We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started with smiles, continued with laughter and finished with tears..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji

Save Saved
You added Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Pa Matei, Qamea Island, Fiji   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Nights FREE!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Qamea Island
Melbourne Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Started with smiles, continued with laughter and finished with tears..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our Fijian family has been found. We have never been saddened to leave a place like this EVER.

If you are about to finalise your Fijian vacation & are deliberating on QAMEA vs any other option – Do yourself a favour & lock this one in.. You will not be sorry you chose this resort I promise you.

Two weeks ago I was booked into QAMEA partially with hotels.com.au and also with Ravi at the resort. And just before leaving I checked the feedback. The feedback was good – very good, sa a discerning traveller I was looking forward to seeing what the fuss was about. … and didn’t believe all the praise!

Ravi gave us advice on getting there suggesting island hoppers (2 options – or Pacific Sun) After using both, Island Hoppers is the better option.. marginally more but oh so worth it.. Island hoppers is much more scenic - they accommodated for our international flight delay and our pilot (a super chirpy NZ lady) was lovely.

STAFF – The Buboonties!!
Wilma, Cia, Mariah, Louisa, Black Rose, Fabi-once’, John, Apollo, Damian, Black Rose.
My, how we enjoyed laughing with you all – having fun, playing volleyball & hanging out & drinking Kava ….
The Kava Boys – Charlie (Black Elvis), George Brown, Mossi & Jim
Such fun times & we felt like we had the pleasure of meeting some truly genuine & lovely people

Although let down by Team Australia with Flight delays out of Melbourne & also out of Nadi to Australia (Qantas & Virgin) neither airline notified us of the delay.

We’ve been to many places all over the world; from Asia, the US, the Caribbean & beyond, but this place will have you saddened to leave due to so many things that are perfect – the staff are the first, followed by magnificent food. You don’t expect the calibre of the food offering to be so good but t is, the resort itself is beautiful, the natural beauty of the island is amazing – all you need to do to be inspired is to grab a snorkel and look under the water to notice a world of stunning corals, fish & the bluest water.

To the kitchen crew the food was very good and healthy. You can eat a massive breakfast and then have a lighter lunch followed by a good size three-course dinner. The ‘Black Rose’ and the gang keep up the effort with the food. Highlights. The buffet Indian food night (which was A-mazing), Pancakes, Muesli, Crab Ravioli, Soups, all the vegetables sides cooked well and very fresh.

Tipping – Important relief on the tipping front. With this resort you need no cash and no tips. So you can avoid the stress of thinking what to tip and changing money at the airport etc. So you wont need any Fiji money if you have your transfers from the airport as you will not deal with an outside source outside of the hotel once you arrive at Taveuni. At the end of your stay you have the option of leaving a tip on checkout (aka Staff Christmas Bonus). This is evenly disbuted to all the staff twice a year to help with children school fees etc. I think this a great incentive for a resort and takes some stress away. I had a quick look at the ledger book that tallies tips and most people tip around $200usd with some tipping much more... again, this is voluntary.

Activities – We didn’t take part in any really apart from the snorkel trips (that’s just how we are – sun, reading, cocktails & relaxing being more our caper) which were enough and the viewing was awesome even without scuba. We were going to doing our scuba course but opted against it as one of us got a slight ear infection. We did however book a private boat to go around the island and redbulll island in half a day this cost about 400fjd which we thought was great value a much worth doing to check out some snorkel spots, surf breaks etc.

Spa & Message - See Mita, strong hands & personality. The message is a good as they come.

Do yourself and favour and book here, avoid the kids and the run of the mill resorts in other parts of Fiji. We’ve never wanted to return to any specific hotel before – again, we’re not that type of traveller but we cant wait to get back there
To the staff – VINAKA from the bottom of our hearts, we miss you all & will see you again.
To Wylma – We miss you & hope to see you at QAMEA over New Years if we can get away. You were the ABSOLUTE highlight of our trip ... Love those Crazy Australians!!

Room Tip: all rooms seemed good, we stayed next to the volleyball court and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    24
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
253
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spent 5 fabulous nights as Qamea Resort for our honeymoon and it definitely was not long enough. Upon arrival, the staff is singing and playing music to greet you on the beach. Each couple is greeted by one staff member who takes them to their Bure, show them around, and tell them all about the resort amenities – talk about personal service.

The resort offers daily excursions and activities. Each night you are left a list in your room of the next days activities so you always know what is happening. We would definitely recommend the waterfall excursion – a nice hike, great views and a wonderful swim at the end. Unfortunately we missed the pearl farm tour due to bad weather, as that had been recommended to us. The dive shop offers 3 dives per day at 9, 11 and 3 pm. All of the dive staff are super helpful and friendly. We especially liked the dive called ‘swirling coconuts’.
The food is fantastic with lots of variety. Most nights you choose between a fresh fish, pork or chicken and a vegetarian option. We even had lobster one night. My wife has several food allergies and they were able to change meals to accommodate her needs whenever necessary. The only issue we encountered was that on a few occasions the service in the restaurant was very slow.
Each night there is some entertainment or music during dinner. The resort offers the option of having a private meal on the beach or delivered to your room – great romantic options!
Our Bure was amazing and we could not have been happier. It was beautifully decorated, well maintained and contained everything you could need for a wonderful holiday. The private pool and hot tub were an much needed luxury after the wedding craziness. The outdoor shower is convenient after a dive to clean up before you go into your Bure. We especially liked their ‘red coconut’ system for those times you did not want not to be disturbed.
We had a couples massage in the jungle spa and it was heaven! We only wish we had booked a longer service. They even give you a foot massage while you fill out the required paperwork.
Upon departure the staff are again on the beach singing and playing music to bid you farewell. We cannot express how fantastic and friendly all the staff were during our stay. They definitely go above and beyond to make your stay special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Qamea is everything you could want in a romantic couples holiday. Really wonderful fresh tasty food. Bures are spacious, beautifully appominted and private. The range of activities is extensive. Many more than most Fiji island resorts as the island has wonderful jungles to explore, waterfalls to swim in as well as the best resort snorkelling we've come across in 20 pacific island holidays. The interaction with the local village is lovely. Staff are respectful and very engaging. A week at Qamea should be on everyones bucket list.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

It was a sad day when our week was up at Qamea. We loved every day there. The staff really added to our already wonderful experience because they all were SO Nice! Genuinely nicest people in the world, in our opinion. Even those who didn't work at the resort were always cordial. They really were a big factor on why we had such a great time. But moving onto the resort...

The Resort:
- Remote, some may love or hate, we loved. Once we hit the main island we had another puddle jumper flight then a boat ride to the resort.
- Beautiful, Very well kept
- They obviously treated the area for insects because we did not get totally destroyed by bugs (and we went during the rainy season, March)
- Maybe we were lucky, but the rain never ruined our time, while it did shower 2 or 3 times while we were there it was never very long and the sun quickly dried things up
- 30 seconds from the beach
- The spa was tucked away and amazing. Wife and I had two of the best massages ever!

Food:
- We never had a bad meal, there were multiple choices for lunch and dinner and breakfast you could always mix it up
- The fruit is always fresh and tastes much better than what we are used to from the grocery store
- Alcohol was not expensive and we didn't rack up a huge bill even being young and consuming more alcohol than the rest of the guests (I'd still encourage getting a couple bottles from Duty Free for your room)
- Often they had entertainment from the "band boys" during dinner time and they sounded great

Rooms:
- Quaint, not over the top, all you really need
- Bed: Great, sleep was a little warm for me but not wife
- Outside shower was awesome! For being so remote I thought the water quality was going to be degraded or smelly but it was not bad.
- No TV or Internet, also Awesome! I am a computer guy in the real world and it was super liberating to be unconnected for a week. If you NEED internet, they have it by the dining area.

Activities:
- We did almost everything, hikes, church, waterfalls, snorkeling, paddle boarding and so on. So we stayed busy. Our guides were awesome (Percy & Eddie), entertaining, and always helpful. I told Percy I wanted to cut open my own coconut and he made it happen. That's how cool they were.
- Wanted to scuba dive and could tell that it was an awesome place to go but did not want to take so much time out of two days to get certified and then go dive since wife was not interested.
- We might have got a little restless if we hadn't done activities outside of the resort so I highly suggest, if you are healthy enough, doing them. I think packages are the way to go instead of buying adventures separately.
- Volleyball with the staff was highly entertaining

Thank you Qamea for giving us the best honeymoon experience we could have asked for! Thank you Edgar, Mariah, Stevi, Percy, Eddie, William, Baba, John, Suca, Band Boys and everyone else that made our trip amazing. There was nothing bad about the trip, only that we had to return to the real world. We will be back Fiji!

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Wonderful honeymoon location... exquisite food, staff, service, spa, activities and rooms.

Room Tip: All of the Bure's are outstanding, all beach front with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you're looking for an intimate, upscale tropical resort with outstanding cuisine, Qamea definitely fits the bill. We recently stayed in the Royal Beach Front villa which is spacious, well appointed, with an impressive deck and a very comfortable day bed where we probably spent way too much time. Who could blame us as the view out across the snorkel friendly reef in front of us, was so tropical and the sound of the waves so therapeutic. We loved our giant bure (villa) with the one exception of the need for more counter/storage space in the bathroom. Having our own plunge pool was a nice amenity for taking a refreshingly private dip.

Our villa was located a bit of a distance from the restaurant & bar, but room service was a quick call away. We had dinner delivered in one night and cocktails each night and while we weren't on our honeymoon, it felt like it. We were however, close to the Jungle Spa which made stumbling back to our home away from home easy after our relaxing spa treatments. The spa is aptly named as the setting is stunning with the sounds of nature adding to the relaxatIon.

But then we hear the drumming (a rhythmic Fijian sound) announcing that lunch or dinner is now being served and we head for the open-aired, thatched roof restaurant for a delicious meal and outstanding staff service. We have stayed in numerous resorts throughout Fiji, and we felt that the cuisine at Qamea was the most consistently excellent. Everything we ordered was delectable. We liked ordering our lunch at breakfast and our dinner at lunch making our extended dinner time into a social event sharing our day with other guests. Yes, most of the guests were honeymooners, but we loved our interactions with them and found striking up conversations was easy and natural. Qamea's staff under the direction of Edgar and Laurena met and exceeded our expectations for Fijian friendliness and attentiveness. We could probably mention the names of all the staff (if we could remember all the names), but Maraia, William and Eddie really stood out for warmth and willingness to take care of all our needs in the restaurant and bar.

We also enjoyed having Ed lead us on a snorkel exploration of the reef in front of the resort. It's a great way to start the day off. We regretted not taking the excursion to the waterfalls at Bouma National Park on Taveuni as it was so close and the boat ride would have been more fun than the ground transports if we had done it from a Taveuni resort. Oh well, there's always next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Wow!!! I cannot even begin to tell you how happy my husband and I are that we chose Qamea Resort for our destination wedding and honeymoon. First of all, a HUGE thank you to Renee with Unforgettable Honeymoons, who booked everything for us and kept us informed and updated throughout the entire process.
From the moment we arrived in Qamea we felt welcomed by everyone. One of the managers Edgar met us on the beach as our boat pulled in and every single staff member knew our names before we were introduced! We stayed in the Honeymoon Bure Civa, which was absolutely gorgeous and at the end of the resort, which gave us the feeling of having our own little private area and beach. The rock wall outdoor shower was fantastic and despite some of the previous reviews I had read about it being uncomfortable and too hot to shower outside, I thought it was absolutely refreshing. We also had the added bonuses of our own jacuzzi and a large daybed on our front patio, which was fantastic for relaxing on and watching the sunset. The view from our bure and all over the island was absolutely breath taking and I saw some of the most beautiful sunsets there as well as more stars than I had ever seen.
The food was amazing, especially the breakfast!! Fresh papaya and pineapple every morning, along with hot breakfast choices. They had the best French Toast I have ever had and the banana and chocolate chip pancakes were soooo delicious! The Bula welcome cocktails and mai tais were so yummy and we found out when we got there that there was an added bonus of free wine and beer between 12-10 p.m.
One of the beauties of Qamea is that you can do as little or as much as you want. My husband and I spent almost two full days napping and relaxing in the hammock on our front patio, as well as taking walks on the beach. The pool is also nice for relaxing by and we were lucky enough to spot the orange dove once there that is native to Qamea! However, there is also some kind of activity going on every day, and several of them are complimentary. Qamea is surrounded by a massive coral reef and has fantastic snorkeling opportunities. We went on one of the complimentary snorkeling activities and our guide Eric was a blast. He pointed out several different kinds of fish and also spotted a sea snake for us! Qamea also does several paid snorkeling excursions, which are definitely worth it. We snorkeled at Cabbage Patch reef, Magical Mystery, Qamea Point and the channel between Qamea and "Red Bull" Island, where we saw a reef shark! They also have kayaking, paddle boarding, hobie cat sailing, basket weaving, sulu tying and many more free activities. We also did some of the paid excursions including the Bouma Waterfalls (which I highly recommend!!!), the Circle Qamea and the Honeymoon beach picnic.
Ahhhhhhhh the jungle spa!! We had a complimentary honeymooners massage that was just heaven and as a wedding present from our friends, we also booked the Night of Decadence. AMAZING!!!!! We had the whole spa to ourselves, Fijian warrior escorts to and from the spa, fruit and champagne, a body sugar scrub, an outdoor candle lit shower, a full body massage, dinner on our bure porch and a staff member singing to us. Perfection!! And man, the ladies at the spa are strong!! My husband is a fan of the deep tissue massage with the hardest pressure possible and could not believe how strong they could massage!
The resort is fabulous for so many reasons, but the number one thing that struck us about our stay here was the staff. I have never met friendlier people in my life and have never felt so welcome anywhere I have stayed on vacation previously. We loved walking through the resort, no matter where we were going, and a staff member who just happened to be passing by would wave and cheerfully call out, "Bula!" We had probably one of the most relaxing, stress-free wedding days ever, because the Qamea staff took care of Everything. We came back to our bure from breakfast to find the staff had decorated our front porch poles with coconut leaves and hibiscus flowers! Lucia was absolutely fabulous and not only went through every detail of our big day with us, but made sure everything was taken care of and everyone was where they were supposed to be. She made sure my husband had an empty bure to change into his wedding attire and laced up the corset on my wedding dress. I was so sad that I could not afford a professional photographer to capture my wedding day, but not to worry! William, one of the wonderful bartenders, borrowed my camera and took at least 100 pictures of everything from me getting ready to shots of my husband and I on the beach after the wedding. The pictures came out absolutely amazing and I am so grateful that he helped us out with that. Vinaka William!!
And Baba!!! He also worked in the dining bure and has such a beautiful singing voice. I had previously asked if someone could sing Somewhere over the Rainbow by Israel Kamakawiwoʻole when I made my entrance at the wedding. Baba learned the lyrics and played it for us on a ukelele. It made this moment of my wedding perfect and definitely made me cry! And at dinner that night, Baba brought over his guitar and sang Wonderful Tonight for my husband and I.....and yes I cried again! Vinaka Baba, you did wonderful!!
And a HUGE thank you to Faby, who is the nanny for the manager's children. He came over and did my hair for me the morning of my wedding and it looked absolutely beautiful. Vinaka!!
Shuga and Jon both worked in the dining bure and were also our Fijian warriors for the Night of Decadence. When we returned to our bure from the spa, it was pouring rain, and even though we insisted they did not have to walk us back and get soaked, both of the guys immediately put on their warrior attire and insisted on escorting us back. Both of them had great senses of humor and fantastic hospitality! Shuga always checked up on us to see how we were doing and played guitar and sang for us for our bure dinner.
Every day we saw them, we were greeted by huge smiles and "Bula Bula!" from Mariah and Luisa in the dining bure. Percy took us on the Bouma waterfalls tour and not only was he was fantastic guide with a terrific sense of humor, he also took great pictures of my husband and I swimming near the waterfall.
The managers, Edgar and Laurena, were so friendly and would sit and chat with the guests during happy hour. They checked on my husband and I several times to see if we were having a great time and ask if we needed anything. We were interested in a particular island tour which looked like it was unfortunately only available during the summer season. Edgar checked on this for us and apologized that it wasn't available during this month. We then asked about the Circle Qamea tour and Edgar made sure everything was set up for us on this, including snacks and drinks for the boat ride. Vinaka!
I know I am probably forgetting people, but Everyone who worked in the resort was absolutely wonderful! From the moment we arrived until we departed a week later with the staff singing and playing guitar for us on the beach as we left (yes, I was crying again), we had the time of our lives at Qamea. Vinaka to everyone there and we miss you! We are already trying to plan on when we can come back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QameaOwnerQameaIsl, Owner at Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Bula Vinaka, and thank you for writing such a detailed and informative review of your recent stay at Qamea for your wedding and honeymoon. Unfortunately I did not have the pleasure to meet you, as I arrived back on the resort the day you checked out, but maybe on your anniversary trip to Qamea :) It is very inspiring not only to me, but more to our staff and management that worked so hard to make your wedding and honeymoon dreams come true on our beautiful little slice of Fijian paradise. As with all reviews, we have printed your comments for all our staff to read, and I am sure it will bring a lot of big Fijian smiles. Again, thank you for choosing Qamea Resort & Spa. Moce, Ron Eckstrom, Co-Owner, Qamea Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji

Address: Pa Matei, Qamea Island, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and boutique Fijian resort catering to a maximum of 34 adults in 17 luxurious all beachfront and air conditioned bures and royal beach houses. Set on 100 private acres of lush gardens, jagged volcanic mountains, and a long white sand beach, it is perfect for honeymoons, weddings, spa retreats and incredible world class diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji Hotel Qamea Island
Hotel Qamea Island
Qamea Island Hotel Fiji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qamea Resort And Spa Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.