of locals and tourists love here. Don't bring any other food from outside when you get in, or you will got scoled by the waiters (their rules). Xiao Long is good during breakfast or lunch time. They serve coke and soup as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a quick, cheap, no frills place with delicious XLBs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are looking for atmosphere or ambiance, this is probably not the place. The restaurant is small, relatively clean, and has a first come-first serve seating style.
You order right at the entrance where the lady running the till is standing in front of the menu. Only the available XLBs are listed with the price (sometimes they are either out if you come too late, or they didn't make that filling that day). If you can't read Chinese, remember to ask for the English menu. Find a seat quickly once you order because its so busy. They will bring you the food.

I ordered the traditional pork filling, a pork with crab, and a liver soup. ALL EXCELLENT! The skin is very thin, but doesn't rip. The juicy filling is savoury and the meat is plump. The meal was delicious and so affordable.

I read a lot of comparison to DTF and while I agree DTF has one of the best XLBs ever, this little family run restaurant is comparable in my mind given their tiny location and small staffing. And a big tip - bring your own napkins. Expect to eat fast here as the line up and crowding doesn't make you want to stay long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but not the best Xiao Long Bao”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This shop is specialized in selling XLB, there are various fillings you can choose to try. The skin is thin but not easily torn/rip when using chopsticks, which is the perfect and the ideal type of skin for XBL. When i went to the shop, there was only 2 fillings left which are pork and pork&egg yolk, so i ordered two basket of each, total was 33RMB. I find the taste of the pork is not bad but so-so, and the pork&egg yolk is pretty good but there's nothing special about it.
But overall, it's worth going and enjoy this delicious meal, although, you shouldn't go when you're really hungry because you will have to queue and wait before you can enjoy these yummy XLB. Plus, sometime the wait could be quite long. For my visit, i could order and got my seat right away but it took around 15-20mins for my XLB to arrive, and the store was crowded.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jia Jia Tang Bao(Huanghe Road), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.