We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maqai Beach

Save Saved
You added Maqai Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maqai Beach
Wainimaqai, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Qamea Island B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect resort with great staff and incredible homemade food !
To recommend at 600 % !
Great surfing place as well ...
This place is the best I have been in FIDJI.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bula !! Vinaka (thankyou) for the wonderful review. We will most humbly accept your accolade of being perfect, and the best resort you have been to in Fiji. Au maru vakalevu - (I'm very, very happy) to hear that you enjoyed how the staff looked after you, and they will be so pleased to read this review. We are also very pleased that you said Vinaka na kana (Thankyou for the food), which as you noted is homemade, and also organic from our garden and the local village. Vanuinui vinaka (Good luck) to France in the Football world cup (we hope Fiji will make it next time to the cup), and Vanuinui vinaka e nomu volau (Bon Voyage - have a safe trip for the rest of your journey).
Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much) for choosing Maqai. Ni sa moce (Goodbye).
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
30
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kanwal, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think i have found heaven on earth.Maqai eco resort was more than i could have imagined for a holiday.i am a very keen hiker and snorkeler and i can honestly say that maqai beach was the best place i have ever been in my life by far.the snorkeling was the best i have ever seen and was right in front of my bure haha..it was certainly the most chilled and the most naturally beautiful place i have ever seen.my first stay in fiji was somewhat disappointing as i stayed in a very average backpackers in nadi and then on to another place on taveuni which was also very ordinary and not on the beach.but once i stepped on to maqai beach i felt everything change.it is like a kind of magic.the staff were the most genuine and friendly i have ever met and made me feel like i was one of the family.tony,tex,elanoa,rose,lucy,john and the other staff i met were all absolutely amazing and each and everyone of them could sing like angels.kava time was like sitting down with old friends,singing,laughing,playing games etc etc...please dont change maqai...please dont change....i recommend that everyone should experience the REAL fiji at maqai eco resort at some stage in there life. i am high on maqai haha

Room Tip: All rooms are right on the oceans edge.my room was just perfect and even tho i gave 5 stars for a sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Bula John!! Au maru (I'm happy) that your Maqai experience was overwhelming for you, and that you found heaven on earth. Vinaka na review (Thankyou for the review). The staff think you should come and stay again - either soon or when you can, as we enjoyed having you. The kind words you have written of angels singing and people laughing is what the northern Fiji Island of Qamea is all about, and we are so glad that you found Maqai a warm and friendly place to relax and have fun. Yalo vinaka (Please) be assured Maqai will not be changing any time soon, these are the islands where time has somewhat stood still, and the simple good things about life and people can be found.
Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much) for choosing Maqai.
Moce (Goodbye).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a great place, very simple yet has all you need, wonderful people looking after you, making you feel as though your one of their own, and the food is great, also a world class right hander straight out the front, take a step back and enjoy what it's all about, loved it

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bula!! Vinaka (thankyou) for the great (levu) review. We are glad you enjoyed stepping back. Qamea Island and Maqai Resort is certainly the place to do this and relax, recharge and reconnect with yourself, nature and experience the warmth of the people and cultural traditions of this part of Fiji. This northern area of Fiji has maintained its links to the past, with village life and the community aspect a vital component of sustainable living in this tropical paradise. Maqai Resort is an integral part of this community.
Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much) for choosing Maqai. Ni sa moce (Goodbye).
PS. A very good read for people on the history of Fiji and in particular the role that Taveuni and the northern Islands played in this is the book by Daryl Tarte called 'Fiji'. Interestingly Taveuni was the first Island that Abel Tasman sighted in 1643 when exploring this part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our objective when booking Maqai Resort was somewhere remote and very close to the beach so we could chill down.

Well remote it certainly is. A 1hr 15 min flight from Nadi where row 7 gets you the back of the plane, followed by a 30 min taxi ride hugging the edge of the coast over very bouncy terrain, and finally a 30 minute boat ride in an open skiff. Well there is an extra step if it's low tide and that's a 20 minute wade along the rocks until you come across the resort.

Please don't let the journey there put you off. Maqai is paradise, all be it a cost effective one. The staff are amazing, from Big Tony, Johnny the barman, Tex with her incredible laugh..the kitchen ladies who I apologise to for forgetting their names but who dished out wonderful food. We were lucky to have the co owners Angie and Shaw there during our visit. The whole crew have created a wonderful vibe.

We wanted close to the beach, well at high tide the distance between your bed and the sea is roughly 5m. Close enough! This was in one of the beachfront bure's. They are basic, cold shower but who needs a hot showers in the tropics, a loo that opens to the garden (you can use the bure back door as a toilet door if you require more privacy), comfy double beds with mosquito nets, a hammock to chill in and a deck looking out across the beach to the reef.

And chill down we certainly did. Maqai is just perfect for doing nothing. There are kayaks to borrow, snorkelling off the beach or a snorkelling trip to Black Rock Beach, jungle walk at the back of the accommodation, village visit, reefs to be surfed and the ping pong table. We just chilled for most of the 7 nights we were there. Dragging ourselves for a quick snorkel every now and again.

Maqui met all of our objectives and more besides. We had great conversations over dinner with the other guests. All meals are served in a communal area. With the exception of breakfast no one meal was the same during the 7 nights and the food was fabulous. Joining in the Kava ceremony is a must, and if you consume enough they will name the main Kava bowl after you. The bar has been set very high we understand.

Some tips for your journey and stay, grab some ear plugs for the plane ride from Nadi, certainly helps block out the noise from the engines, bring a bin liner or something similar to pop your bag in for the boat ride there and back just in case it's a little bouncy or raining. The taxi stops at a little store just after the airport, to stock up on some essentials. If you have your own snorkel, mask and flippers bring them. The resort does have a selection but if it's busy you may luck out on your size. Bring a small torch, the ones you can wear are really useful. Have a pair if reef shoes handy in case it's low tide when you arrive and they really useful. And be warned if Tony invites you to play ping pong don't let his size fool you, he's a demon with a table tennis bat. Most of all do visit Maqai, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: See Review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bula Vinaka for the wonderful review!! Having expectations met and exceeded is our goal at our little gem - Maqai Island Resort, and as you say at a cost effective price for people. We note that you have traveled extensively to what could be considered a must see list of places in the world, and so we most humbly appreciate the 5 star review. You have obviously traveled to some amazing places, and so to have the recommendation "that people must visit Maqai as you won't regret it" is something the staff will really appreciate. Vinaka (thankyou) We value this feedback very highly, and your description of the entire journey is classic (as that is what it is when coming to Maqai - a total experience) - an Island Paradise off the beaten track.
Vinaka vaka levu Mia (Thankyou very much).
Ni sa moce (Goodbye).
PS. Big Tony is ready and waiting for all challengers to the Maqai table tennis champion title.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you want a relaxed chilled break on reasonably isolated Pacific Island and go to sleep with sound of the ocean lapping literally four metres from the end of your bed you gotta go here.
It's basic accommodation. The food is local. Raw fish salad to die for. As a vegetarian normally I succumbed to the fish but would have liked greater portions of the wonderful veges and more papaya.
The staff and hosts the are really nice people. Welcoming and chilled.
Surfing was reasonable and snorkeling and spearfishing good.
Nice jungle track to walk or run of your more hardcore.
I left a board there so will be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Bula!! Vinaka (thankyou) for the fantastic review. We are so glad you loved the kokonda (raw fish salad) which is a real treat in Fiji. The jungle trail that goes to the lookout on the hills behind Maqai certainly is a great walk, or as you say good for trail running. We think you hold the Maqai ironman title to date for fitness training, and it is pleasing for the Maqai team that the healthy food on offer combines well with this training.
People may be interested to know we are holding a week long 'Maqai style' boot camp later in the year, with a full programme of fitness training and quality food. This is being hosted by an ex Australian heavy weight boxing champion. It will be a great week of fun and hard training. Contact info@maqai.com if you are interested in attending.
Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much).
Ni sa moce (Goodbye) until we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Just returned from Maqai Beach Eco Resort. The moment you are welcomed onto the island Fijian style you feel like you have stepped into another world. Surrounded by lush rainforest this location has to be seen to be believed. The snorkelling is better than the Great Barrier Reef, the water crystal clear with abundant sea life. The people are amazing with authentic Fijian cuisine morning, noon and night and in abundance. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and makes you feel you are actually staying in the jungle. Yes there is only cold showers but who wants hot showers in the tropics it just adds to the experience. The surf is amazing, I was lucky enough to have 14 days of incredible waves, the best I have ever experienced. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Go there, put it on your bucket list. All this was made even better with the friendly staff who finished off every night with a sing along lubricated with Kava. What an experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Owner at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Bula Steve!! We are so happy you are stoked with the surf and experience you had at Maqai. We really appreciate the review, and the staff will have a big smile reading that you loved the "Majic of Maqai". Many have had the best surf and snorkeling of their lives at Maqai, including myself. We do have it on our bucket list to increase our solar capacity in the future to then be able to have hot showers and are also looking at some other new technology options, but as you say cold water in a tropical climate tends to be the best choice anyway.
Vinaka vaka levu (Thankyou very much).
Ni sa moce (Goodbye)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostie340
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Bula! We stayed for six nights at Maqai recently. I have been to Fiji several times, but my boyfriend's first visit. We decided to stay here purely so my boyfriend could surf.
According to my boyfriend the surf was good, he got the end of a big swell and surfed everyday ( sometimes three times a day except two days) with a couple of other guys who we're staying on the island. He was over the moon about the break right out the front and it not being over crowded.
The staff are lovely and very friendly. A special Bula to Tex, Lucy and Tina.
It was my boyfriend's birthday while we were there and the staff organised a Lovo and Lucy make a cake!
We both received a beautiful massage from Tina on the deck of our Bure.
Most of the guests were there to surf on the island, however if you wanted to do something else, you can snorkel out the front which was beautiful. We also went to the waterfall across on Taveuni, which was great!
Everything is Fiji time here, so nothing happens in a hurry which suited us as we wanted to relax. However, if we did need something such as fresh sheets or towels all we had to do was ask and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the food prepared by Lucy, yum! The communal dining area was good, all the guests ate together and it was nice getting to know people, something you wouldn't get a large resort.
The only things that we felt could be improved on was the Bures. The Bures are basic, which was fine with us however it would be great if they all had fans and screens on the doors so you can have the open at night, a little bit of TLC.
The island is solar power and at times at night the power will turn off. Whilst we were there it happened twice, once when one of the share holders was on the island and after he had left. The first time, the generator was immediately turned on so we had power until we finished our drinks and went to bed. The other time the generator was not turned on so we all sat there in the dark while someone got some candles. It made it difficult when we got back to the room and it was a bit uncomfortable to sleep as we couldn't have the fan on for a couple of hours. It didn't ruin our stay but we were a bit confused as to why the generator wasn't turned on or working.
After we left Maqai we stayed at a large resort with my family and we often said how we missed the island and the staff.
We would definitely return to Maqai, intact my boyfriend is already planning another surfing trip for later in the year.

Vinaka

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maqai_Director, Manager at Maqai Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Bula Vinaka for the wonderful review and Vinaka (thankyou) for taking the time to write it. That is fantastic that your boyfriend was able to share his birthday at Maqai, and a lovo is always a special treat in Fiji. We appreciate the comments on how we can improve, and you will be pleased to know that we have more fans that are designed especially to run off the solar power being installed next week. They are being brought up from NZ as they can't be sourced in Fiji, as we do usually try to buy local and support the Fijian economy. When you were staying we had an issue with our solar system that has never happened previously with a fault code being displayed, as the latest technology Outback system we have installed from USA is very reliable. I can assure you on that night the generator was not able to feed power through the system (and not as the shareholder was not there), as we needed to get hold of the service team in NZ to reset the error code. This is the first time this has happened in the 2 years we have had the new system installed, and it shouldn't happen again. We are so very sorry that you were hot for a few hours. It sounds like we will be seeing you again if you boyfriend is planning the next trip and we look forward to hosting you both again.
Vinaka vaka levu Mia (Thankyou very much).
Ni sa moce (Goodbye)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maqai Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maqai Beach

Address: Wainimaqai, Qamea Island 00679, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Qamea Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Qamea Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Maqai Beach we've created a fun, eco-friendly destination for alternative, budget travelers and surfers. Our beautiful beachfront property on Qamea Island is nestled between a full lush jungle and a lovely white sandy beach. The staff are the happiest people on the planet and give the place a radiant, magical atmosphere. It's a new fresh style of small resort that is very Fijian, offers traditional outer island experiences and serves delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Maqai Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maqai Beach Hotel Qamea Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maqai Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.