We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl South Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl South Pacific to your Saves list
The Pearl South Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quiet Time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Most of our holidays are in Asia,where you get a lot more for your dollar.This is the reason for the "average rateing".
The staff are very friendly,there is a good selection of area's to have a drink & or something to eat for most budgets.
The resort is quite isolated,apart from a cultural village about 20 minutes walk up the road which has restaurants,souvenir's,supermarket,massage(can recommend) & a bank.
Don't make the same mistake as we did with your flight out from Nadi.It is a 2hr drive from the resort plus a 3hr check in before departure.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    181
    70
    32
    29
See reviews for
120
247
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Pearl Resort for 9 days, 2 adults with a 3 year old toddler. We had a lovely time and every person that worked at the hotel was super friendly and accomodating. We never experienced "Fiji time", everything was always done promptly and always with a smile :-)

It will be great once they have completed all the renovations they are doing, as although the resort is still nice, it is in need of a makeover and update. We had an ground floor ocean view room which was adequate, tidy but is in need of a makeover.

The only down side to our trip was the weather unfortunately. I dont know if it really is out of the ordinary but it was constantly windy, sometimes stormy and although we still used the pool - it was not the days upon days of lying by the pool in the sun that we had in mind! which was a shame. Due to this I dont know if I would risk staying in the Pacific Harbour area again and would probably opt for the Western side of the island not central Fiji.

My husband dived with Bull Sharks which he really enjoyed and we did an 1 Day Island excursion which was great.

We will be back to Fiji - just probably not the Pacific Harbour region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papunya
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a great spot. This was a great time at the pearl. It was probably the most relaxing holiday we have ever had and it was due to the beautiful hotel and the great staff. The staff were so friendly and helpful and entertaining that our holiday went by so quickly it was sad to see it finish. The pool has a swim up bar and the beer was cold and really nice Fiji bitter. The garden surrounds go right to the beach and there are so many hammocks around that either hold one or two people and it is so relaxing. The beach is great and the just out from the resort is a great reef to go snorkeling on and the fish and the coral are fantastic. The hotel itself has many rooms and they are extremely relaxing and the beds are great and the furniture is well suited to the room. The rooms are very clean and the view from the rooms is out to the ocean.
The food was fantastic and fresh and the waiters were so attentive and friendly it made dining so enjoyable. One of the things they do is take you fishing for a cost and then they will cook your fish for you in the dining room so it is as fresh as. I am probably sure there are better resorts in Fiji but this is very special. Give it a try.

Room Tip: Any room is good as they face the ocean and the view around the garden area at night is great with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First impression was that it was all bit of a concrete jungle for a Fiji resort and the rooms a little hotel like but the beach, which was super close, and pool area make up for it, loved the swim up bar!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We got a very good deal at this place and pored over the reviews to make sure we weren't making a mistake!

Had a great time - the staff are as friendly and accommodating as indicated. Pool was lovely, and didn't feel too over-run even when the kids were at their splashiest. Food was quite ambitious for a resort - and possibly didn't quite pull it off. But there was plenty of variety for a week's holiday.

Our room was very nice. I think we had one of the ones said to be the better ones - sea view, top floor (odd 300s if you're requesting). A couple of shabby corners were more about the climate than anything else!

Only downside is it is a long way from Nadi (where we landed) and the transfers aren't cheap. Fine if you have a decent amount of time there, but if we'd been there much less than the six days we were there would have felt like a big chunk of holiday (particularly given how long it takes to et through Nadi airport if you were on a big plane!!!)

Another nice touch was the random activities throughout the day. Frog racing was very silly!

We'd go again for the same sort of holiday - ie lazy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first impression on arriving at "The Pearl" was that we had found the promised land. Such a beautiful setting for a very relaxing holiday. My partner, my daughter and my two grandsons (12 & 10) shared two rooms which were both clean, comfortable and well serviced. Breakfast was included and was a great way to start the day. But much more than landscape and comfortable rooms is the hospitality of the Fijian people. No words describe adequately the warm hospitality of the beautiful staff at the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble. A special mention and thanks goes to Heather in the water sport booking office. Sofa and the crew at the pool bar and the fabulous crew who took us snorkeling. Thanks again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A beautiful place is certainly one part of the Pearl's charm. Right on Beqa lagoon with islands across the water and coconut palms swaying around the pool and beachfront. But the true fijian magic comes from the people whose passion for and pride in their home and culture delivers the warmest, friendliest and most genuinely refreshing experience you could hope for. Full credit to Masi, Mela, Joana, Mike. Setaita, Veliki and Seru and many others for making our stay incredible. Food is excellent, happy hour is awesome value and the band sing and drive away thoughts of stressful cities on some other planet, Diving with sharks is still indescribable the second time - see separate review. Full credit to this exceptional, wonderful, stylish team. Absolutely world class.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are huge and the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl South Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl South Pacific

Address: Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl South Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant stylish resort set on the shores of beautiful Beqa Lagoon, halfway between Nadi & Suva. Set on one of Fiji's longest beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens The Pearl is an idyllic boutique escape where chic accommodation, exquisite cuisine and as much - or as little - adventure & relaxation as you want awaits you. Just some of the features on offer include an 18-hole championship golf course, white water rafting, game fishing, diving with sharks, snorkeling, banana boat rides, jet skis and surfing at Frigate's Passage. Or just relax by the swimming pool, indulge at the Pearl Spa or enjoy the fabulous cuisine and cocktails on offer at one of the resorts 2 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl South Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl South Pacific Fiji - Pacific Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl South Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.