We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant introduction to Fiji!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matamanoa Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Matamanoa Island Resort to your Saves list
Matamanoa Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant introduction to Fiji!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We had never been to Fiji before and decided to book in at Matamanoa after extensively going through reviews on Trip Advisor of many other other islands in the Mamanuca's.

We are keen snorkellers and wanted somewhere different than our previous vacations in Rarotonga and Samoa and we weren't disappointed! You are able to snorkel off the beach, just head out about 100 metres or so and you'll reach the edge of the reef where it drops down into the deep. Out here we saw white tip reef sharks, stingray and even a big black tip reef shark which was a big highlight for us. There is ALOT of fish out there and even in the shallows on the way out to the edge.We even found Nemo! YAY. The coral is the best we have seen so far on our trips. You can't snorkel much at low tides but no worries, there is a boat that will take you out to different spots each day. Snorkels and masks and fins are all complimentary as well as beach towels. Oh and cooked breakfasts
We were surprised to see a number of different bird species on the island as well as the winged mammals we all know as bats, big fruit bats to be exact, who come out at dusk.
We stayed in a hotel unit as opposed to the flasher beachfront bure's and we had no complaints there. For such a small island there is always something to do. Walks to the top of the hills, tennis, beach petanque,basket weaving, beach volleyball, touch rugby, table tennis, sports fishing and much more night time activities. Island trips are also available, we did 2 trips. one to Modriki island where tom hanks starred in Castaway and the other was the village of Tavua where most of the staff come from.
The staff were absolutely great. Everyone knows your name and they all get involved when they can in beach activities such as beach volleyball and touch rugby, petanque etc. This made for a very friendly and homely place to be. No kids under 16 allowed here.
Being that the resort only holds about 60 or so guests you get to know the other guests and end up being one big family by the end of your stay.
All in all we highly recommend staying here if you are into snorkelling and relaxing and making new friends. a big hi and thank you to Seko, Tima, Mere, Ala, Ana, Ronnie, Paul and Leah and all the rest who we got to know over the week.BULA!!! we will be back one day!

Room Tip: each room is good, the beachfront bures are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    172
    51
    27
    12
See reviews for
25
517
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We travelled as a party to Matamanoa for a girls week away as it seemed like the best fit for what we were looking for activities wise. It also had the required degree of luxe without breaking our budget, like some of the other luxury resorts in the Mamanuca Islands. We had super high expectations and Matamanoa did not disappoint! From the minute we stepped onto the sand until we were loaded (somewhat teary-eyed) into the departing boat, our experience was wonderful.

The staff were friendly and helpful, always laughing and smiling and always willing to go the extra mile for you. The Bures were kept spotlessly clean and serviced daily. The island has a no children under 16 policy which made for quiet times around the restaurant/pool area and which was especially appreciated by the teacher in our midst.

One of the best things about Matamanoa is the size. If you're looking to people watch or are wanting to experience a busy nightlife, this is not the place for you. The small number of bures creates an intimate environment where you can be as social as you want, or hide yourself away for some privacy. It was a little disconcerting when we first arrived as it seemed like we were the only guests there not on our honeymoon, but as the week progressed, we got to know some of the couples and a few more groups arrived to even it out.

The beach is fabulous and the snorkelling around the island is exceptional. We were out looking at fish and coral every day, as well as kayaking around the island (free) and sailing (also free). If you're feeling energetic you can play tennis or hike to the top of the volcano to get an amazing view of the surrounding islands.

The food is pretty good considering the island is an hour away from the mainland. You couldn't say that it is five star restaurant quality, but we never went hungry and there was nothing we couldn't finish. Most of the meals were absolutely delicious and the menu is changed daily so you don't get bored eating the same old thing. Food and drinks were also way less expensive than at the mainland resorts.

We will definitely be back next year for some more sunshine and good times - we heart Matamanoa!I

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra expense a beach front bure is definitely the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay New Zealand
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I decided years ago that we would love to go to Matamanoa, but have only finally just got there! Words cannot express how much we loved our visit there. If you want a completely natural, clean, sunny, well kept quiet and small destination look no further. The staff are just a delight, sunny friendly people who have the decency to just leave you in peace and if invited laugh along and have heaps of fun with you. We are in our 50's, so you can imagine what it felt like when we realised that we were invading a Honeymooners island! Itaians, Canadians, English and Australians....plus the odd kiwi. They were all fun except for the fact that some,but not all, of the Italians seemed to think they had dibs on the loungers all the time! Not a problem for these oldies though, we just beat them to the chairs in the morning!!! We did have a lot of hilarity with the evening fun and games....like anything, if you want to join in and have fun you will reap the benefits!!! The crab race was side splitting as was the dancing night. The evening singing was just awsome.
The food was wonderful considering it's an island and delivery of goods appears to be only once a week, and we will hopefully go back next year and enjoy these wonderful people and their extraordinary hospitality.
I have read other comments and feel the need to point out, that if you want gourmet food and unadulterated pampering, stick to the mainland and leave these wonderful people alone. I quess you really cannot make even the fussiest/grizzliest person happy if they don't want to be!
After our stay at Matamanoa we spent 5 nights at Denerau, what a culture shock! Next time it will be all Matamanoa!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We spent 5 night in our honeymoon was beuatful!!! We had a bure very close to beach was very very nice!
The bure was so big!!! a large king size bed a nice bathroom with a good shower. Every day the bure was cleaned and if you want every day is possible to change sheets. there were an air fun and two ventilator on the ceiling. We didn't see any spider or other insects only very little ants and during the night some nice millipedes.... but remember that you are so close to nature in a very safe fiji island. We eat at restourant very taste hamburger with beef or fish and but also all the dishes were good.
The only bad aspects was the presence of a lot of couple of italian people from the south italy very noise and rude ( in this case i'm so sorry to be italian too....)
The beach was clean but the guy of the resort every morning were used to put the seaweeds in hole just in the beach.....so there was not a nice smells..... The reef is very near with beutiful place to have snorkeling.
The trips made by resort aren't so nice the best thing i belive is sport fishing..
I support this resort also because is close to nadi airport in less the 2 ours you are in a beautiful place ....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We went to Fiji and met the most beautiful, generous people on Matamanoa Island. Take the time to get to know the staff and you will be rewarded with memories of a wonderful holiday that puts our busy lives into perspective. We couldn't have asked for better service - we watched the staff arrive from the village on their boats each morning, enjoyed their hospitality during the day and ended the evening with singing and activities. Tima and her team went out of their way to ensure we all had a great time. The rooms were clean and comfortable, (we were in a hotel room) the welcome and farewell to guests was a great touch and many of the staff introduced themselves and greeted us by name each day.
The meals were tasty and served with a smile ! I agree that the addition of wholemeal / grain bread would be welcome.
Thank you for a great time and we left after two weeks feeling relaxed and rested - very thankful for the time we had on this little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We went to Matamanoa at Christmas/NY and loved it so much we went again with friends at Easter! The island is stunning (we splashed out for the helocopter transfer which was well worth it) Upon arrival the staff are fantastic and so friendly throughout the entire stay, The beach bures are fabulous and well worth the extra $$$ if they're available. We loved the bar and restaurant and my husband loved 'jamming' with the guitar band after a few cocktails! It's quiet and relaxing and perfect for honeymooners, I have to say... No kids policy is a bonus especially when snoozing in the sun by the pool. The dive instructor Rae is fantastic and great fun. nothing bad to say about this resort, will be back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Good: the island itself is gorgeous. Snorkels could be hired free. The weather was beautiful.

Bad: I am vegetarian and this was treated as quite a problem. I was supposed to order dinner at lunchtime, but when I tried, found it very difficult to find staff, and rarely had the orders followed up. When I ordered off the normal menu with meat taken out, it became clear that the meals are pre-prepared (i.e. the pasta cooked hours before and reheated). This seems strange given the exorbitant prices for food and accommodation.

It was really difficult to ask for things (i.e. fresh towels, an extra spoon at dinner, our toilet fixed), because staff so often just seemed to ignore requests or forget.

Another thing is that the staff were made to sing at dinner, and this was awkward. One of those things that neither the people in the restaurant nor the staff enjoyed. It seemed like it was meant to be an 'authentic fiji' type experience, but was really cringeworthy.

All in all, the resort would do MUCH better with better service, some quality products in the bures (i.e. actual conditioner), and less of a focus on fake-happy performances from surly staff. Its a beautiful island, and there should be more of a focus on enjoying the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matamanoa Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matamanoa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matamanoa Island is a small, boutique, private Resort located in the Mamanuca Islands of Fiji, just 10 minutes by helicopter from Nadi Airport. Catering to couples in either air-conditioned beachfront bures or resort rooms, for a maximum of 66 guests.Pristine waters surround the Island, excellent snorkeling in our marine sanctuary and beautiful white sandy beaches.Loads of complimentary activities both cultural and water based.Total Relaxation is our motto and in an effort to achieve this we have adopted a year round policy of not accepting children under 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matamanoa Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.