We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is my idea of Paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matamanoa Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Matamanoa Island Resort to your Saves list
Matamanoa Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Kimberley, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“this is my idea of Paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Diving and Fishing a short boat ride away. Snorkeling right from the beach with beautiful coral and lots of fish. Great food and friendly staff a short walk from you private Bure. Enjoyed the spa and the pool. Fabulous sunsets. Will go there again. This is an adult only resort.

Room Tip: Try to get one that looks out on to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    191
    55
    29
    13
See reviews for
29
568
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing week here at the start of June. We were in a beach bure on the sunset side which was perfect! Wonderful views and private but still close to everything. Yes there was a couple of repairs needed but only cosmetic and we didn't care in the slightest. The beach was absolutely amazing and we had no trouble with rubbish or Mosquitos. We had a look at the villas but they were a bit far from everything so we prefer the bures.

The lunch menu is a bit average and we commented that this would be the only reason we wouldn't stay for more than a week. Also I'd love to see some yoghurt added to the breakfast! Dinner was nice with no complaints but nothing was amazing but it was all priced very well. Don't bother with getting half or full board it is cheaper to just go a la carte. Unless you are someone who has entree, main and dessert with every meal (we sure don't!).

The staff we fantastic especially Seko the activities guru, he knew when to get you involved and when you wanted time to yourselves and always made you feel welcome and part of the family! Especially the awards ceremony every night where my husband collected his certificates with pride!

The place has such a lovely village feel where people learnt your name and you can socialise when you want to. We ended up having dinner with others and it made for a lovely feel it really was a wonderful atmosphere where no one was a stranger.

Only downside was the new dive shop boss/managers that arrived the last two days that we were there. They were hassling people to dive which was not the vibe at all before. They were also disrespectful to the local staff inviting us to go look at their village like it was a zoo! Us and many of the fellow guests were shocked as we adored the local staff. Plus they had the audacity to eat and drink with the guests when the locals are not allowed to do so (they can't even drink on the island) it's as if they forgot they were staff!! So i say get rid of the new English dive managers and leave it to the locals!

Make sure you visit the village it's lovely for one of the staff to show you around their home and you can buy gifts from the villagers. The other trips were wonderful as well.

We still loved Matamanoa and we will be retuning for our wedding anniversary's for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I visited Matamanoa for half our honeymoon. We loved the beauty of the island and the hospitality of the staff. The water was crystal clear blue, and had amazing snorkeling just outside the bure. We stayed in a bure on the sunset side (bure 15) which was much better than the sunrise side in my opinion. It seemed a bit more private, and the beach was much nicer on that side. There are lots of activities to do. Each day a board is posted with activities for every hour of the day. You can stay as busy as you want, or just relax on the beach!

Although this is the only resort on the island, it is quite large. I believe it accommodates up to 33 couples. There were nights where the restaurant was quite busy and we were at our table for 2 hours. It's not like there was anywhere we needed to be, but sometimes dinner did drag on due to waiting for salads to be made, or dessert to be served. I would recommend paying for the half-board (dinner) ahead of the time so that you can enjoy all the delicious food Prices for food and drink are very expensive! Stop at duty-free and bring your own liquor. After dinner we would sit by the bar and enjoy the amazingly talented band. They had kava ceremonies every night which was great! Such a fun time of just relaxing and hanging out with good music and company.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bures on the sunset side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Absolutely fabulous stay the spa and resturant especially but the accomodation and facilities also are great.
The Island is quaint with this the only resort. Excellent snorkling off the beach and nice goat trail climb up the hill with great views.
The only slight anoying things were the construction noise and smoke from their fire, but this was minimal.
The trip out to the Island is part of the experience with transfer to a small boat to navigate through the coral reef to the resort. Would go back as the best Island experience ever. Costs reasonable as well.

Room Tip: Ocean view bures large and absolute luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Matamanoa was fantastic.
The staff made us feel very special & were exceptional when one of our party fell ill. Their warmth and kindness made a difficult time easier to handle. The food was good with plenty of it. Great theme nights and the singing was amazing.
A great resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Matamanoa Island resort only allowed adult guests so it is best for couples. The island only features hotel so people are only guests or workers which makes it feel like the island private.

There seems 3 types of rooms available.

- Villa
Free standing villa with own pool and sun chairs on lawn looking down beach. Looked nice but you have to walk down the steps to get to beach plus it's a fair bit of way to get to restaurant/reception.

- Ocean view Bura
Free standing bangaloo with own hammock and chairs. Only 10m to the beach with a few sun chairs and tables.

- Garden view Bura
A few rooms connected to each other. No view at the back and front pouch is facing a path where people frequently walk past.

We stayed at Ocan view bura on "sunrise" side (#2) and thought was the best suited for us as we spent every day all day just out side of our bangalore.

Food package;
We were glad that we didn't take this. If you want to maximize the benefit, we'll be over eating every day! One dinner, I ate appetizer and main then there was no way I could eat dessert. Each serving is generous so unless you are a big eater, taking "as you go" option seems to work the best.

We'll be back again for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean view Bura on sunrise side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We left the kids behind and enjoyed a long awaited relaxing tropical break at Matamonoa. We stayed in a newly built Villa it was total perfection! A wee walk from the restaurant but suited us both as we don't mind a nice walk in paradise. The sand was white the water was so blue and the staff very warm, and welcoming. We especially loved the singing and the entertainment. The snorkelling straight off the beach was a highlight, friends we made while we were there got to see turtles but we saw reef sharks and a vast array of tropical fish everyday. The food could have been a bit better but we've come to realise that if you want to holiday in Fiji you've got to take a bit of a relaxed attitude about the food. Thank you Matamanoa for a very memorable holiday it was just what we needed in the middle of bringing up small children and escaping the nz winter.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
9.8 mi away
Tropica Island Resort
Tropica Island Resort
#3 of 3 in Malolo Island
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
12.6 mi away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
8.9 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#2 of 2 in Mana Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Resort & Spa, Tokoriki Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matamanoa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.