We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokoriki Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tokoriki Island Resort to your Saves list
Tokoriki Island Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE HELICOPTER TRANSFERS
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you want a beach holiday on a remote island where you can simply sit back and relax during the day and enjoy scrumptious dishes at the restaurant along with different activities at night then this is the place for you.

Service - the Fijian staff are incredibly friendly and always willing to make you feel welcome and assist in any way they can. The guitar players/singers at night are funny and sweet and provide great entertainment whilst you enjoy your beautiful meal.
Value - this place is expensive but how much do you expect to pay for slice of paradise. It is well worth it. Whilst it is pricy it can still be in range for those who want to spend that extra amount to spoil themselves.
Sleep Quality - no noise to be heard, cool throughout the night and not bothered by mosquitos. Bed and pillows were comfortable for us.
Cleanliness - could not be faulted. The place was impeccable when we arrived and even went the extra tough and had petals on our bed in a heart shape when we arrived (it's the little things that can make a big difference!)
Location - on a remote island. Do not be silly and book a holiday here if you want to get out and about and shop. This is purely a place that should be enjoyed through relaxing and minimal activities such as picnics to local deserted islands, snorkelling, boating, fishing.. nothing too extravagant. You could always stay here a few nights and on main island if you want a mixture of both.
Rooms - The rooms were amazing. We stayed in the sunset pool villa. The plunge pool looks out onto the ocean and had too die for sunsets. A lovely outdoor stone shower (I never even used the one indoor) so you can enjoy the sunset as you rinse off for dinner. Note that there is no TV or DVD player which might frustrate some people but we didn't mind. Made sure we spent time together as a couple and didn't just waste time doing what we could do at home.
We didn't experience the fitness centre or room service. We did get our bags delivered and picked up though.

All in all I am not one to stay at the same place twice as I like to experience new places each time but I would find it VERY hard not to rebook and stay here again. The location and rooms are just beautiful with beautiful service and food to match.

Room Tip: Sunset pool villa -worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    82
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
33
678
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

What an amazing place - having followed Cyclone Evan and thinking what we would be left with on the island we were amazed at how much had been cleared in the few days prior to our arrival.

The resort is first class and the staff are amazing, always smiling and cannot do enough to help you. Within minutes they remember your names.

Sunsets were fantastic and no better way than sitting with a drink watching the sunset

Helicopter is the way to arrive
Go for the meal plan option, there is so much choice and the food was great.
Great selection of wine and beers (They make a great coffee too)
The house band, especially Paulo is like a walking jukebox. He was a bit stumped when we asked for Metallica but apart from that he and the other guys were great

We also went to the island made famous by the Tom Hanks film Cast Away, amazing place to snorkel

And above all no screaming kids!!

Special mention goes to Duchy, Joe, Kris and Joshua for the smiles and great service

We'll definitely be back one day and will recommend highly to our friends

Cheers

David & Sue

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Bottom line: Stay here, you won't regret it. I'll list some positives and negatives about the place, but overall gave it an excellent rating and would go back again.

A couple things to begin with.

First, we went a week after Cyclone Evan and although many resorts on Fiji were hit very hard, Tokoriki came out with only minor damage. Some of the palm trees were looking ragged and there was still some minor damage to roofing, but it didn't affect our stay. I'm sure it'll all be back to normal in a matter of weeks.

Second, this is a great place, great facilities, etc., but really it's the people that make it fantastic. All the staff were fabulous and fun. Everyone seemed to know our name within a day after arrival. You can't walk anywhere without someone giving you a "Bula!" and a smile.

I'll list the positives first. The food is pretty fantastic. There were a couple misses, but most of the time it was really first class. The teppanyaki restaurant was great, but book early as there are only eight seats and they book up a couple days in advance. Recommendation: get the Sandy ice cream for dessert for lunch and dinner. Every day.

The rooms are very nice, but there was little reason to stay in the room when all the action was outside. We were there to sleep and shower up and that's it. There's no TV or wi-fi in the room, which seemed like a reason to downgrade the place, but we quickly realized it's on purpose. You should be out by the pool or engaging in activities, not holing up in your room. There's a good wi-fi connection in the main areas, including the pool, so you won't be totally disconnected. Apparently there's a TV room somewhere but we never saw it and didn't care.

There's always something going on, whether it's hermit crab races, kava night, volleyball, etc. Also, good diving, kayaks, paddle boards, and other things to keep you busy. Nevertheless, we spent most days by the pool or in the ocean.

There's a beautiful sunset every night. Everyone gathered by the pool or at dinner starting around 7:00 to grab a cocktail and watch the sun go down. Different every night and beautiful every time.

Both the pool and the beach are fantastic. It's an infinity pool so great to go up to the edge and watch the ocean. The sandy beach is great, though nobody sunbathed down there (no umbrellas, no shade), but we spent a lot of time in the water. Perfect temperature. Bring lots of sunblock! A new tube in the gift shop is FJ$50.

Almost forgot, great singing every night by the boys. Two or three of the staff play guitars and sing during dinner, doing requests at each table. You'd think this would get old fast, but it totally didn't. We looked forward to it each night and spent some time each day thinking what we'd request. The boys have a pretty huge repertoire and are great players.

Transportation in was great. About half the guests took the boat (2.5 hours in, 1.5 hours back), the other half took the helicopter, convenient but expensive. We opted for the boat in and a seaplane back, which very few people did. Highly recommend the seaplane, a much more interesting arrival and departure and cheaper than the helicopter.

A few negatives, too. There were only two umbrellas by the pool. At least one of the umbrellas had been demolished by the cyclone, but still. There were about 30 couples at the resort and only two could get adequate shade, and it's a hot Fiji sun. The palm trees gave some shade, but not enough so there was always competition to get the best deck chairs with the shade. Seems like an easy thing to fix.

Service could be pretty slow. We felt like we were spending half our time waiting for something to show up, whether it be food or cocktails. Recommend just doing the continental breakfast in the morning and drinking the local coffee, and getting lunch by the pool so you're not in the dining room waiting unnecessarily.

The air conditioners in the room were pretty weak. Our bure was always a bit too warm and though we were able to sleep OK, it took the AC on full blast and the fans on high to keep it passable. Take a good cold shower before you go to sleep.

Other recommendation, skip the Castaway tour. The movie Castaway was filmed close by Tokoriki, but you won't be able to recognize a thing on the island from the movie, and the snorkeling offshore is no better than what you can do just off Tokoriki. This was the only trip we did so can't speak for the others.

All in all, this was a fantastic place, just listing the negatives so you'll know, and because I know management reads these things, too..... Enjoy your time at Tokoriki and a big BULA! to everyone there.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be about the same, but I think the beach on the lower numbers is better, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Everything about our trip was amazing. When we arrived the staff was very accommodating and set the standards for the rest of the stay, which continued to get better. The meal plan is the best option for dining and has plenty of food to choose from. We stayed in the beach bure which was spacious and had all the amenities that we needed. The tours are very organized but leisurely at the same time. We went snorkeling and took a village tour. The resort is spectacular and is worth time getting there (from the US).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife and i stayed in the SunSet pool Villa which was awesome and had the best view of the sunset. I guess it doesnt matter which bure or SPV you are in, Tokoriki is magical and you can feel like when you are there. We are very happy with the services, staff and especially the genuine willingness of staff and management to make our each day memorable. You will never regret going to Tokoriki and please DO NOT listen to the negative reviews about the sea weed and all that sort of other crap that people are posting as we didnt have any issues and we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose a SPV if you can and i stayed in SPV 1 so i guess i can definately recommend SPV 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This place is a little slice of heaven only 3 hours from Auckland. Not cheap but well worth the money!

The rooms are devine and the maid even hung all my dresses for me.
The location of each allows for beachfront privacy and I even snuck in some topless bathing.
The food is what you would expect for a luxury island like this.
Staff learn and remember your names and use them when talking to you.
Worth upgrading to the private plunge pool villa- my sister had one and it was a bigger room than ours with the stunning outdoor area. If you can't stretch the budget the standard villas will still exceed your expectations.

I have stayed in many resorts around Fiji and other pacific islands and this is my fav by far.

My only regret was not splashing out on the helicopter transfers and instead took a private speed boat. But every day we watched as guests arrived and departed in those birds and it looked so stylish!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The beach bures are much better choice than villas with swimming pool.
Arriving there with hellicopter is the fastest way.
Wine prices are ecellent and the wine sellection quite good.
Sports activites are excellent from diving to Hobby Cat sailing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokoriki Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokoriki Island Resort

Address: Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Tokoriki Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tokoriki Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tokoriki Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tokoriki Island Resort is a luxury boutique resort perfect for couples and honeymooners delivering exceptional Fijian warmth and hospitality with a caring attention to detail. All 34 beachfront air-conditioned bures and villas are freestanding with a fusion of contemporary style and Fijian design, enveloped in lush tropical gardens and feature both indoor and outdoor showers. The spacious 120sqm Sunset Pool Villas boast a separate living area, a large deck complete with a 3.5M x 2.5M infinity-edge personal pool, cabana and double daybeds to capture the most amazing Fijian sunsets. With the choice of a barefoot wedding, a traditional chapel ceremony, your Sunset Pool Villa deck or by the infinity edge pool at sunset will truly ensure a memorable wedding at Tokoriki Island Resort. Enjoy romantic oceanfront dining under the stars complemented by daily changing sumptuous a la carte menus or an evening of entertainment and fun at "Teppanyaki". Embrace pure Fijian culture at the local village with a traditional kava ceremony, dive or snorkel Tokoriki's stunning coral reefs, experience a 4hr memorable secluded beach picnic, relax poolside with a tropical cocktail or simply indulge at the luxury day spa. Tokoriki Island Resort is located in the Mamanuca Islands, 12 minutes from Nadi International airport by helicopter or seaplane, 1hr by large catamaran or speed boat. Tokoriki Island Resort was recently voted the 5th Most Romantic Hotel in the World by TripAdvisor and is ranked #1 on Tokoriki Island. At Tokoriki you'll arrive as a visitor and leave as a friend! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tokoriki Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokoriki Island Resort, Fiji Hotel Tokoriki Island
Tokoriki Island Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokoriki Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.