We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectation Exceeded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl South Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl South Pacific to your Saves list
The Pearl South Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Montgomery
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Expectation Exceeded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Whilst I accept some of the comments that this is a little old fashioned and showing the odd sign of wear and tear, this is Fiji, the location and the hospitality were just amazing. Don't come here looking for wild night life and slick impersonal service: for us this is the way it should be. Staff who recognise you and care, no "Have a nice day" here. The pool with its own bar was a delight with access straight on to the beach. Well kept grounds were great for a stroll too. Happy hour was welcoming and generous - the bar area inviting and significantly more inviting than the slightly over-priced restaurant. There was usually some planned activity or other and there were a number of excursions available although they too seemed a tad pricey. We just enjoyed the relaxing and tranquil environment. A particular thank you to every one of the lovely staff.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are just that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    193
    78
    35
    29
See reviews for
130
261
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

An overall great time had, despite the construction alongside the resort and the tired dated room.
We stayed 12 days at The Pearl.
The room was clean and stocked when we checked in, and was serviced every day.
The TV did only have 4 channels plus the 'in house movie'. And there wasn't usually movie playing. But hay, who goes to Fiji to watch TV.
Next doors AC was very loud, and kept us up quite late.
The construction crew started every weekday promptly at 8am, but why sleep in when you are in Fiji.
We did have the buffet breakfast every day, although we mostly just had cereal anyway. Some days the hot selection was poor, but the fresh egg chief was available to cook any egg you want. I think they may have had specialty egg days, when I asked for fried eggs, she wanted me to have an omelette, but the kitchen staff cooked me a fried egg.
We purposely chose a resort away from the tourist area of Denerau. It did mean a 2.5hr drive to the pearl from Nadi. But we chose culture over tourist, and we were very close to lots of culture.
It was good to have a local supermarket and liquor store over the road, since food and drinks at the resort were a bit pricy. But I assume they were reasonable resort prices.
The staff were all very friendly and eager to help in any way they could. I will miss them very much, Maria, Matt, Mali and all the bar and restaurant staff, too many to name.
We will be going back once the new rooms are constructed.

Room Tip: Our ocean view ground room was easy access to the bar and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed a week with 3 other couples. Had the most fun in ages. Not the newest of locations and they are making major additions, but the friendliness of the staff makes up for it all. Staff could not have done enough for you. Loads of great fun activities food was great. will definetly go again!!

Room Tip: we all stayed in ocean view rooms which were nice - we didn't spend that much time in our room s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Although The Pearl is in the midst of a massive upgrade, we had the most fantastic time with a group of 8 celebrating two 50th birthdays! Sure the rooms are a bit tired but the dining, bar and pool areas are excellent. Daily activities are always worth doing, fun and educational. Highlights were daily volleyball followed by happy hour, kayaking, the cooking and Lovo demonstrations, village tour and of course the massages. We had vouchers for a daily 1/2 hr massage as part of our package deal along with lots of other activities. The sunset cruise was magic and so much fun! The staff at the Pearl are so friendly and obliging and treated us like we were their best customers, we really couldn't have asked for better. The food is excellent and reasonably priced, cocktails ever changing and delicious and the location was gorgeous. All in all a fantastic experience!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Sent 10 days at the pearl. The resort is quite tired and it seems that they have completely stopped spending any money to maintain the building or replace things that need it. would put it at 2.5 or 3 star at best. Although a long 3 hour drive from the Nadi airport, does give you the opportunity to see a bit of the country. It is placed on a nice part of the beach with a river running at the side. Lovely views across to the islands. Suggest you request a bottom floor room to make access easier. The pool is great, as are the are the pool staff, and are the highlight at the pearl and without the 3 guys there, we perhaps might have left early.
Prices for food and drinks are high for such a low standard resort and sadly there is a culture of short changing the customers that pay with cash at the bars. There is a supermarket across the road where you can pick up most things that you will need at the locals price.
There is the art village within a 15 minute walk or FGD$3 taxi ride. It has 3 restaurants and although tourist prices there is a good selection. Can recommend the small "restaurant" across the road to get the local experience with food. To feed a family of 4 about AUD$20
In all the pearl provided a good family holiday, however would not stay again and therefore could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a bottom floor room to make access easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at The Pearl for just over a week, with every intention of relaxing and blobbing beside the pool or strolling on the beach. The Pearl is certainly the place to do just that. It hosts loads of activities to keep the active entertained, but it does come at a cost! Be prepared to pay for most of your activities. My husband did the shark dive which he highly recommends (if you’re diver of course).
The Pearl we found to be a luxurious and stunning resort with a 4.5 star rating. With views of the ocean and waking up to the sound of breaking waves is very refreshing. However, it was only after a day of settling in could you notice that the rooms and some of the surrounds could do with a makeover. Nevertheless, we truly enjoyed our stay at the resort with its inviting pool, easy access to the beach and well maintained gardens, even with the renovations going on next to the resort didn’t pose an issue.
The staff were absolutely amazing, always helpful and very welcoming! Happy hour seemed to be the highlight or more so, the crowd drawer. It certainly wasn’t the evening dining that drew the crowds, which I would assume was due to the expensive drinks and menus. Most nights the restaurants were pretty much empty. We along with other guests utilised the local takeaway and nearby restaurants.
The Pearl golf course is no match for a beginner! But is really something to experience.
We travelled on the local bus to Suva, very disappointing! But all in all a good experience.
I would certainly recommend The Pearl to anyone who isn’t to hung up about star rating, as the Pearl is more like a 3 star.
My advice to management!!! Lower your food and beverage prices, keep the guests dining on the premises instead of supporting the local takeaways.
Please be mindful that your staff who makes The Pearl so inviting for a return visit.
Save, Matt, Meli, Ama and for those whose names I have forgotten…… you guys rock!
Thank you for your kind hospitality.
Vinaka Vakelevu

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed one week on a Luxury Escape.
Lovely locaction on the beach next to river.
Staff very friendly and always helpful with our many queries about the area.
Plenty of activities every day to keep the active person busy.
Lovely pool area with bar and wood fired oven pizza lunch if you just want to laze the day away.
Music every evening with Happy Hour added a nice touch.
Breakfast pretty good. Room nice, but top floor balcony too small to sit our on.

Room Tip: If you like to sit outside your room & look at the view, suggest ground floor or 1st floor, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl South Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl South Pacific

Address: Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl South Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant stylish resort set on the shores of beautiful Beqa Lagoon, halfway between Nadi & Suva. Set on one of Fiji's longest beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens The Pearl is an idyllic boutique escape where chic accommodation, exquisite cuisine and as much - or as little - adventure & relaxation as you want awaits you. Just some of the features on offer include an 18-hole championship golf course, white water rafting, game fishing, diving with sharks, snorkeling, banana boat rides, jet skis and surfing at Frigate's Passage. Or just relax by the swimming pool, indulge at the Pearl Spa or enjoy the fabulous cuisine and cocktails on offer at one of the resorts 2 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pearl South Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl South Pacific Fiji - Pacific Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl South Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.