We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fijian experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toberua Island Resort

Save Saved
You added Toberua Island Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Toberua Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Toberua Island
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Fijian experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Possibly the best holiday we have ever had.
Reason being mainly the family of staff who genuinely care and provide wonderfull service.
The resort has recently changed hands and the new management was on board when we were there. Renovations are planed and some are needed.
The experience, the service, the snorkeling and diving are all excellent and great value.
We have had good and bad experiences in Fiji this one certainly was great.
Unpretentious with good food just a great place to be.
We went on to Qamea which was supposed to be the up market leg on our month in Fiji this time. What a mistake. Experiencing Fiji hospitality at its best makes it hard for others to match up and so this place, if it continues with its greatest asset which is its long serving staff, will spoil you for other experiences.

  • Liked — Good size and layout
  • Disliked — Beds but I was told the new ones were to arrive the day after we left
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    20
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
55
108
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

From the moment you arrive on the island you know you are in a special place. The staff are amazingly friendly and will do anything to make your stay a good one.
* Great food- the kitchen was very flexible in catering for our groups diverse needs
* Beautiful bulas
* Activities for everyone
* Excellent customer service, starting from Hudson's prompt and helpful email correspondance
* Great place for a wedding: the staff took care of everything, right down to the last detail
* No issues with seasnakes, although you will see them if you look hard enough
* Weather did get a bit windy at times, but did not detract from the stay

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I went to Toberua for the first time for our honeymoon for 10 days and loved every minute of it. From the time we arrived until we left, we had a blast. The Toberua staff greeted us on the pier with singing and clapping, and also introduced themselves to us. Well from that moment on, we did not have to say our names again, the whole staff knew who we were. We immediatley felt like we were home! Our Bure was comfortable and peaceful. The accomadations are not fancy but stay true to the fijian way. We loved sitting on our back balcony looking out to the ocean at high tide and walking out at low tide to play golf on the sand bar. The pool is a bit chilly but feels amazing after being in the sun. I would suggest a hottub to the owners going forward. The spa is a single Bure surrounded by lush vegetation. I do believe they are expanding it to better accomadate more guests. We never had a problem getting a massage or spa treatment. The food is delicious and holds true to its past reviews. Every day a staff member will come and find you where ever you are to find out what you want to eat for lunch and for dinner and where you would like to eat it. You can sit at the dining room or at your bure. The toberua band will serenade you no matter where you are and continue to play during cocktail hour at the bar.There is always activities going on during the day that guests are more than welcome to join or not, very laid back. There is snorkling, diving, trips to different islands and a village trip which we highly recommend doing. That was an amazing experience for us to do. There are new owners that we had the pleasure of meeting, who don't want to change Toberua and its feel, but rather add to the already amazing resort. I would highly recommend honeymooners, couples and families to one day make it to Toberua if you are so lucky. It is one of those places that can change your life. The people alone are forever in our hearts and we will always consider our friends.
When booking your stay, I highly recommend talking to Hudson, his main concern is making sure your stay is relaxing and fun. So make your way to Toberua island, sip a Fiji bitter and wait for the drum to sound when it is time to eat, and take it all in. It truly is a piece of heaven on earth.

  • Liked — The staff, food and energy at toberua
  • Disliked — The pillows and having to leave
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Unique Resort.

My husband and I stayed with our children 12 and 16 for two weeks in July 08. We renewed our vows on the island. I’m a travel agent and have traveled extensively. This
Resort is one of a kind. All the positive comments are true and there are no negative ones unless you really are a complainer! Our stay was peaceful, romantic..even with our kids there, it was exciting and the most relaxed I’ve ever felt. There are no phones, TV’s or newspapers. You are in a world of complete holiday mode when you step onto this island. I felt pampered in so many ways. All the staff we’re incredibly kind and helpful. Even to the point when our flight over to Nadi wasn’t until 3:30 pm and Hudson looked after us by extending our check out until then. The food is 5 star. The bures are in need of refurnishing…however they have plans to do that as I had the chance to chat with the new owners a couple of times. I hope they are able to keep the Fiji charm though. The renewal was beautiful! The way they look after the kids with activities during our entire stay was fantastic. If there were no activities planned there are several board games and lots of sea treasure to find. The reef golf is fun. Two weeks there and it was only the last 2 days that the kids seemed to be hanging around the bure a bit more. Bravo Toberua…thanks for making my holiday and wedding renewal the absolute BEST! I will never forget my Toberua friends. Hi Hudson…I know the traveler and information sponge that you are…you’ll be reading this! Say hi to everyone there for us!!! We miss you!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I found Toberua on this website. We wanted a quality family holiday (kids aged 8 and 6) away from the school holiday crowds. I craved detail when deciding whether to go so I have made this review as comprehensive as possible.
Getting there: The transfer from Nadi to Toberua was surprisingly easy and stress free. We checked in at the Pacific Sun counter for our flight to Suva and they didn’t ‘blink and eye’ that we were 9 kilos over the (4 x 15 kgs) weight allowance. Hand luggage wasn’t weighed. Boarding was on time and effortless and in less than 25mins we were landing in Suva. After collecting our bags we were met immediately by a minibus transferring us and another couple to Toberua. A 15 minute drive and the boat was waiting for us and 30 minutes later we were there. We loved the fact that the road and sea legs allowed us to see the Fijian houses and villages. This gave us all a better feel and understanding for Fiji and our kids especially loved the smiles and waves we got along the way. Our return trip was equally effortless and efficient.
Arrival and the island: A traditional song from some of the staff and a greeting from the resident managers. There was a voluntary kava ceremony (quick and easy) and we felt especially welcome. The island is small, but we grew to love it. We met some great people and our kids made some great friends. Alternatively, if you don’t want to talk to or meet anyone there is lots of privacy.
Accommodation: We stayed in a deluxe oceanfront bure. It had a lot of positives and only a couple of negatives. The good things - very spacious, open plan with a king bed and two singles. Amazing position with a large balcony right on the waters edge with two cushioned sun lounges (I loved lying out there with a cocktail and a good book), a swinging double seat and chairs and table. It had an indoor/outdoor bathroom and lots of louvered windows to let in the air and sunlight. There was a fridge, safe and tea and coffee making facilities. Our bure was in a duplex arrangement. There was no one next door for our entire stay but even if there had been the layout ensures that the only shared wall is against the bathroom so I doubt we would have heard or seen anyone. Very quiet, we had great nights sleeps, farthest away from the restaurant and bar. The only minor issues were the bed, the inner springs were uncomfortable (I understand new beds are on the way); the ceiling fan was old, not working on one speed and squeaky (not enough to keep us up at night) and the door had a primitive wooden locking mechanism that made it hard to open and shut. There don’t seem to be any good or bad bures, all are on the waters edge, all have traditional Fijian décor and most are stand alone, possibly one side is a little windier than the other (we were on the calmer side). Overall we were happy with the accommodation.
Food: in a word - Excellent, fresh ingredients expertly prepared and presented. Two selections for each course (3 course lunch, 4 course dinner) but in most cases both sounded so amazing it was difficult to choose. Loved the preordering system for lunch and dinner, they come and find you and you make your selection. We looked forward to every meal. Kids dinner at 6pm was great. Extra special touches were freshly baked cookies for morning and afternoon tea. Also there was the option of dining in your bure if desired. In the restaurant, weather permitting tables were set up right on the waterfront with the sound of the waves rippling and the stars in the sky – magic.
Waterbased Activities: The free snorkeling trip everyday was terrific. Note there is no good snorkeling accessible directly off the island but lots of options a short boat trip away. The beach is also really small. Our first trip was special, we were joined by a pod of dolphins, the water was mirror smooth, the visibility good, probably the best snorkeling we have done in Fiji. Fishing was also great with the legendary Meika(?). I suspect no one knows the waters around Toberua better than him. We got up at 6am to go trawling and came back with three fish including a coral trout. This was all thanks to Meika’s expertise – he was a patient teacher. You can also fish off the island at any time. Tip: if fishing is important to you book your boat trips early as demand can by high. Scuba diving was OK (take your own wetsuit as many of those on offer had seen better days). The dive professional was skilled and knowledgeable. We had some bad weather, especially one day so visibility was average (10m on the worst day; 20m on the best day). I suspect we couldn’t get to some of the better sites because of the conditions. The pool looked brand new and was spotlessly clean. We had a brilliant trip to Picnic Island (full day) – picture perfect coral cay with snorkeling to die for and a white sandy beach.
Land based activities: the first two days were fantastic. We enjoyed a great game of golf (on the Toberua sand flats) with LaLa and on the second day when the weather was bad, a two hour twice around the island petanque game with some of the other guests that was a laugh a minute. After that sadly LaLa left the island and it appeared responsibility for both water and land activities was allocated to one person. Impossible to run a golf game and take guests snorkeling at the same time! As a result, land based activities seemed to dry up (no pun intended) which was really disappointing. At least the village visit still went ahead and we loved the opportunity to show our kids Fijian life and culture. I regretted not taking something for the school, just a small thing like a book or pencils (not necessary or expected but something I would do if I was going again).
Wedding: There was a vow renewal (basically a wedding) while we were there and from what we observed it was beautifully done.
Spa: we both had massages and they were good.
The staff: Kind, genuine, friendly people, providing great service, the nicest people we have ever come across in Fiji (and we have met some terrific people). We especially loved the more experienced members (older staff), so knowledgeable and so great with our kids. The ladies in housekeeping were also fantastic. Our room was serviced before we finished breakfast every day! Their smiles were infectious. Sometimes it’s the little things that make a difference, a special nail polish and beautiful flower art for our daughter from the babysitter; a kind and knowlegible nurse who checked on our son when he had a temperature. Much appreciated.
Toberua changed hands while we were there, we met both the old owner and the new owners and their support team. We understand the new owners plan to upgrade the facilities. Our hope is that they retain the people and culture that make this place unique and wonderful. If they do we look forward to going back one day.

  • Liked — The food and the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitford, Auckland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

For several years our family have chosen Toberua as our favourite destination for a relaxing break. We have visited the Island as returnee guests many times, always finding the service, food and accomodation of high and consistent quality. Toberua's biggest asset is its staff, many of whom have come to be considered friends and all of whom seem genuinely proud of their Island.

Our last visit to Toberua was in June 2007. Since this time there has been a change of Manager and I believe it will be followed shortly by a change in Ownership.

We have in the past had no hesitation in recommending Toberua as a destination for anyone wanting to relax and unwind. However, I would strongly advise guests booking directly through Toberua's flamboyant Reservations Clerk to insure their details of arrival are noted and fully understood (we have personally been left at Suva Airport on three occasions), all requirements and arrangements are in writting, details are written in the reservations diary, and even if not requested, a deposit is paid at the time of reserving your holiday.

As Toberua is slightly limited in actual beach frontage we have always made sure to prebook our preferred bure well ahead of time. Despite having spoken to the Reservations Clerk in person 11 months ago, despite having corresponded via email regularily regarding our annual booking, despite having email confirmation of our specified bure being available pending our definate dates of arrival, our 2008 booking has been disregarded. Obviously it was not entered in the reservations diary at anytime and our bure has subsequently been allocated to another guest.

Our family is now in the process of organising an alternative Island on the Nadi side of Fiji. I look forward to following up with a review and comparison.

Would we still recommend Toberua? Yes it is a wonderful destination which generally provides great service, food and atmosphere.

Unfortunately this incident and the total lack of effort to rectify a botched booking, the lack of concern, and total lack of any acceptance of responsibility has left a sour taste in the mouths of these returnee guests. We can only hope the new Owner takes measures to insure he retains valuable business rather than allowing this great little resort to be jeopardized by Incompetence and lack of concern.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

This was our 3rd trip back to Toberua Island. We find the accommodation very comfortable and clean. The meals are of a high standard and the staff are all very helpful with any needs you require. The fishing is excellent with a knowledge guide when it come to where the fish are and knowing the reef system. It was yellow fin tuna season this time so hubby managed to catch a couple of them also giant Trevalli.
On my 2nd trip I did two dives and enjoyed that so had to go back to do a dive course. I found the dive instructor excellent in getting your confidence and had a great way of teaching. He managed to get me through Open Water and the Advanced Course within a week. Hoping to go back in November and once again be in Polynesian paralises and do some more diving and hubby to do some more fishing.
We enjoyed participating in the Fijian culture and its the staff that make the Island somewhere you would want to return again and again.
There are other activities on the Island and found it hard to manage to try out everything. What we did try we enjoyed doing.
More time next time. Thanks to the Toberua staff who make you feel like one of their family.

  • Liked — Very homeley and did not have to lock up anything including doors
  • Disliked — nothing in particular
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toberua Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.