We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank goodness for the staff.......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viwa Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Viwa Island Resort to your Saves list
Viwa Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Viwa Island | Viwa Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Yasawa Islands
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thank goodness for the staff.......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We recently spent seven fantastic nights at Viwa over the Christmas 2013 period. On arrival we quickly learnt that we were the only guests at the resort. At first this was rather exciting as we were on our honeymoon, then we started to question – Why? It is peak travel period and only the two of us. By the end of our seven days the resort had started to fill up, however this didn’t stop the restaurant staff asking us at Breakfast what we wanted for Lunch, and at Lunch what we wanted for Dinner……. We never actually ate lunch at the resort. This meant the restaurant staff trawled around until they found us in the early afternoon to ascertain what we wanted for Dinner. I found this rather invasive and honestly, I enjoy deciding what I want to eat at the time not several hours prior.
Michelle the Manager was not present during our stay, seemingly she was having a baby in Australia (Congratulations!) her parents were managing the resort in her absence. So what I am about to write might be completely different ordinarily, however the “Parents” were present but didn’t manage. When I questioned “Mum” about if she was Grandmother yet and would Michelle return to Fiji, she replied, She’d better, I can’t wait to get away from this place…..! They didn’t act on feedback, for example, the guests in Bure 9 (our friends and family) arrived on the Sunday and didn’t have hot water until the Thursday. This was reported daily. The desalination plant broke and there was no fresh water, we (all guests) were subject to salty tea and coffee (no fresh water was offered to us). There seemed to have been some sort of cat fight in the main area with blood spots all over the floor, nothing was done even when it was pointed out to the Management.
The resort seemed unloved and rather tired. All the loungers both on the beach front and by the pool were all broken. The fresh water troughs outside each building were never filled after day of arrival, the “Pure Fiji” products were never refilled. The snorkelling equipment that you had to hire and pay for was broken or not available.
The staff were amazing and really made the holiday for us, I can’t imagine Viwa without them, they made us very welcome and went out of their way to entertain. Viwa management should be very appreciative of them.
Would I go back? Probably not, it was rather expensive for what we got, Viwa is portrayed as Luxury, it is more like expensive Flashpackers…….

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
underwaterspecialist, Manager at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here at Viwa island Resort and we do acknowledge that we did have a small issue with our desalinisation plant during your stay.
However it was management who arranged for a new machine to be brought to the island Christmas eve and installed by contractors on Christmas Day. Unfortunately the contractors had made an error when installing the new machine and unfortunately this did contaminate some of our fresh water storage. However this was rectified by management and it was only for a short period of time that you were inconvenienced for and certainly not for your entire stay.
Here at Viwa it is no secret that we do pre order lunch and dinner this is to ensure that our guests are given the freshest produce at meal times and to ensure meats are thawed correctly avoiding any health issues with contamination, we apologise if this did not suit you.
Viwa Island resort is a family operated business and all family members including staff are eagar to please all of our guests on the resort at all times, if management or staff are not aware of an issue you have, rectification is very difficult to achieve and as far as we are aware no issues were brought to managements attention during your stay.
In regards to your insinuating comment that management does not want to be managing the resort, Management is on the contrary more than happy to be there however very keen to spend time with the new arrival to the Viwa family. You may not be able to understand however most grand parents at this time are very keen be with their first and only grand child which I believe is what management was looking forward to the time you questioned them about becoming a grand mother.
The blood spots on the main facility floor were in actual fact blood that had come from a fish that was caught earlier that day and brought to the kitchen from the beach and had infact been cleaned up not 30 minutes later.
During your stay you constantly remarked to management what a wonderful time you were having however it was brought to managements attention that there was an issue when you hid a letter to the following guests the bure you were staying in for them to read where you expressed your feelings about your stay along with this trip advisor review shortly after your stay.
We are sincerely sorry for the issue we had with our desalinisation machine during a short period of time during your stay and we hope that the next time you visit us your stay will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    24
    11
    1
See reviews for
7
149
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went here in September/October 2012. It is a long boat ride to get to this little island in the south pacific but once you do it is amazing. It is VERY secluded. We stayed in Bure #5 that was just a few steps from the beach. Great views on the beach too. The ocean here is crystal clear and soft white sand. It is exactly what you would see on a postcard. There are only a few other Bures on the beach. We hardly never saw anyone else in the daytime. Only at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food there is amazing as well. You won't go wrong staying here!

Room Tip: Bure #5 and #6 has the best view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner and I were visiting Australia and were looking for a short side-trip to Fiji. We happened to come across Viwa Island Resort online, and our short trip suddenly became a week-long vacation on Viwa (with one night on Nadi on the way out and the way back). And we couldn't have been happier. This resort is an absolute gem. Not only is the location stunning (the beach is the kind of white sand and blue water you dream about), and the resort very private (there are only 11 cabins or burres), but the staff is just wonderful.

It's the kind of resort where if you want to keep to yourself and enjoy your time and beach alone, that's fine, or else you can interact with the other guests and staff through the various activities that are offered daily: snorkeling excursions (always to a different part of the reef that surrounds Viwa Island), cooking lesssons (Fijian ceviche, for example), trips to the local village, and so on. I'm definitely one of those people who prefers to be by myself, but by the end of our visit we'd made friends with both other couples vacationing and with many of the staff who could not have been nicer or more helpful.

There was Caroline the chef who managed to create gourmet meals on a fairly isolated island (standouts: her Caesar salad, the Fijian ceviche, the BBQ night, and oh those deserts!); Tomu the awesome and friendly bartender whose signature "Viwa Surprise" drink was everyone's pre-dinner favorite; Ba, who led most of the activities, including making several different South Pacific styles of ceviche with tuna and red snapper caught that very morning. Then there were Oscar and Joe, the band boys whose haunting melodies and beautiful music we still remember from dinner, and of course our favorite hostess Reapi who was so happy every morning, greeting us with a big smile and sometimes a nickname just for us. (I think there were more staff than guests!)

The snorkeling excursions were the highlights for us because you never knew what you were going to see or who would be coming along. The best times for us were when it was just us and Bill the dive master, or when Charlie, Ba, or Tomu would come along and they would show us the amazing corals and spectacular fish in the places only they knew. Those were incredible memories.

We were the only gay couple, but did not feel out of place or awkward at any time. We'd been upgraded to a 2-bedroom burre and I suspect it may have been to preserve some sense of propriety, but as I mentioned earlier, everyone was consistently friendly.

A note on the cabins (burres): they are spacious and very comfortable, with the beach literally right outside your door. They're spaced far enough apart that you can see your neighbor, but they're not on top of you. Waking up every morning and looking out the front door onto the beach and blue blue blue ocean was so beautiful that I think we took pictures of it every day (They're also kept meticulously cleaned by the top-notch housekeeping staff.)

The whole place is run by an Australian woman named Michelle and her right-hands Tevita and Charlie. Michelle was friendly, but more of a background presence. She runs a tight ship, but the general atmosphere is very laid-back and relaxing, but still with an ethos of providing top-tier service Basically we'd get up for breakfast, then lay out in the sun until lunch, after which we'd generally go snorkeling. Highlights of those trips include seeing some stunning corals, a puffer fish that Ba caught with his hand and let us touch, giant clams, a myriad of colorful fish, a barracuda (but no sharks, fortunately or unfortunately, depending on your feelings about sharks!). We were told they rarely if ever come inside the reef. You could also set out on your own and snorkel safely because the entire island is encircled by a reef about 100-200 yards offshore.

Some advice: definitely get the meal plan, it makes it so much easier when ordering meals every day.

Tipping: individual tipping for housekeeping, meal service, etc. is discouraged in favor of a lump sum given at the end of your stay which is evenly distributed among the staff, which seemed fair given the number of behind-the-scenes staff you never saw.

Insects: some previous reviews mentioned mosquitoes, but we did not see any (I think the geckos helped keep them in check), but every now and then you might see a fairly large but harmless spider.

Reef shoes: the shop in New York where we bought our masks & snorkels talked us into buying reef shoes. Don't do that: completely not necessary as you never spend any time walking on a reef; you're always dropped in from a boat. We did bring our own masks and snorkels, but if you don't, the resort has a supply of each.

Wifi was available for a small fee, but reception pretty much limited to the area near the front desk. Which was fine for us -- we were trying to be on vacation, after all.

We didn't visit any other resorts in the Yasawas, so we can't compare to others except for an afternoon sojourn at Octopus Resort on Waya Island (perfectly nice but I think Viwa's beach and reefs trumped Octopus's), but we did hear from some fellow travelers who visited some other resorts that Viwa was the best of the bunch.

Underwater camera: bring some kind of device that allows your to take photos underwater: you're going to wish you had one.

In short, if you want a piece of paradise, give Viwa a try! On the day of your departure, the staff comes out to serenade you with a goodbye song as you board the boat back to Waya Island where you catch the Yasawa Flyer for the trip back to Nadi. It was really hard to leave!

We still dream about coming back one day.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. The higher the room number, the farther away from the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Spent a week at Viwa Island Resort mid December 2013, and it was an amazing experience.

Although the price is fairly steep, especially after taking into account the cost of transfers either by Yasawa Flyer or seaplane, the staff and location of this resort make you completely forget about anything and everything on your mind and completely relax.

It's difficult to single out anyone on the staff for a special mention as after arriving, the entire staff from reception through to groundskeepers are on a first name basis with you.

The rooms are really large, and are made up every morning whilst at breakfast with nice fresh tropical flowers on the bed, and also turned down in the evening while at dinner.

Caroline, the head chef cooks up amazing meals every day you're there, with the BBQ (Tuna especially) being outstanding. We didn't go with the meal plan, as when planning the holiday I couldn't understand how it was beneficial to go with it, so just paid for meals A La Carte style. Lunch was always delicious, and dinner a main course was usually sufficient to keep us full, although on the odd occasion we ordered a starter or dessert simply because the description sounded too good to resist (and lived up to expectations). One thing that we found really good which we only found out about a couple of days into the holiday from another guest, was the afternoon tea served after 3.45pm which included a slice of homemade cake.

Esther from reception was on the boat transfer with us to the resort after having a few days off, and was always a happy smiley face in whenever passing by the main desk, and always happy to answer any questions.

Tom, Joe, Bahti and Api were always happy to chat with you in between waiting on us and serving at the bar, and Tom also great when joining the musicians during dinner to keep everyone entertained. Also, the welcome song and good bye song sung on our first and last nights respectively were much appreciated.

A big thanks should also go the the guys who are looking after the grounds and are up extra early in the mornings raking the beach to make sure it is picture postcard stunning for the guests.

As for Ba, the activities co ordinator, there isn't much to say apart from the guy is fantastic and there is no way any could not like him.

Full credit to the entire staff and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you Viwa.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW PLYMOUTH, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Yes, VIWA is "quiet".....no radio, T.V, DVD, magazines or newspapers......(except for those who cannot be without their technological crutches.....or those who needed to be in touch with 'home' to keep tabs on ailing relatives - via management.)
Meals are ordered in advance, regardless of whether guests have pre-paid for the "meal-plan option, and even if we reached the dining room at 1830, when dinner officially starts, there was often more than a two hour wait for our meals! Honeymoon couples also, were often served separately: one Italian couple had a foil covered plate delivered (wife), which sat there for 45 minutes before her husband was served his.... Even if we WANTED an early night, there was no way that was possible. Breakfasts were salvaged only by the gorgeous flapjacks, (available 2-3 times during our stay) but notably ran out of both eggs, bacon, and fresh fruit SEVERAL times. For a "tropical island paradise", to have NO FRESH FRUIT available, and to have to PAY for a bread plate of very mediocre, half ripened fruit, was abysmal. The evenings "entertainment" was a joke, also: there wasn't any, other than a "crab race". Some of us stayed in the dining area deliberately to see if the 'quiz nights' etc actually eventuated, but....sadly, not. For the COST of the accommodation, we felt the quality was sadly lacking. Sheets were grey, and we had no fresh linen provided the entire time we were there: towels were threadbare and stained. We opted for the "Meal Plan", which I would NOT recommend: albeit a pre-paid option, it really isn't worth the hassle of prolonged waits for service, and indifferent fare. I could NOT believe how freshly caught fish could arrive at table tough, way overcooked and poorly served. Being huge cat-lovers, we were also very disappointed the cats - which all look the same - are most decidedly are NOT friendly. The management office is adjacent to the dining room - and staff were extremely heavy smokers. The office is minute: second hand smoke is as disgusting as fresh - but at least the inhabitants of the office HAD A CHOICE about cooping themselves up in the fug. The cats did not. Nor did the unborn baby of the manageress. Expecting a first baby at almost 40, with clearly no regard whatever for her babies' well-being and health, was unbelievable. Very, very sad. I also need to say that despite proclaiming VERY CLEARLY I had not snorkelled for 32 years, and expressing concern regarding supervision by the activities organiser (several times) my fears were NOT listened to. The 1500 daily activities included a snorkelling trip 3-4 times during our stay, and was, apparently "supervised". The snorkelling equipment was basic, and the snorkel often filled with water. After several stops to empty out my snorkel, I lagged behind the others to the point I was stressing I'd held the small group up. Eventually "following the yellow flippers" was not an option - I could no longer see them. I neither panicked nor felt I was in any danger, but kept heading for the area that had been pointed out as the direction we were heading for. Thankfully I used the communal dining area as a check-point, so lined myself up to the shore every time I emptied my snorkel - but I still managed, in a very short time, to head for the gap in the reef where the boats come in, and which apparently, is very dangerous water. (This last as observed from the beach by those who did not go snorkelling, wise souls that they be!) My attempts to "catch up to the group" were foreshortened when the activities organiser suddenly appeared beside me in a Kayak, and lambasted me for causing everyone on shore to panic as to where I was. My husband had been a part of the group, and appeared to be doing well - therefore I assumed he was part of the group I lost track of. Thankfully, after swallowing a ton of water, he'd given up altogether and returned to shore. It was he who raised the alarm as to my whereabouts when the others returned to shore. This situation that could have been a disaster, both for my husband and I, and for the resort - and those villagers dependent on said resort for their entire livelihood. I believe that following this episode, the "safety" of the activities participants has been increased considerably. It needed to be. A little note to others venturing to Viwa: be careful signing a disclaimer about your personal safety. DESPITE expressing grave concerns, and being reassured that yes, I'd be kept an eye on, this situation was NOT one in which management excelled in meeting the "guests well-being and needs.

Room Tip: Apparently there are bures with a separate bedroom, but the one we were in was spacious: we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
underwaterspecialist, Manager at Viwa Island Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
At Viwa Island Resort we try very hard to provide our guests with the freshest and best quality produce available and we are very selective with what suppliers we use never opting for second best. Our stock is brought to the island on a weekly basis in order to keep the food a fresh as possible. Unfortunately when a supplier has no stock to send to the island which does happen occasionally, we won’t downgrade our standards by going to a lower grade supplier.
If we can’t provide something on our menu an alternative option is always given to our guests of the same quality to choose from.
Dinner at Viwa Island resort begins at 7.30pm not 6.30pm as you have suggested. If guests are given food wrapped in foil it is because they have requested the food to be taken back to their room. Food is never served at a dinner table wrapped in foil as you have suggested.
In regards to your snorkel trip you did advise the activities manager about your concerns and you were instructed to swim with them at the front of the group however you insisted on staying at the back of the group where normally confident swimmers and snorkelers would be placed. Unfortunately on this occasion you had even admitted that you were so caught up with the viewing of the corals and fish around the reef you lost track of the guide and it was only a short time before the guide realizing this that you were tended too.
Most resorts and activities operations will ask all participants to fill in an indemnity form prior to partaking in any activity just like to one we ask our guests to fill out and here at Viwa island resort we are no different other operations.
As for the nightly activities you have mentioned that never happened you did partake in the Trivia night with our chef Caroline and the only reason activities of a night will be cancelled is if the guests numbers restrict the games from taking place, obviously more than 2 or 4 guests are needed for some of the activities.
It seemed to the staff and management of the resort that during your stay you were enjoying yourself immensely. On more than one occasion you were seen to be drunk at the bar with other guests and smoking in the main facility at the bar area where smoking is not permitted.
Even on your guest comments sheet that all guests at Viwa are asked to fill in before departing from the resort you rated the resort and your stay as very good however after reading this review I feel that you opinion has changed due to a possible personal indifference with management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland NZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent an idyllic week of relaxation on Viwa 9 -16 Sept. Weather perfect, beach & lagoon stunningly beautiful, accommodation extremely comfortable, food superb & staff could not do enough to make any guest happy.
The adventure starts when you leave the Flyer at Octopus resort & head west toward an empty horizon but just when you think it'' be next stop PNG, Viwa appears low on the horizon. If you're not happy in smaller boats take the air option which is very affordable since 15/9.
The resort is set on a most beautiful beach which is good for swimming even at low tide. The clarity of the water in the lagoon was amazing although the number of fish was less than expected & a lot of the coral bleached. They do replant coral several times a week & are very protective of the reefs, unlike some other Fiji resorts.
The accommodations were all you could ask for, clean, comfortable, spacious, & private - you could almost imagine you had the resort to yourself.
Given the remote location the food was amazingly good, - I've paid more for lesser food in many cities - although be prepared for "Fiji time " with the service. The entertainment at dinner was always enjoyable, the bula welcome & iso lei sung with real emotion. The staff really appreciate the importance of the guests to the island economy & treat guests as friends as did Michelle the manager with whom we chatted on several occasions.
Downsides, none really but if I was being picky, did see a few cats, appeared well cared for & weren't an issue, wifi which I needed one day was expensive & only works in the bar area, slow meal service.
Would highly recommend Viwa for a totally relaxing holiday

Room Tip: Bure 5 was perfect, the higher number the further from the bar/ restaurant therefore less passing fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 10 nights at Viwa in September. Getting to the island is quite an experience. We arrived during unusually cool and windy weather with a big swell running. The boat 'ride' from Waya to Viwa was pretty rough but we had the 'big wave' skipper at the helm and arrived safe and sound (if a little shaken up) after a 80 minute trip. The bad weather hung around for four days, not much you can do about it, so we bunkered down in the bure. We went on a couple of the guided walks, the pick being the walk through the centre of the island to village on the northern tip opposite Jiliva Island and also the visit to the 'cannibal' fort located on the eastern side of the island north of the resort. The fort visit is a must as it is rare opportunity to see a cultural and archaeolgical site like this so close to a resort.

The weather came good and we enjoyed the sun, sand and sea on what must be one of the better white sand beaches in Fiji. The snorkling is ok, with some nice coral gardens with a lot of clams situated right out front of the resort bar/pool area on the eastern end of beach. Swimming is good, with some good spots even at low tide.

The resort caters for up to 20ish people with 11 beachfront bures. The bures are a good size and very comfortable with an indoor/outdoor bathroom,ceiling fans and aircon, with timber louvers and screened windows (great for blocking or letting the light and breazes in). We had some issues with the hot water system and shower but these issues were sorted out promptly. There is a mini-fridge in the room which is stocked with soft drinks and water. I mostly drank the tap water with no issues (which comes from a desalination plant), but you can always boil it and chill it down in the fridge if you want. You can get ice in an ice bucket to chill your duty free. There are two sun lounge chairs on the verandah. Out the front there is the stunning white beach with beach bures and sun-lounges with plenty of sun and shade.

As many other reviewers have noted the food is very good, a credit to chef Caroline and team. Vegies etc come from local market garden. There is not much to buy at the shop (just some basic medicines, sun block etc) so if you like your snacks I'd suggest you bring some with you. The bar area has stunning views south toward the Mananucas. The staff are very friendly and laid back as you'd expect, so you will be chillaxed in no time. All in all Viwa was a great experience where we met some great fellow travellers and had a lot of laughs. Dare to be different, don't be put off by the boat ride, Viwa is a special place and worth the effort getting there.

Room Tip: All bures are right on the beach so they are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viwa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viwa Island Resort

Address: Viwa Island | Viwa Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Yasawa Islands
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Yasawa Islands
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Yasawa Islands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Viwa Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate boutique resort for adults only with 11 deluxe beachfront bures set on a beautiful white sandy beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Viwa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viwa Island Hotel Yasawa Islands
Viwa Island Resort Fiji/Yasawa Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viwa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.