We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of this and that...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl South Pacific

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl South Pacific to your Saves list
The Pearl South Pacific
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
suva
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A bit of this and that...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

With a (small) group we checked in for a 2 day meeting. Our focal point was efficient ensuring the room was ready, tea was served on time etc.

Meals: On the first day we were about 15 minutes late to lunch and flies beat us to our meal which was also cold. Lunch next day was better, (maybe because we went on time) the menu was more diverse. Dinner was okay on both nights, I recommend the Curry Platter but not the chocolate mousse for dessert. But I must say the service on the second night was terrible it was as if they were trying to shoo us out of there by 9.15pm and in doing so they messed up a colleague's order. And given that he ordered what we had about an hour earlier, we could not believe our eyes when his order came, it was like they had served up all the leftover vegies from that shift and threw in a few prawns for good measure! Breakfast was terrible, fruit flies on the papaya, that was soft and mushy, the eggs were slightly off and the bacon was cold. The vegie curry smelt and tasted like it was a day old.

Rooms: The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable despite the the fact that the walls are pretty thin, and a baby cried almost all night so bring ear plugs if are a light sleeper. The AC leaked and caused a small puddle.
The bed was comfortable and it was quite hard to get up the next morning. major plus for me because I love my sleep.
The staff were pleasant which is a plus for The Pearl and I must say they really try.

The property is ideal for office retreats etc because it is far from distractions, has a lot of beachfront and lawns for team building etc and the Conventions staff looked after us well. Oh and while I am at it, the muffins were wonderful.
Would I go back? For a weekend I probably would.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room. Compared to the two floors below, the top floor room was brighter and I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    179
    70
    32
    29
See reviews for
119
247
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were fortunate to stay at The Pearl South Pacific during the 2012 World Supermodel Pagaent. Magical party atmosphere, The most outstanding thing to me was that the General Manager, Natalie,Marletta, came up and introduced herself. She is young, vibrant, extremely helpful and very hands on rather than sitting in her office. She made us feel like we had been friends for some time.

The staff are ever so helpful too with continual greetings of "Bula". I kept commenting on that "Big Fijian Smile". We felt pampered during our stay by natalie and her staff.

The resort is well situated once you get there. 2.5 hr drive from Nandi. Great scenery on the way so more like a nice 1/2 island tour.

Pleny of things to do in this picturesque area or just relax...right on the beach. Their Championship Golf Course is great. Fishing trips out form this area also We also did a 1 day "The Jewel of Fiji Tour" through Discouver fiji Tours. Well worth it.

Definately happy to go back again and recommend to my family and friends.

Room Tip: We had the ocean room which had close views of the ocean and islands. Definately go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited the Pearl South Pacific on a tour when our cruise ship called at Suva. Fortunately we weren't staying at the resort.
The good things: the location of the property and its well kept grounds. Smiling and friendly staff.
The bad things: the absolutely appalling lunch provided by the resort. The food was inedible and everyone in the group (some 50+ people) merely picked at the food.
The price of drinks was ridiculously high and the resort had the affront to ask for a 3% surcharge for payment by any credit card.
No air conditioning in the public rooms.
I inspected the bedrooms. Two star standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our hotel transfer was not at the airport to greet us upon our arrival. But "hotel transfer" staff at the airport were very efficient and contacted the resort immediately where we only waited for 15 minutes for our driver. The vehicle was a clean luxury four wheel drive where the driver offered us air conditioning.

I travelled with my husband and 4 1/2 month year old baby. And the hospitality we got was overwhelming! The staff here go gaga for babies and they literally take her off our hands and treat her as there own bub. We were amused by the wonderful treatment and made the most of the free baby sitting.

Our favourite moments at the resort on top of the wonderful service included:
- various free activities offered at the resort
- regular updates on activities via pool notice board and daily newsletter sent to your room every night.
- happy hour: best cocktails and songs sang by local serenaders
- dinner: most nights have a theme night offering dishes from a certain part of the world. Incl. India, Italy, Fiji and a seafood night.
- food: value for money, large portions and delicious
- location: doorstep of a breathtaking beach overlooking an island
- various paid activities: game fishing, water sports, spa, cooking class and golf
- beautiful lounging places across the resort.

Also, the staff were quite efficient in addressing our various vouchers that were included in our 'Ouffer' deal.

Overall, our experience of the generous hospitality and the breathtaking views out ways the not so great details. and as a result, we have plenty of beautiful happy family photos!

Thank you Pearl for allowing us to fall in love with Fiji and its locals. Love you long time ❤

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best features of the hotel include the ambience and spaciousness of the foyer, breakfast and dinner areas, as well as outside beachside. The food can be superb (lunch and dinner). The staff are delightful!! The gym is better than most although a bit run down. It was quite windy and the sea choppy so don't expect to swim.

Downside is the product you get if you order your meal after 9pm and leftovers on the breakast menu (from the day before).

Big changes are in store for the resort. It is a bonus for them that they have a staff that deserves a hotel worthy of their service. It will definitely be the place to be once completed. Currently a great place to stop over for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from our 8 day stay at The Pearl. We wanted to go on a relaxing, sea side holiday and we had just that at The Pearl. The holiday did not start well however, as we arrived and our transfer was not there waiting for us. Not knowing what to do, a nice local helped us who contacted the resort who confirmed that they had not heard from us regarding our flights (despite me emailing these details to them 6 weeks prior...). We then had to pay F$180 for transfer. A few days later, I learnt in the pool that we were not the only guests who had problems with their transfer as the same issue happened to other guests. We did not push this at the time as we could not be bothered but also didn't want to seem diffcult as soon as we arrived. I have since been in contact with the GM however, as we don't have a receipt or the name of the person who took us, they are not willing to reimburse or cover any of our additional costs. Not happy....
The issue with the transfer is a shame as everything else was pretty good - the locals are the nicest people you will ever meet! The rooms were clean but not spotless and the bathroom could have done with a bit of maintenance (the shower head flew off twice). I would recommed that you go to the Arts Village (F$3 by taxi) for dinner, much nicer and cheaper than the hotel.
There were some communication issues with the front desk staff who told us diiferent information which made things confusing especially when trying to arrange taxi's or making bookings for dinner or golf.
Overall, the staff at the pool and bar made the holiday - they were lovely and fun! A good holiday but not sure if I would go back to The Pearl/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Pearl Resort during the month of November 2012. We wanted to have a good rest and enjoy the culture and the rest.

Airport transfer: As part of our deal was the airport transfer( Luxury transport) and we met our driver at the airport and he mentioned us to stay in the designated area and he will be back in five.
we waited for one hour and finally he arrived with a old van. The AC was not working properly and we have to sit at the back of the van due to few more guest been picked up.
The roads were really bad and my wife was sick until we reach the hotel. However the driver was very polite and stopped the van few times for a break.

Arrival:On arrival we were exited of the lobby area of the resort and expected the rooms will be a good sea view, unfortunately they don't have any sea view rooms available( this was confirmed a month before our arrival) and we have been given the first floor garden view room, when we arrived inside the room we were shocked but couldn't be bothered and tired if the travelling 2.5 hours from the airport.

Room: Bed was horrible, no blankets, pillows are hard, no mini bars not even milk, the towels were horrible( looks like 20 years old and worn out) the face towels have different shapes and colors, when you have shower the water goes every where in the toilet, the menu's inside the room are dirty, only 5 channels on tv and some times half way you will loose the channel.

Restaurant: we have 3 night dinner vouchers, no one in the restaurant or at the front desk have no clue the special meals provided in the restaurant. Huge communication issue with the F&B team and the Front office team. Breakfast is boring, they serve the same items every day except the Fiji food. No one knows how to make a average espresso coffee's, they don't have any herbal tea available they have Dilma English breakfast, and green tea only, and also they DON'T have any tea pots either. Al the above mentioned are just a basic standards in a one star hotel in Australia and if they are catering for Australians they should consider the basic F&B.

Staff: Excellent staff, willing and humble, how ever I did not see any senior management during our stay only in the morning the GM comes and make her Latte from the bar.The head chef is an Australian never seen him in any of the kitchens or in public, only once he was doing a special set up for the cruise liner customers.

Follow up: Very bad, do not rely on any of the staff members they will not get back to you. We left our camera in the airport transfer and we confirmed with the taxi that they have returned the camera to the hotel front desk, still now there are no mails regarding this matter. It's not a expensive camera but we want the pictures, wrote few mails to the GM but no reply.

Overall: We enjoyed most of the time in the bar area because of the staff, the room was average, service is average, quality is average and we will not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl South Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl South Pacific

Address: Queens Road | P.O. Box 144, Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Centra Resort)
Location: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Pacific Harbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Pacific Harbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl South Pacific 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant stylish resort set on the shores of beautiful Beqa Lagoon, halfway between Nadi & Suva. Set on one of Fiji's longest beaches and surrounded by lush tropical gardens The Pearl is an idyllic boutique escape where chic accommodation, exquisite cuisine and as much - or as little - adventure & relaxation as you want awaits you. Just some of the features on offer include an 18-hole championship golf course, white water rafting, game fishing, diving with sharks, snorkeling, banana boat rides, jet skis and surfing at Frigate's Passage. Or just relax by the swimming pool, indulge at the Pearl Spa or enjoy the fabulous cuisine and cocktails on offer at one of the resorts 2 restaurants and 4 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl South Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl South Pacific Hotel Pacific Harbour
Pearl South Pacific Harbour
The Pearl South Pacific Fiji - Pacific Harbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl South Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.