We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiji's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toberua Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Toberua Island Resort to your Saves list
Toberua Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fiji's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived at Toberua Island for the first leg of our honeymoon trip. It was a great little resort; amazing amenities, great food, lots of activities - unfortuneatly, it rained the entire time we were there (3 days) but we managed to make the most of it - played golf, got to know the staff well, and indulged in the spa services. Fran is great!!
The staff/customer service was by far the best we received on our entire trip. The rooms were great; the bathrooms large, and the amenities by far the best in Fiji.
Highly recomend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    22
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
125
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent a week at Toberua which was just amazing. The staff are all so warm and friendly and cannot do enough for you. The island is beautifully maintained and the sort of place you can do a lot or very little, whatever suits. Having only 15 bures means you get a personalised experience which you will remember for years to come.They bures are great~ traditional, clean and roomy. The food is the best we've ever had at a resort. The variety of delicious foods and presentation makes for very happy visitors. Daily snorkeling trips were fantastic, each day to a different spot, with staff guiding you to find the best fish, coral and sea turtles. Sandy and Max are very welcoming and ensure the experience is truly one of a lifetime.
We will be back ~ next time with the whole family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place for a break. Managers are lovely friendly people. The staff is excellent in every way. Nothing was a trouble to them very friendly. Island is suited for both couples and family with lots to do on the island and off the island.

Room Tip: All rooms were situated around the island edge so none were better than the other. The only differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Upon a suggestion from someone who has been going to Toberua since the early 80s my wife and young daughter stayed at Toberua Island for a week and a half.

We had such an amazing time. The island is gorgeous and the staff are incredible. We were there with another couple who have been to the island many times and know why.

They call Toberua "your island" and i understand why. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are just so good with kids. We utilised the babysitting service over dinner time and the girls are so good. It means you and the other guests can enjoy a nice quiet dinner and the baby can be looked after by a babysitter.

The village trip is lovely and a lot of the staff are from there so it nice to meet their families.

We're already planning our next trip.

Go to Toberua........... Especially if you're a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Where do I start.....Firstly to say thankyou to trip adviser. If it wasn't for you we would not have found paradise & had the most wonderful holiday.Our travel agent found a few places for us (very last minute holiday decision ) but we chose Toberua after reading all of the wonderful reviews.I have never met such beautiful staff who were absolutely genuine and really seemed to love working there ( who could blame them ). We were greated with songs at the jetty late at night and warmly greeted with a drink & hot meal. Max & Sandy the managers are really proud of their Island and it shows. They really mix with the guests to make sure everything is OK with your stay. My main favourite was the music. Ili , Masi , Asa & Eroni are masters at their craft and their music brought tears to my eyes at times....so beautiful. We travelled here for 8 nights with our 2 older teenage sons which was going to be interesting......no TV, no phones,no computers.....wonderful ! Plenty for all to do. My youngest loved the daily game of Volleyball with the staff...very entertaining to watch. The food (which was expensive) however was amazing......Plenty of choice of menu...delicious !. Every meal was announced with drums ( yes the Island is small ).We met people from all over the world...families, older couples & honey mooners....love learning more about them & their countries. Another huge highlight was celebrating Fiji day with the staff and guests. We had a Lovo (cooking underground ) which some of us were taken to see being set up and then uncovered once cooked. We had Kayak races with the staff and shared a very special dinner with Kava & lots of music.They sang their National athem for us in English...very moving. If you have never been to Fiji you are missing out. They are the most beautiful people and their culture is incredible. So family orientated. If a baby arrives on the Island they are in Heaven...they love babies !( & kids) .Pita told me he did not feel like he was waiting on us but he treated all of his guests like his family.I really felt this was true. I just wanted to gather them all up ,take them home with me and spoil them like they did us. We have been to Fiji 2 times prior when the kids were smaller....if you can don't stay on the mainland you must get out to one of the smaller Islands ...it may cost a little more but I guarantee you, you won't regret it if you choose Toberua. True PARADISE ! REAL relaxation ! we will definitely be back. Thank you Toberua for giving us many happy family memories to cherish.

Room Tip: We had Bures on the windier side of the Island.....it didn't matter .You can always get out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The main advantage of Toberua is that it is so small - only 15 bures. This means that all the staff know your name within hours of arrival (including the gardeners). We felt really welcome from the moment we set foot on the island, and that feeling lasted the whole time - it was a real wrench when our time on the island was up. The bures are very spacious and done in a fairly traditional style with great logs for the support timbers and a high steeply pitched ceiling. One very useful feature is the "scullery" yard which connects the beachside verandah to the bathroom - ideal for washing the sand of the feet and leaving all the swimming/snorkelling/diving gear to rinse and dry. The food was excellent, and although the FJ$150 per day seemed a bit dear, in reality it was not. Your $150 includes buffet breakfast, morning tea, three course lunch, afternoon tea and a four course dinner, with lunch and dinner having a choice of three main courses - fish, meat or vegetarian. The staff will come round the island to find you to take your order in advance of the meal, which might seem a bit odd to some people, but does have the advantage of meaning there is a lot less food wastage in the kitchen. The Saturday evening barbecue was perfectly catered - everyone had plenty to eat, and the only meat left at the end of the evening was one sausage and a small piece of steak.
What to do on the island? Despite the small size of the island there are plenty of things to keep you occupied both on and off the water - daily snorkelling trips to amazing nearby reefs, diving, sport fishing, hand-line fishing, sailing, kayaking, paddle-boarding, reef golf, path putting, tabletennis, pool, croquet, beach volleyball, and some excellent half day and day trips - visiting local villages, mangrove kayaking, visiting the local bird sanctuary island, picnic Island trip, Levuka day trip, shopping trips to Suva..... Except for the daily snorkelling trips any activity involving a power boat incurs a charge, but these are not excessive, and the non-powered water activities are all free - my wife and elder son spent most of our week sailing and paddle-boarding.
The whole friendly attitude of the island begins with the managers, Max and Sandy who are always to be seen around the island, asking everyone how they are, what they've enjoyed, suggesting stuff to do, chatting with guests at the bar, and generally making sure that every single guest is as happy as they could be.
The resort can have no better recommendation than in the number of returning guests they have - one American couple were on their 10th visit, and an Australian couple had been coming since 1983! And on the day we left there was a palpable excitement among the staff that arriving as we were leaving was a woman with her young baby who had first visited when she was a baby (and there were still staff who remember looking after her then).
We're definitely going to be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I write this review a bit hesitantly. I love sharing great experiences, and without trip advisor we wouldn't have found toberua, but you really don't want everyone knowing how amazing this place is. My family with two teenage kids spent five nights on the island recently - i wish it was more. It's hard to list all the highlights but lets start with the absolute number one - the staff. It's a pretty special place as it is, but compared to other parts of Fiji, they really do set it apart. Snorkelling and fishing with Charles, epelli and asao, having a few quite drinks at the bar with ratu, peta and Zach. Meree turning our messy room into a haven again everyday or Frances with her fantastic massages and facials at the islands spa. And the band, who can forget the band.
As for the island itself its stunning. Small enough to get around, big enough to have your own space whenever you wanted it. We were located on the windy side of the island but it didn't matter, we loved the breeze. The snorkelling was fantastic. The village trip a must and yes, picnic island is unforgettable. Just don't forget the sun cream... The food was excellent and I'm very sad to have to wear shoes again. Very sad.
Teenage kids can be hard work sometimes, but I haven't seen my kids so relaxed and happy for years. We all agreed its the best break we have had, and we will become regular visitors to toberua as so many of the people we met on the island were. Thank you sandy and max for allowing us to spend some time on your wonderful island. See you next year.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toberua Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toberua Island Resort

Address: Toberua Island Tailevu | PO Box 3332 Nausori, Toberua Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Toberua Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Toberua Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toberua Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Toberua Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toberua Island Hotel Toberua Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toberua Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.