We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vinaka uprising!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Uprising Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uprising Beach Resort to your Saves list
Uprising Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Vinaka uprising!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

As part of our feejee experiance myself and partner stayed for one night and loved it! We had stayed in some hell hole but the night before so to come to this place was like paradise, our room was massive with a sofa lounge area which was nice, along with a massive bed which was comfy too. The room was well equipped with an outdoor shower which was interesting even if it was a lil cold being exposed to the elements. The food at the restraunt was pretty good aswell with the night entertainment which was great and a must see.highly recommend this place and staff once again were really helpfull and friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Bula Adams22,

A big vinaka for your review of the Uprising and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I was also glad to read that you had a private room as a part of your Feejee Experience tour as this is by far the best way to ensure privacy and personal space when traveling with a large group.

I have past on your compliments to our team and once again, thank you for taking a moment to share your Uprising experience. Best of luck for the remainder of your trip.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    97
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
65
140
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here during our feejee experience and loved it. Me and my partner stayed in a private hut and we not disappointed. It was large and spacious with a small kitchenette & lounge and large kingsize bed. Our bathroom was just outside with an open air rainfall shower head. Incredible. Not as warm in the winter but still lovely.
The grounds were amazing right in the beach front and the staff were ever so friendly. Lunch and dinner were delicious and cheap and the staff even put on a dance show for the guests during dinner ending with a fire performance. After dinner they put on music and had a disco which was great. Highly recommend a stay here whilst in fiji. Plenty of activities to do to!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Bula Zimmy22,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising Beach Resort and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Our grounds staff do a great job keeping the resort looking at it's best all year round and we are glad that you and your partnered enjoyed this. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed our food and beverage facilities and had a good time.

Zimmy22, all the best for the remainder of your holiday and we wish you best of luck with your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at Uprising Beach Resort for 1 night as part of our Feejee -Whole Hula Experience Tour, arrived at lunch time, too early to check into our rooms, so we had a fantastic lunch, food was excellent, when we checked into our Bure we were extremely impressed, Kings Sized bed on a raised platform, lounge area, kitchenette area, separate toilet and out door shower with plenty of hot running water. The whole Bure was very spacious, with a patio out front to sit and relax having a coffee/tea whilst listening to the waves. Certainly did not miss a TV. Overall would certainly return and stay longer at Uprising Resort!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Bula Dianne912,

A big vinaka for your great review of the Uprising Beach Resort and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Feejee Experience Hula Hoop is a great trip around Viti Levu and a quick way to see as much of the mainland as possible. We are thankful that the tour stops at Uprising so that guests are able to enjoy our facilities as you did.

Once again Dianne912, thank you and safe travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Overall, Uprising is a great place if you want to stay in a nice hotel and just relax with a good book. The Pacific Harbour area in Fiji is the wet side of the island so my stay was a bit cold and rainy. I stayed in a villa and the villa was absolutely gorgeous! The staff was very professional. I would give this place 5 stars for great rooms! But, the average rating comes from the other things. My only pains here are that 1) there weren't any nightly activities for guests on the hotel grounds so after hours, it was a bit boring if you are a solo traveler, 2) the rooms were drafty, 3) the food was okay but I expected more, 4) the wine was so bad that I actually had to chew gum while I was drinking it. I didn't want to waste it since I had already paid for it and 5) the beach sand was a little nasty. Make sure you arrive here in the early part of the day. Transfers are expensive ($100 USD each way, $200 FJD) so if you travel by a cheaper means, most of that transportation is not available after dark (after 5:30 pm). I unfortunately had to hitch a ride from Warwick Resort at 9:30 pm because my boat from the Marina came in late and the Nadi Express was doing the last run. Uprising is great for families with older kids, those traveling for business, or divers. It's not very good for solo travelers or those with little ones. They had a variety of day activities which were very easy to plan. Reception was extremely great! I did the Terratrek Waterfall tour and the Suva City tour. Both were very good. I think Uprising is a great hotel but the location of Pacific Harbour was not my favorite spot in Fiji. The best part of Uprising is that the grounds and rooms are beautiful! Unfortunately, I did not have enough time in my schedule to do diving here but Beqa Lagoon is an excellent dive spot!

Room Tip: The Garden Villa's are really nice! Great balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Bula TravelhoneyBL,

Thank you for your review of the Uprising.

I was most pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the villa which you booked in to. These rooms are the highlight for most of our guests who stay in them and we recommend them for those wanting a little more space and a few of the comforts of home such as television , air conditioning and a decent sized bath tub!

I was sorry to read that during your stay the weather wasn't the best with regards to the wind and rain. June through to October is normally our dry season and we have had about a week's worth of rain over the last 2 months! It is a shame though that this wasn't the case whilst you were with us.

Our wine list is actually supplied by Fiji's biggest wine importers and the list hand picked based on taste and of course customer preference. I am sorry you did not enjoy this however for other potential guests, I recommend asking one of our friendly bar tenders for a taste if you are unsure of the wine. They are more than willing to allow you to try this should you be unsure about your choice.

Transportation is not cheap in Fiji in general unless you travel via a public bus which takes almost double the normal time it would in a private car. With saying that and from feedback from such reviews as yours, we have made changes to our operation which will only benefit guests with regards to getting a more affordable private transfer.

TravelhoneyBL, once again, thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent stay and we wish you all the best for the remainder of your travels.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Travel by air is 4hrs from Sydney, but from Nadi airport is another 3 hrs by Taxi. Better arrive on Thursday before 7pm, so u can watch the fire dance show. Outdoor shower is absolutely geiunes idea, higly recommended, we booked an ocean view bure directly with the resort, saved about 5% rather than going thru any online booking agents. Food at the restaurant is actually pretty nice , even tho a bit pricy, but i guess it's a common thing in tourist sites. Toilet is not too wide, this is the only draw back. But guess what, you can gwt FREE coconut drink sttaight from the tree 2 meters away from the bure, why else should I not feel Happy! Highly recommended to all sort of traveller, as they also have shared dorm at very affordable price , but u need to consider the time of travelling from/to the airport, i.e. 3 hrs and by taxi is around $160 each way.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Bula Solar P,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the Uprising and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves.

Uprising Beach Resort is located in Pacific Harbour, the Adventure Capital of Fiji and is approximately 2-3 hours from Nadi airport depending on the time of day and vehicle you travel by. The bonus is when you get here, restaurants, supermarkets and activities are all within a short walking distance from the hotel. We are very fortunate to be in such a location which gives our guests more options for dining, shopping and day activities

Solar P, once again, thank you for your review of Uprising and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Aside from the cost of transportation from Nadi, we really enjoyed our overnight in the 20 bed dorm. The desk personel were gracious to loan us each a blanket as the night was quite cool eventhough we were staying in the large dorm. We were traveling with another couple and all had a light supper, good nights sleep and abundant breakfast before moving on to Suva. The food was pretty expensive at supper but the breakfast was included with our dorm bed cost. The bathroom facilities and private shower with hot water was nice. The grounds and beach were beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Bula Travelers2gether,

It is always nice to receive such positive reviews as yours and we are glad our team looked after you well.

It is the cooler season in Fiji right now and temperatures have caught a few of our guests off guard. I am happy to read our team arranged some extra blankets to make your stay more comfortable. Transport from Nadi is varied with a number of different options available depending on your budget from FJD $15.00 per person for a public bus or $200.00 for a private transfer.

We have made a number of recent changes to our breakfast buffet through feedback received from our many guests and we are happy to read that you enjoyed this at no extra cost.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the Uprising and we wish you all the best for the rest of your travels.

Vinaka,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrimal East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I travel a lot in Fiji and the Uprising is a great place -- not over the top, great aspect and great people. Oh! and make sure you have a massage with Loata! Magic hands, fantastic. The only small thing is that I'd remove the big Corona sign on the outdoor thatched roof (takes away from the natural beauty of the place). Rob Edwards

Room Tip: get one on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James_Pridgeon, General Manager at Uprising Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Bula Rob Edward,

A big vinaka vakalevu for your review of the Uprising and we are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay!

Our massage girls do a great job and I will surely pass on your compliments to Loata!

Once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

James Pridgeon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uprising Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uprising Beach Resort

Address: Beach Rd, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uprising Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly nestled on 2 kilometers of sandy beachfront between tropical palms, Uprising offers adventure, relaxation and sheer natural beauty all in one stunning safe location. Imagine a fun friendly place right on the beach where the young and young-at-heart come to play.Authentic Fijian accommodation options range from traditional thatched beachfront Villas and Bures (cottages) to fun tree-house shared facilities. Choose to relax on the beach or by the pool, and have a beachside massage, or take advantage of the many activities on offer. Scuba dive world famous Beqa Lagoon and experience shark diving and soft coral scuba sights, or head into the mountains for a whitewater rafting trip. Other daily activities include game fishing, jet ski island safari’s, golf, shopping at the Arts Village & Cultural Centre of Pacific Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Uprising Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uprising Beach Hotel Pacific Harbour
Hotel Uprising Beach
Uprising Beach Resort Fiji, South Pacific - Pacific Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uprising Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.