We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, awesome, fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Island Fiji

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castaway Island Fiji to your Saves list
Castaway Island Fiji
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, awesome, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have just returned after an amazing 6 nights on Castaway Island. We loved it ! My husband and I travelled with our 2 active boys aged 10 and 13. From the moment you step off the boat you feel at home and relaxed. We had a beach Bure on the South Beach . The Bure was spacious and spotless, and although that side of the Beach was prone to more wind I loved the privacy as the majority of people and activities are on the North Beach. We took advantage of the meal plan, which I would recommend as you could eat at any of the restaurants and I felt it was good value. The quality of the food was very good. The breakfast buffet was yummy, with plenty of variety. We ate from the al a carte , pizza or sushi cafe for lunches and al a carte for diviner most nights. We did have buffet 2 night as on a Wed and Sat they do a theme night so only buffet or the pizza restaurant available. I'm not a huge buffet fan at dinner as i like to relax and take my time so 2 nights was more than I would have liked to have been restricted too , but that's just my preference, not a reflection on food quality. The 1808 was an amazing experience but unfortunately due to 2 very windy nights we only got to eat there once. This restaurant is totally weather dependant because all the cooking is done outdoors, it is on the sand and has no walls or roof therefore it closes in bad weather.
The staff very friendly and courteous and the service was very good around the island in all areas.
We felt extremely safe on the Island and the boys were able to wander to the tennis courts, or table tennis or to play with the activities staff on the beach. The resort gas kayaks, paddle boards, catamarans and snorkelling equipment available for use. The snorkelling is amazing, some times we swam out but we also took a kayak out and tied it to a buoy and snorkelled from there so we get see a different part of the reef without a giant swim first.
I could go on and on but overall I can say we had a great experience. The kids loved it as there was plenty to do ( nothing involving a screen which was great ) we loved it as it was restful and relaxing and despite being school holidays and a full house it never seemed crowded or noisy.
Things to note : drinking water is fantastic ( they have there own desalination plant) and readily available at all the bars don't waste energy or money with bottled; take your own shampoo and conditioner as the resort only supplies a 2 in 1 that is in a refillable tub; if you buy a bottle of wine and don't finish it you can take it back to your room and bring it back next meal time; you can BYO wine at $ 20 Fiji corkage; kayaking around the Island takes 45- 60 minutes and is hard work at low tide as you have to go out further to avoid reef!!! ; free Wifi available at all restaurant/ bar areas and it is pretty reliable given you are miles from anywhere;
In summary we loved it , it has ruined us for anywhere else in Fiji as this was our 5 th trip to Fiji , our first to Castaway and the only place we will ever stay in Fiji again !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Bula! Thanks so much for the very informative review. Great to know you've found your happy place - somewhere the entire family love and feel comfortable.

We hope it won't be too long before you come back and visit us again. In the meantime, lolomas from your Castaway family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    127
    42
    15
    2
See reviews for
381
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

As usual, a wonderful place. Best island resort. Meal plan is a must.
Friendly staff, well maintained grounds.
We will be back.
Over the years we have stayed at a number of outer island resorts and mainland hotels. This one is the better choice by far for the island style of accommodation and amenities.
Hotels are a different style again so don't take on board reviews where castaway is compared to hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Cyril M, vinaka for your feedback. We feel very blessed to read that you have visited many resorts in Fiji and found Castaway to be up there with the best!

You are so right about the difference between a mainland hotel/resort and an island resort. Two completely different experiences. Certainly, due to operational costs, the islands are more expensive, however the all encompassing resort experience that you are purchasing when you choose an island resort is very different to a hotel room. This is something that tourists cannot really know until they've been and experienced the difference.

We do hope now that you have found us, you will join in the throngs of others and return to visit the Castaway family again. In the meantime sote tale (until we meet again)

Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We travelled with our two teenage daughters to Castaway for a wedding earlier this month. From the moment we arrived on the beach, we were well looked after. The welcome song, the welcome drink, & the beautiful welcome from the Castaway Family were all amazing. Our garden bure was lovely, large enough for the 4 of us and cleaned daily. Nitpicking faults, I'd have to say that being located next to the tennis court, with enthusiasts playing at 7am was annoying, and it was very dark inside, even during the middle of the day. First world problems though!!
The meal plan was definitely the way to go. Extensive choices for the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinners, and being able to eat of the al a carte menus for lunch and dinner was great. Kids can order pizzas anytime, and boy, did they take advantage of that. I enjoyed some of the most amazing food I've ever had while dining at Castaway.
My husband surfed at Cloudbreak, and with one of our daughters at Wilkes passage, and they both loved it. We paddled around the island on kayaks, used standup paddle boards, snorkelled, fished, lazed around, relaxed and generally had a fantastic holiday.
We spent a morning visiting Cloud 9, and that is well worth a visit. This little floating pontoon, located over a reef was another slice of heaven, and definitely worth a visit.
My youngest daughter unfortunately fell from a hammock on our 3rd last day at Castaway, and broke her collarbone. Mary (the nurse) and Daniel (Duty Manager) sprung into action and looked after every detail, the helicopter transfer to Nadi, the doctors appointment, the xrays, the chopper ride back, and were even at the helipad to welcome us back that afternoon. Thank you both so much for all your love and care.
The wedding itself was spectacular, but that is someone else's story to share. I'm just thrilled we were there to enjoy it with them.
Vinaka Castaway Family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Bula Lisa, Vinaka vaka levu for taking the time to write your thoughts here on Trip Advisor, regarding your recent stay. The hammock incident was indeed unfortunate but we are very pleased that your daughter was well looked after and made to feel as comfortable as possible. Having the Nurses Clinic on island and the lovely Nurse Mere is so beneficial. Our Operations Manager, Daniel Roy is a huge asset to our Castaway family with his wealth of experience and caring, level headed attitude. The wedding was beautiful and it sounds like everyone enjoyed the celebrations of this gorgeous occasion. We hope we can welcome you back again for a more relaxed stay in the future. Again thanks for your comments. With warm regards from the Castaway family to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Bula! We spent a week at Castaway over the school holidays for our friends wedding.
WOW! The service and care we received from all the staff was outstanding, the bures were lovely, the food was amazing with so many options so you were never bored. I recommend booking into 1808 and the meal they delivered for the wedding was equal to top restaurants in Sydney.
The kids had an mazing time, in fact we had to ask them to spend time with us!
We used many of the additional facilities like the jetski tour, the banana boat, diving, the half day dolphin cruise and cloud nine was divine. I did the bushwalk a few times as the views are just amazing and different if you change the time of day you walk due to the tide. Most of our group went to the local footy match too which was a great way to get local.
The wedding the resort put on was incredible. The care the team went to to ensure my friends had everything they wanted I have never seen before and it was the most memorable event that felt like we were on a private island with no one else around. Chef - Thankyou for the delicious special breakfast you gave us on the Sunday for our farewell too!
Thanks everyone at Castaway for a terrific break and we may plan a trip back in a few years time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Wow JoJo, you certainly packed a lot into your time at Castaway. It's great to receive this wonderful feedback thank you. We are very blessed with the most divine pristine environment, wonderful staff and an amazing array of activities. Glad to hear you enjoyed our award winning cuisine too. The wedding banquet did look amazing and it was a special event for not only the bridal couple and their family and friends, but for the Castaway family as well. We do so love a special occasion! We hope you really will come back and visit again. Our lolomas (love) from the Castaway family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Such lovely people. Great cruise boat (South sea cruises) Luisa & Sai, you both rock. Never ever have met friendly and helpful people like yous.
Wonderful place to relax, play, swim or have fun. It is just another paradise.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
It sounds like you really enjoyed your time at Castaway Island and enjoyed the hospitality of our staff. Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a truly beautifully Island. The warmth and generosity of the staff made our holiday very relaxing. We spent ten days on the island where our three children were kept busy not only with Kids Club but general activities on the beach. We are definitely returning very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Maria vinaka for your review. Its so lovely to read you and the family enjoyed your time with the Castaway family. Don't leave it too long to return. vinaka and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went to Castaway Island for our honeymoon and it was AMAZING! (It was a couple of years ago now, but I'm slack and never wrote a review). The service was fantastic, the food was amazing (we had a full meal plan which was awesome), the water was crystal clear!
We also did an island hop to Muscat Cove and Plantation Island as we'll as Maloloo Island (not sure how to spell them). Maloloo was beautiful! Plantation..... I was happy we weren't staying there, it was a bit run down and shabby looking.
Back at Castaway, leaving was the only disappointment! We didn't want to leave!
I just wish it wasn't so pricey so we could take our children there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenmarvell, Director of Sales at Castaway Island Fiji, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Bula Shandy012,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and we are so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us for your honeymoon.

Well it must be time to come back for a second honeymoon and to bring the children with you - they'd love it. We must tell you that the price of the bure covers up to 4 persons so actually the kids would really be FREE.

Also children under 3 eat for FREE so if you have little ones, that's good value too.

The Castaway Kids Club is legendary and offers free activities for 3 year olds and up from 9am in the morning until 4.30pm and then again from 6.30pm to 10pm - giving you plenty of valuable mummy and daddy time!

We do hope you will find a way to come back and visit us again.
Once again thank you for your comments.

vinaka and regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castaway Island Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Island Fiji

Address: Castaway Island | Mamanuca Island group, Fiji Islands, 1111, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Castaway Island (Qalito)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castaway Island (Qalito)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaway Island Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Island, Fiji provides a unique South Pacific experience - a great place to relax, unwind and enjoy life's simple pleasures. Fiji's most popular island resort has guests returning year after year to experience the magic that is "Castaway". The island's 174 acres are covered with lush tropical vegetation, and surrounded by white sand beaches and vibrant coral reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castaway Island Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Island Fiji Hotel Qalito Island
Castaway Island Fiji Qalito
Castaway Island Resort
Fiji Castaway Resort
Castaway Fiji Hotel Island
Castaway Island Fiji Castaway Island (Qalito)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Island Fiji, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.