We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Island Fiji to your Saves list
Castaway Island Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lizzy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paradise Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I put a lot of effort into finding the perfect location for our destination wedding in Fiji. Since we had never been there before, we had to do our homework. After reading tons and tons of reviews, we chose Castaway Island Resort. Why? We weren’t only planning a vacation and wedding for us: we were planning a vacation for 28 people. We wanted a place where the food was great, the island and beach were paradise, the staff was friendly, and there were plenty of activities for everyone to partake in. Castaway is definitely the place we were looking for and we found it!

I’m sure Castaway would agree with me in saying “I was not your typical destination bride”. We were writing emails back and forth for a year, in preparation for our wedding events. I sent photos and charts of everything that I wanted. We even sent glass vases, tablecloths, decorations, etc. to the island prior to arriving. We worked out our own event dinners with the Chef and everything. All was left in the faithful hands of the staff at Castaway Island Resort.

We planned two major events while we were staying on the island. First we prepared a reception cocktail event, dinner and after party. We organized a beach BBQ theme for the reception dinner with fresh lobster, mud crabs, fish, chicken, fresh fruit, etc. This meal was fit for a king! It was absolutely everything we had hoped it would be. The band played soft music for us throughout dinner and afterwards picked things up a bit for dancing and tons of fun and laughter. The second event was our wedding day. We planned the wedding ceremony at Monkey Rock, which is absolutely stunning. It is right on the beach and private. We had a barefoot wedding and were escorted by Fijian warriors. It was everything I envisioned. Afterwards, we had a cocktail event, followed by an 8-course tasting menu. The 8-course tasting menu was out of this world. Each course just kept getting better. They really outdid themselves; our guests were very impressed. They decorated the entire venue just as I asked. It was like a fairytale jungle. The entire place was decorated in greenery and flowers were EVERYWHERE! They have their own greenhouse there where they grow their own flowers. This very much excited us; we spent a lot of time there going over our flower arrangements with the staff. Our wedding cake that was prepared for us, looked even better than the photos I had sent to them. After dinner, the band played for us all night long. They didn’t stop playing and serving drinks until every last person was ready to go to bed. It was a huge celebration. It was 100% perfect.

We knew that our vacation and wedding was going to be wonderful the second we stepped off the boat onto Castaway Island. We were greeted by the staff singing to us, followed by a welcome cocktail, which we set up for all of our guests. This gave us a chance to learn everything about the island, meet some of the staff, and go over the wedding events. It didn’t even take the staff 20 minutes before they knew every single persons name within our party. It was AMAZING! The staff at Castaway Island Resort is by far the most friendly and accommodating staff we have ever had the pleasure of vacationing with (and my husband and I travel a lot). They never say “no”; they will do anything they can to satisfy you and get you exactly what you need. They are very genuine people. To show us their gratitude, they surprised us with a special Asian theme farewell dinner, the night before my husband and I departed for our honeymoon location. The dinner made us feel very very special; having another nice intimate dinner with our family and friends, one last time before we left.

The bures at Castaway are clean, sizable, and air-conditioned (which is a huge bonus). The entire island is a beach paradise. The grounds are beautiful, filled with lush greenery and flowers. You don’t need to go very far for top notch snorkeling, which is right on the main beach. Many of our guests commented on how their massages were amongst one of the best they’ve ever received. The food was wonderful! We went to a very high-end resort for our honeymoon and they never changed their menu. We were eating the same things everyday. At Castaway, we rarely were eating the same things twice. I would recommend getting the meal plan, though. All of our guests got the meal plan and were all very happy they did. It can end up being quite expensive if you don't get it. Plus, all food is completely inclusive, minus drinks of course. One of our favorite activities was the daily beach volleyball with the staff. This was an absolute riot and we made sure we did this everyday (even on our wedding day). There is an amazing island hike that you can do at anytime. Some of our guests arranged fishing trips and village tours, which they said were great. My husband and I participated in two diving adventures and we were very pleased with the locations and instructors. Mostly, we laid around on the beach and took in the beauty around us.

We can’t tell you enough, how incredible Castaway Island Resort was. There is not one single detail we would have changed. There is no other location that could have remotely compared to the wedding experience we had at Castaway Island Resort. The staff exceeded our expectations and made our wedding day a dream come true. We will try to make it back as soon as we possible can. Thank you for wedding of a lifetime.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    127
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
383
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Bula, my wife and I just got back from Castaway. We stayed for 9 nights with our three boys aged 3, 5 & 7.
The Island is absolutely beautiful, better than the internet site shows. Magnificient snorkeling right from the north beach. The Bures are large and no problem fitting all 5 of us. The addition of another single bed in the front area seemed like it was always meant to be there.
The Bures are cleaned thoroughly each day, and unlike other resorts, the girls are happy to come back later if the kids are having a midday sleep.
The kids club was used mainly when the adults were eating from 6:30-9pm. The kids actually protested when we suggested they miss kids club and have a family dinner!
Staff are so friendly and the food is great, I don't think I have ever eaten so much grilled fish or felt healthier.
Only negative was the 3 & 5 year old with buffetts, they would have eaten just pancakes for breakfast and chips for lunch and dinner. But hey, it was their holiday too and they eat plenty of healthy food when at home.
We had no drama with "Fiji time", just relax, but remember to order as soon as you can and also order a bottle of wine from the bar during happy hour!
Would quite happily go back again, great spot to go when travelling with little kids. No shots required, you can drink the island water, beautiful weather and people.
Pacific Blue is the airline to fly with. We flew direct from Melbourne leaving at 9:35am and getting to Nadi at 4:20pm. Coming back direct flight from Nadi leaving at 5:10pm and getting into Melbourne at 9:00pm.
All other airlines had horror overnight flights, not good with young kids!!
Only advice, don't leave swim tops lying around as they disappear, but this can happen anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We just returned from a week at Castaway during the Australian school holidays. We had read some of the reviews on this site and we were a little apprehensive, but we were so pleased when we got to the island. It is beautiful, the kids club is great, our kids had a level of independence that they could never have any where else (they are aged 6 and 4) and the service was friendly even if it wasn't always quick. I guess the thing you need to consider if you are thinking of going there, is that it is a Fijian island. No, the showers are not always hot, there are bugs in the room sometimes, sometimes it takes a while to get a pizza, and there are lots of kids. But there are beautiful beaches, gorgeous sunsets,good food and drinks, friendly staff and guests, and you can lose your shoes and not even think about looking for them for 4 days. We have already booked to go back next year. And if you feel like you need a bit of luxury before you head home, we stay at the Hilton in Denarau for a bit of pampering. Best of both worlds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Castaway Island. Fiji as a location is absolutely wonderful. The rooms were clean - albeit a little small. We had a Garden Bure but could see water from our verandah. The resort felt small and cosy, with personalised service, even though it was at capacity. We enjoyed our tour of the kitchen and desalination plant. The food was very good, but we felt the service was sometimes a little slow at dinner (this may have been because we were a bigger group - other tables received their food much more quickly). Water pressure was good except between 5 and 6pm!!! We found the activities were relatively expensive (when compared to Plantation). The kayaks were free and a few of us kayaked around the island a number of times. We also walked to the top of the island and around the island - both were very nice. The snorkelling straight off the island's north beach was really good! We also enjoyed the talk by the Marine Biologist - really helped our appreciation of the environment. We spent a lot of time sitting by the water - the west shore was quite windy at times, but sometimes that was quite refreshing.
My mother, who has a walking disability, found it easy to get around the facilities.
Note: We were with an extended family group of 16 people in three generations including 8 children aged between 1 and 14. We spent 6 nights at Plantation and 6 nights at Castaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Two families - one with 25yr old and 18 yr old daughters and a 17 yr old son. My family with 17 yr old twin boys. We spent 12 days here and were sad to leave.
We all absolutely loved it. I thought being Australian school holidays that it would be crowded but even though the resort was at capacity, it felt at times like we were the only ones on the island. There was plenty to do if you wanted to be active. No problem arranging water sport activities, always found them available. The teenagers were kept busy by the fijians, when they weren't snorkelling, swimming, relaxing, by playing volleyball, table tennis, soccer, tennis, they were also invited by the fijians to the staff quarters. The water was beautiful. Perfect temperature to cool down in. We spent one week in a beach front bure which was literally 10 steps to the water and off snorkelling or swimming. The bure was very nice, clean (perhaps the bathrooms could use an upgrade). We had a king size bed, plus two day beds with a sliding screen door inbetween. The beds were so comfortable, I have never been away and slept in a more comfortable bed. The second week we were in an ocean front bure, very close to water, just as nice as beach front. There are hammocks near all bures for all people to share. Not one mosquito bite, very impressive! It can get windy at times but a short walk to the other side of the island solved that. The people are very nice and so friendly. The food was very good. Not getting the meal plan saved us some money as we always had a big breakfast and didn't feel like lunch, (we brought snacks foods from home to keep us going til dinner). We had a wonderful time, we would go back in a flash and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed for three nights four days...and I would say it was better than average. When we arrived we had to wait an excessively long time to get into our bure. The food was very average and often took forever......(pizza one afternoon an hour and a half and any dinner other than buffet up to two hours). When the food finally did arrive, it often wasn't even what we ordered. If we had stayed longer than we did the food also would have become very tiring. The bures are nice but not well appointed. The beach and the reef are very good! The resort is filled with kids, many who are very young. We had our ten year old with us, and even we found the number of kids and the constant noise and activity annoying. There is no place for adults to dine alone or to relax, there are kids everywhere you turn. I don't think I would go back, but had a decent time. For the price we paid you can do a lot better, we paid up approx $650 USD/night, and I would not say we got value for our money. I have stayed in numerous places throughout Fiji, and would expect a lot more given what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We have just come back from our 5th year on beautiful Castaway Island and very much looking forward to going back at xmas. Once again we have had the most wonderful time and have again met up with other guests who have become our friends through numerous trips to the Island. The staff are wonderful and every time we go back we feel we are at our second home. I have read a review which I find distressing bagging Castaway and the service to which I feel I have to defend. Everyone knows that when you are in fiji you are in a relaxed environment and that is why we keep going back, as for cancellations due to weather conditions that can happen anywhere in the world and with anything this is always due to some sort of danger to the person, god forbid if anything should happen. As for the bures what does anyone expect they are lovely little huts, very clean and has the water is from the island itself what would you expect the temperature of the showers can be adjusted and after all you are on an island. The staff are wonderful with the children we have an 8 and 7 year old boys and they feel right at home the staff always are welcoming and love to give the boys are cuddle. We love Castaway and we have encouraged other friends to join us on holidays and who now have become regulars just like us. I highly recommend this resort to anyone and we look forward to returning both at xmas and June/July 2011.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Island Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.