We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing snorkeling and tranquil island.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Navini Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Navini Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Navini Island Resort
Save
You added Navini Island Resort to your Saves list
P.O. Box 9445, Fiji   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Laramie, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkeling and tranquil island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We arrived in Nadi at 5:00 AM after an 11 hour overnight flight from Las Angeles. As promised Henry was there waiting to meet us and take us to the boat. After a short van ride and a boat ride we were on Navini Island in time for breakfast. We enjoyed eating meals at common tables with our fellow guests. The wonderful people we meet on Navini were a highlight of the whole trip to Fiji. When we left we really felt like we had gotten to know them and even traded email addresses. Freshly squeezed fruit juice every morning was a wonderful treat. In retrospect after visiting another Fiji Resort that was advertised (but was not) a 5 star, we realized just how very good the food was on Navini. There were always several delicious choices for entrees, appetizers and dessert. The fresh fruit was absolutely perfect.The freshly baked bread every day helped my husband put on a few pounds.
The snorkeling was amazing. Colorful fish, beautiful corral, reef sharks and my favorite blue starfish all made me feel like I was in a movie. The sealice were uncomfortable on my face and arms. I recomend wearing at least a shirt. It was a bit disappointing that the only time for snorkeling was a couple of hours on either side of high tide.
The bures were clean and well maintained. The staff on the island were absolutely superb! They were friendly, helpful and knew every guest by name. That was a very nice touch. Arthur, the owner, always joined us for dinner and was interesting to talk with. I enjoyed hearing about the building of the resort. I always felt safe and comfortable on Navini Island!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    28
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
140
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We've been wanting to visit Navini for quite sometime and finally got there in May for 5 nights and loved it.

We stayed in the Deluxe Bure # 1 which had a separate sitting room, bedroom, kitchen area, private courtyard with sun loungers and table & chairs, also a corner spa in the good sized bathroom. We could see the sunset from either our front verandah or just a few steps down to a hammock and 2 more sun loungers with an umbrella. This was where we would sit and watch the baby reef sharks chase the schools of sardines along the shoreline -- great entertainment !!

One of the reasons we would go back to Navini is for the snorkelling ---- it was just fantastic with heaps of big fish (don't know their names unfortunately), but every time we went out, we saw something different. Lots of sharks swimming along and if you try and chase them, they quickly go and hide. Will add some of our photos (apologies for the quality of them - had a few camera problems !!). We were there at extreme tides due to a full moon, but you could still access the reef via a channel or a concrete boat ramp. Used their fins and they were of good quality.

On one of their morning boat trips, we went to a sandbank near Mana Island for snorkelling and were lucky to have a pod of dolphins swimming along with our boat --- they had us all smiling ^^

Partner and 2 others did a fishing charter with no luck -- but still enjoyed the outing (they were more than ready for the big breakfast on their return !! ).

Very impressed that when we were due to have our boat transfer back to Vudu Point, and the weather had turned bad with choppy seas, Navini had a huge new boat there for us which made the transfer quick and easy.......much appreciated !

All in all, our stay at Navini was great and we felt we were lucky that there was a lovely bunch of guests there and we all had a great holiday.

Vinaka to Arthur, Simone and all at Navini for looking after us so well --- we'll see you again soon.

Brett & Julie.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed in Navini for 4 nights and wish we had stayed for 14. The island is a tiny spot of paradise and whilst we expected the natural beauty having seen many pictures it was the other holiday makers and staff of the island that made it such a perfect getaway. I'm not usually one to mingle and am a little fussy with food however the Navini set up of communal dining actually made the holiday even better and the food was amazing and I would of been happy with it in a restaurant let alone on a 6 acre island in the middle of the ocean. Every morning there was a different trip, either to one of the other islands. Afternoons were meant to be for relaxing but were filled with snorkelling (awesome), sailing, kayaking and volleyball. Evenings were spent playing Vidi Vidi with the staff whilst sharing kava. All in all I cannot recommend Navini highly enough and wish I was still there now.

Room Tip: Bures on the South side have the main white sandy beach however bures on the west get the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We rush though life at 100MPh, never satisfied, always wanting more; more money, more power, more thrills, more speed …why if we could go 110MPH think how much more we’d get done!
Navini is a true pacifier, as soon as you step onto the island a sense of relief and calm washes over you. There is no other place you have to be, no phone call you have to make …and the only thing that you’ll yearn for more of is time in this paradise.
The Bures are spacious, spotlessly clean and excellently maintained. There are lots of windows that let the lovely island breeze in to cool you down (as well as the ceiling fans). We stayed in the Villa which also had a small private courtyard and spa bath. We loved the pebble floor in the showers …reflexology and a shower all at the same time! The bed was VERY comfortable as were the feather pillows. The Bures are very private and secluded, a lot of the time we forgot that there were other people on the island with us.
The Beach, hmm… well it kind of goes like this… you step out of your Bure onto a white beach, and then step off the beach into the crystal clear sea. There are sun loungers and hammocks with each Bure and others dotted around the Island.
There are many activities, how much you do is up to you. There are daily trips to reefs, islands, villages etc. There is volleyball and touch rugby in the afternoon, sailing, kayaks, peddle boats, shell collecting, meandering around the island, exploring the rock pools, reading, massages, lazing and staring into space (a personal favourite!), Vindi Vindi and/or Cava tasting in the evening after dinner, and last but not least there is AMAZING snorkelling on a reef that surrounds the whole island. We spent a lot of time exploring the reef finding what seemed like hundreds of different fish and corals …just wait until you see Nemo City or the giant purple clam or the Pyjama Fish or the spotted Ray or the baby black tip reef sharks.
The food is delicious home cooked fare. If you’re lucky you’ll get to try Kokada, Lumberjack cake or “to die for” pineapple fritters! The girls make lovely pre-dinner cocktails too. Dining is a social affair getting to know fellow guests from around the world and your wonderful hosts Arthur and Helen.
The people are lovely, everyone is so friendly and helpful and very hard working. There are lots of smiles and laughter, singing and chatter. They all make the atmosphere on the island soooo... very relaxed and genuine.
Vinaka Navini, I have slowed down and de stressed my life, and from now on I’m going to spend a bit of each day staring into space wasting time while imagining those trade winds are blowing through my hair!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Our second visit this year and as always it was wonderful. The weather not so good we had strong winds and on occasions some rain but it really didn't matter. We transferred off the Yasawa Flyer at Beachcomber where Billy was waiting with the resort speedboat then the lovely Julie was on the beach to welcome us back. Our bure as always clean and comfortable the lovely fruit platter is always appreciated. We just had time to change before dinner and pre dinner cocktails where we met fellow Trip Advisor posters Monty, Basil and Zelda along with other guests. Lots and lots of of laughs! The meals are so very good with amazing variety and the lovely Vaulina & Jokka looking after us.
We went fishing and island hopping with Joe, the rough seas added to the experience, and snorkeling off Honeymoon Island where the coral and fish were fantastic. If you don't have an underwater camera, get one I have some great pics. We played Vindi vindi some nights and had a lovo and singing and dancing on another. Our 5 nights went so fast, can't wait to come back again in Dec./Jan with friends and family. I can't recommend Navini highly enough, you can do as much or as little as you wish, there is so much to keep you occupied, you can, sail, kayak, sea cycle or use a spy board instead of snorkeling, the reef and fish are amazing or take one of the daily morning excursions either, fishing ,snorkeling, island hopping, village visiting - something different each day and included in the tariff. No pool but with the beautiful lagoon who needs one Don't know how many times we have been to Navini but must be 10 or so and we hope to keep coming back like the amazing Dick aged 93 who has been visiting for a month for the past 15 years. Too soon Ari was taking us back to Vuda Marina. Thank you Arthur, Helen, Simone & Tueta for your friendship and to all the Navini staff who along with the beautiful island Navini make for the perfect holiday.We can't wait to come back.
Moce
Barb & Eddie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Navini Island Fiji, it was just as amazing the second time. The staff are amazing and couldn't have looked after us better. The rooms are great the food is always fresh.

The weather was not the best when we were there however we made the most of it and got to practice or Vindi Vindi

Helen and Arthur have a wonderful place and we cannot wait to go back again. Next time we will be brining a few more friends

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Navini has been everything we had hoped when we booked a couple of months ago. The island is peaceful, the weather was great, the staff very friendly and helpful, and we were able to enjoy both quiet time and social time with other guests.

Navini was easy to get to, with a direct flight to Nadi from Melbourne and then transfers thrown in for free. It involved a reasonably short boat ride. We stayed in a room facing the south side, where we had a nice beach and a great cross-breeze for most of the stay. The beach apparently used to be on the North side but it moved last year. Weird! The room was comfortable and clean and was well maintained daily in the mornings.

We met interesting people and shared some great times together, and we spent a lot of time snorkelling. We took our own snorkelling gear, which we prefer because of issues like mask fitting, and wearing booties with our fins was good for entry and exit. The reef is accessible at both high and low tide and we spent hours out daily, except when we went on other arranged trips snorkelling, fishing etc. We saw something interesting every day, with our level of observation improving with each snorkel. Sea Lice were an occasional discomfort minimised by rash tops etc, and thankfully neither of us had unpleasant reactions, although an occasional guest really did.

The staff were just great and the owner Arthur mixed with all the guests and was a mine of interesting information. Some of the guests had been there many times before, including one who had been going there annually for sixteen years!

Time slipped past without us being aware of the outside world. We didn't see TV, or have newspapers or internet for a whole week, which initially felt weird but gradually became normal. It's felt quite odd being back online today.

My wife and I would recommend Navini and would like to return. We don't have anything in Fiji to compare it with as it was our first time, but if I had to sum it up I would say it had this really cool combination of resort facilities and thrown-together socialisation that I haven't found anywhere else and which worked well. Heartfelt thanks and well wishes to Mary, Joka, Sulu, Vaulina and Joe, who we had most to do with.

Room Tip: South side had a good breeze this time of year, but apparently the breeze is different at other time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Navini Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Navini Island Resort

Address: P.O. Box 9445, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Navini Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Navini Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Navini Island Resort is a small private island resort in Fiji, just one hour from Nadi Airport. Guests are met on arrival, transferred at any time, takes 1 hour. Navini is surrounded by white sand and a magnificent coral reef sanctuary. All 10 bures are beachfront, three types including Villa, Deluxe with spa, and Premier. Complimentary daily outings and use of water sports equipment. No day trippers. Fresh fish, fruits, local and traditional meals; fully licensed restaurant. Fijian entertainment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Navini Island Hotel Navini Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Navini Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.