We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Island Fiji to your Saves list
Castaway Island Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Maroochydore, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I and our two young children aged 11 months and 2.5 years have just returned from a week in Fiji. We spent time at the Outrigger on the Coral Coast and then went via the Heli transfer to Castaway.

Arriving via helicopter was amazing. The Island is pristine, white sandy beaches, crystal clear blue water etc just gorgeous. From the moment the helicopter landed to the time that we left on our boat ride home I was just blown away by the most welcoming, caring beautiful people at the resort. One of the porters "Jeremiah" unclipped my son and carried him from the helicopter and chatted away with him and my son adored him. Jeremiah remembered both my childrens names and greeted them and spoke with them each time we saw him. The lady from reception, Ase was just lovely. She carried my daughter from the helicopter also. She was very helpful and became our babysitter for the children at night - she changed them and even put them to bed for us (she offered) and they were sound asleep with her sitting next to them each night that we returned from dinner - by ourselves!! My husband and I LOVED the fact that we were able to spend the day at the beach or in the pool with the kids and then have our own adult time at dinner, the weekly cocktail party with Fijian dancing etc on our own.

My kids both enjoyed swimming on the Northern side of the beach. My son was particularly keen on the fish that swim right up to your legs and the giant starfish that we found on our final morning. I was concerned about food for my 11 month old before we left but she was well catered for especially at breakfast time. The shop also sells nappies and jars of baby food if required.

We enjoyed the food and thought it was much better quality that the Outrigger - which I might point out is a 5 star resort and I believe Castaway is a 4 star. We didn't try the Sundowner Pizza as our stay was so short but thought that takeaway pizza was a great idea for those with kids, we saw a lot of people heading back to their bures at night with pizza boxes! The food was varied. A la carte and themed buffet. Buffet had plenty of choices of meats and pasta dishes plus vegies and lots of fresh salads and fruit. Drinks service was on Fiji time... but we expected that and there was always water on the table and self serve juice anyway... and again much quicker service than the Outrigger. Quite a number of guests seemed to BYO wine which we will prob do next time as it can be a pit pricey. We chose the meal plan and thought it was great value.

There is plenty to do and see with bushwalks, massage, snorkelling, diving, island hopping, swimming or just lazing and reading a book.There are no phones and no TV's in the bures which for us was FAB! My husband works 14 hours a day and we have constant interruption from phone calls emails etc at home, at Castaway he was actually able to switch off and enjoy some real quality time with our kids - he loved it. There is internet and phones available at reception if need be.

The Bures are clean and nicely decorated and can be screened off to form 2 rooms. The housekeeping staff are lovely and brought colouring in pencils and books for my kids - we mentioned as a passing comment that our son sometimes rolls out of bed... we returned to the room to find they had turned the bed around for him to form a safety rail - without us asking... they were just very attentive and thoughtful.

The location is second to none and the people are just amazing. I would highly recommend it to anyone with children wanting a relaxing break where you can be surrounded by like minded family travellers. We were provided with great service and a great balance of kids time and adult time to ourselves. Are looking into booking again in a few months time... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    138
    45
    16
    2
See reviews for
413
137
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Castaway is a fantastic resort in Fiji which caters perfectly to families (if you don't have kids or don't love being around kids, then its not for you) with cheap and caring babysitting. Our 1.5 year old girl enjoyed kids club (while supervised by the babysitter) once she was there although she did go kicking an screaming initially. The beach is also great for kids with almost no waves and its own reef for snorkelling which was pretty good itself without the diving. We did a few dives with excellent divemasters who even set everything up on the boat so all you had to do was jump in! Visibility was great, and the diversity of coral and fish. Food was pretty good and I am a bit of a foodie (but make sure you go for an all-inclusive package) and they even had special theme nights for events such as Halloween. It was as relaxing a holiday as one could have with kids.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We returned to Castaway after having had a really good experience two years ago November. Although you can't argue with the setting of the place, we felt the resort had fallen in its overall service and atmosphere. Unlike our first visit, this time there was little evidence of management or leadership - and it showed. The staff seemed to just be going through the motions, rather than genuinely warm and friendly and wanting to make our experience memorable. The lack was most evident in two key areas - the food and the diving. The buffets, as they were, were really lacking, with clearly 'recycled' food put out at varying points of the day. Not that I mind clever re-purposing, but there's a difference between doing it creatively and with clear intent and just throwing some sauce on last night's leftovers. Worst was probably the kids' food, much of which I would have been embarrassed to serve my child at home, let alone paying top dollar at a resort that bills itself as the most family friendly in Fiji. A little effort could have produced tasty, if basic, food - spaghetti? pizza? carrot sticks with hummus? - that we would have felt much more confident in feeding our daughter. We were also quite disappointed in the 'gourmet salads' and 'international desserts', which were anything but that. The 'Aussie BBQ' had our Australian friends wondering what part of Australia frozen tiger prawns like the ones available at the supermarket back home came from.
We did note that the new a la carte menu, which was rolled out half way through our visit, was more inventive and much better, and I'm hopeful that once service issues are worked out (especially timing for parents of kids in the Kids Club) the same ideas will carry forward to other parts of the food service.
The dive shop also seemed a bit tired, and my husband, and avid diver, was disappointed in the dive offerings (no afternoon dives, due ostensibly to lack of interest) and the lack of enthusiasm on the part of the shop staff.
Overall we felt Castaway was milking it's reputation, and had somehow lost the heart we so enjoyed and were looking forward to this trip. With a few minor tweaks - and evidence of ANY sort of manager interested in making our trip special for us - it could have been a trip that would have inspired us to return again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband and I have just had one of the most wonderful 7 nights at this fabulous resort. The island is tropical and the water crystal clear, just like a postcard.
The reef is an easy swim and the resort management are doing a great job in maintaining the reef from the effects of the dreaded crown of thorns, it will only improve as time goes by.
We stayed in a bure on the north beach, just set back from the beach front bures, I thought the bure we stayed in was very private but also very social as you would say hi to everyone as they passed by on their way to breakfast/dinner.
The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, at the management cocktail party on Wednesday night the staff referred to each other as family and I really think that would be true. Ana our waitress became our friend and we were genuinely sad to say goodbye to her.
Every activity was so much fun as was watching the beach volleyball in the afternoon. The dolphin tour was a quick tour of the area which included us seeing Cloudbreak, a famous surf break. We also did an island hopping tour which was one of the highlights of our trip. We went to one part of Mana, Amanuca, Tokoriki and Malolo then a picnic lobster lunch before returning back to Castaway. What amazed me was the feeling of returning home after being away for the day. I think this was because not only the beautiful place Castaway is but that we really felt welcome there by staff and all guests.
We were fortunate enough to arrive and depart via the Heli, the views are amazing and if you can go via this mode of transport I would highly recommend it. It is picturesque and a very quick way of getting to the resort.
The resort is truely paradise and many others must feel the same as the rate of guests returning is at 46 - 47%. We will be one of those couples looking forward to doing it all again next year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We visited Castaway in Sept 09 and had 7 fabulous nights on the island with our 9 and 7 year old daughters. It was just brilliant. The island is all it's cracked up to be - visually spectacular with a wonderful beach. It's not top tier, over-the-top luxury but the bures are clean, spacious and well set-up and it has everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The staff are what make it - they are just so friendly, funny and lovely. They genuinely enjoy their work and making new friends with visitors to the island. There's heaps to do - the snorkelling off the beach is sensational - we saw hundreds of brilliantly coloured fish, little reef sharks,starfish, rays, etc - and the whole family did that at least twice a day. We did the outer reef snorkel without the kids, too, which was a blast. Kayaks are free so we kayakked around the island every day (you need to exercise to work off the three big meals a day) and also took out the catamarans, played tennis, did the bush walk to the top of the island, swam and read books in the hammocks between the palm trees. Food is fine - not gourmet - but good enough and the kids love it, which was the main thing. Our kids spent the days with us and then had either a kids' dinner or a pizza from the Sundowner Bar before begging to go off to Kids Club, where they played lots of fun, active games that tired them out. At night there were fun activities (if you wanted) like crab races and talks about the reef and ocean life. We got an island bure (the cheapest of the 3 options) which was absolutely fine and still only seconds walk to the beach. If you are thinking about going then GO - it's one of the best, most relaxing holidays we've ever had and I 'd take us all back in a heartbeat! We stayed in Denarau on the night over and one night on the way back - next time I wouldn't bother - I'd just get a sea-plane in. At Denarau it's nice but you could be anywhere in the world. Castaway feels like the Fiji you come for.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We went to Castaway Island for a week with a group of 26 for our wedding on 9/9/09. Everyone that came loved it there and would like to go back. The staff were so friendly saying Bula everytime you seen them and remembering everyones name. The island was at full capacity but you wouldn't have known it, having room to spread out and do what you wanted. We were very happy with the food and feel there was enough variety to have something different every night. The wedding day was fantastic and we wouldn't have changed a thing. The effort went to with the flowers, the ceremony & reception setup, the food & the staff were great. It was a dream come true. The island is absolutely beautiful, from the beaches to the landscaping throughout the entire island. We will be returning to Castaway Island.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Hi, We have been there with our 23 moths old boy and we really enjoyed our stay. The beach front "buré" (hut) was large, nicely decorated (I specially liked the ceiling with the marvelous "tapas") and clean. The beach is beautiful and you can easily swim at high tide. The resort personnel are very welcoming and nice (especially with kids): they make you feel so comfortable. The food is not very good though. If you ask for fried eggs, they will serve you an omelette... the scrambled eggs are dry and tasteless. Buffets can sometime have good dishes: I suggest you order from the menu! The kid buffet (served everyday from 5.30 to 6.30 pm) is particularly bad and unhealthy as it is only made with fried food. If you have children I recommend you share your adult meal with them instead of filling up the poor kids with cholesterol and sugary junk food.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Island Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.