We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great honeymoon suites with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Island Resort to your Saves list
Mana Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P. O. Box 610, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
california
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great honeymoon suites with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My wife and I are going back to Mana this month, so I was just checking the Trip Advisor to see if anything new was going on at the resort. We had stayed in the Honeymoon suites in January of 2008 and had a very lovely experience. When I read the review of "Quite the Experience.......Some Annoyances," I wanted to say just how wrong it was for that reviewer to blame the Guest Liaison person, I think her name was Kazumi, for the resort policies. In fact, the golf carts were a nice benefit extended to the honeymoon guests so that they would not have to walk the long trip from the isolated bures to the main lobby. If golf carts were allowed everywhere, it would disrupt all of the other guests, which could be 200 plus people, including children on the paths. I have stayed at resorts in other countries where they allowed this practice and it is very annoying because not all guests are respectful of others or the environment. Besides, this beautiful island is meant to be explored by foot, not motorized vehicles.

Overall, our experience with the resort was very pleasant. You are on an isolated island, which will always present itself some minor irritants, but if the staff was able to remedy them, they certainly did. We were greeted very warmly and our departure was just as nice. The food and service is about what you would expect for a Fiji Island resort. The best part of our vacation and the reason we are returning, is the great snorkeling, not to mention the good value. There are plenty of choices of rooms for every taste and budget. The only words of caution I would bring up is that Mana is a family resort and if you have children, it is great. If you want the peacefulness of a romantic resort, you may want to seriously plan your trip to this resort with the school vacation schedules of Japanese, New Zealanders and Australians in mind. The adult only resorts of Tokoriki and Matamanoa would be great choices, but expect to pay 50% more than what you would pay for at Mana.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    495
    164
    76
    58
See reviews for
571
366
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay in one of the newly renovated Island Bures (cheapest option). This decision was great the bures are mainly in the centre of the Island but not far from anything fully renavated WITH Air Conditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful when needed there are two main beaches with plenty of fish to see amongst the coral although most of the coral is dead. If one beach is winday just cross to the other side. As far as the meals go Breakfast was standard Island Full breakfast with plenty of food. The lunch at south beach resturant was very average for the price and most hot dishes were luke warm. The best option was the backpackers lunch the other side of the wharf great food and a whole lot cheaper. The dinner menu's were mostly the same in the main Restaurant with very little chose unless you wanted the theme buffet meals that I thought were expensive. There were a few nights where they had some nightly entertainment but all in all if you want nightly entertainment this is not the island for you.
For a relaxing holiday it was great

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Stayed on the island for 4 days in May as a part of a wedding party. Firstly i want to say that the Wedding Chapel and the Wedding reception were excellent and without fault.

Unfortunately that was the only positive during the 4 day stay. I stayed in an ocean view bure, the room was fine (only fine), broken and missing tiles in the bathroom, aircon not working 100%. Good view but not worth the price tag.

Checkin was dreadful. The woman who greeted us seated us in the main restaurant area which was not as nice as the lobby. We were excited to be on holiday however we were told to be quiet by the woman checking us in as she would "only be explaining things once!" . We learnt not to step out of line again.

Breakfast and Dinner buffets continually ran out of food and were expensive considering the quality. The South Beach restaurant had slightly better quality food however we were generally asked to sign the bill while still eating the food. We also needed to continually sign individual bills for each drink while we were dining.

The grounds were beautiful however there was still human faeces in the swimming pool as mentioned in previous reviews and one morning there was also human faeces on the main concrete path leading to the breakfast area.

During the wedding one of the guests fell through the deck severely bruising her thigh. Staff the following day attributed the fall to the wild dancing that was happening at the wedding. The person who fell was walking when it occurred.

Finally while leaving the island Air Pacific had booked 21 guests on to a 6 seater plane so we had to organise ourselves based on who needed to catch ongoing flights as a priority.

There does appear to be some political issues between the Japanese management and the Fijian Staff, but we certainly did not feel welcome.

On a positive note there were two standout staff members at the resort. Thank you to the fabulous happy smiley ommlette maker on the morning of the 18th of May and a big thank you to the two fijian men who cut coconuts for us so we could have some fluids while we waited 3 1/2 hrs for the light plane to transport all guests to the mainland.

I understand the differences between countries and am generally an easy going person however when a resort charges the prices that Mana Island does the expectations were sadly far from the reality.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I am unsure exactly what is so great about Mana as parts of the resort are getting run down BUT the staff make you feel like family and the beauty of Mana Island is awesome.
We stayed in the Island Bures which have recently been renovated and are lovely, roomy and have a feature outdoor shower. All very tasteful. I have heard that other accomodations in the resort such as the Ocean View bures are in dire need of a reno but I didn't go through these myself. Mana is great for families, groups of couples. There are a choice of beaches so you can get away on your own and or move to another beach if one is windy. Snorkeling off Nth Beach is excellent, while swimming and water sports is best at the stunning Sth Beach. Sunset Beach is a 15 min walk away and is one of my favourite beaches in the world. You are ofter the only one on the beach and it has crystal clear waters and clean sand. Food.....ok I don't think you should visit Fiji at all if you want gourmet meals. The food at the buffet was terrible and overpriced. We ate at the buffet once and that was enough...for the rest of our stay we ate at the Sth Beach restuarant which is Al a Cart and also much cheaper. The food at Sth Beach Restuarant was amazing! Even the Steaks were perfect! Make sure you book for the Sth Beach Rest during the day as you may not be able to get a table. There are other choices on Mana Island to eat apart from the resort....three cheap backpacker bars. We ate at one on the beach once. Wasn't the best meals...but great location and great cheap beer.
I went to the Mana Spa which was worth every penny and lovely atmoshere and surroundings. Parts of Mana resort need a face lift....such as the decking around the pools and the main bar. But it is no more run down than other resorts in the area.
The feel of Mana make up for it though...they make you feel special and you will not want to leave. We can really understand why people return to this resort year after year, we always like to try different places but I am sure we will be back at Mana again soon (and I can't wait!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

We have just spent 5 days on Mana Island. We booked the honeymoon bure so that we could ensure a nice room and also receive a golf buggy, which comes with the room. We were excited to be driving the golf buggy - and that was a big attraction for us when reaching a decision about which island to go to.

Well... Katsumi, guest liaison officer on the island, soon put a stop to our enjoyment (well, she tried!). The resort has some ridiculous rules about not driving the buggy anywhere except between your bure and the Reception - which makes no sense at all as you pass as many people and bures on this way as you do anywhere else (and there are roads/ paths all over the island ideal for buggy use!). Anyway, we pay a lot of money for the room and buggy, so should be allowed to drive it where we like! The irony is that the staff and private owners drive their buggies all over the island, but we are not allowed! It came to a major show down with Katsumi, and even though we highlighted our points, she did not seem to agree with us or see reason at all. Her reaction (chasing us down when she saw us driving in a "forbidden zone"! and then getting a Security Guard to scold us after her telling us off didn't work). She treated us like naughty children and we are extremely angry about her behaviour and the resort's idiotic policy. We are very unhappy and stil reeling from this annoyance.

Other than that, the stay was enjoyable. The staff are very friendly. The South Beach Restaurant is great (yummy pizza!) and the Dive Shop staff are fantastic and very accommodating. Special mention to Sami who was just lovely.

The island is quite run down and dated, and if you are after a stellar 4 star stay, then go to Castaway - we took a boat charter for the day and didn't want to leave. Castaway is the best island in that group - by far!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pipandned
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We have just returned from 6 nights on Mana and prior to choosing this island, we did a lot of research and found that for the money, this seemed to be the best option. We took the full meal plan, and were glad we did as the prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner were pretty high if you paid directly (around $FJD50.00 per person for the buffet breakfast and same for lunch). Just a tip - if you are eating at the buffet make sure you get there early - although we couldn't complain about the buffet food, sometimes some of the dishes would get cold if you weren't there immediately after the food was bought out. This went for breakfast too.

We stayed in the Ocean Front Suites - the two story apartments facing onto North Beach. All the water activites are on north beach, so if you want to kayak, or use the catamarans, they are within easy access. So is the water activites office, where you get the snorkels etc. So we were happy with the location. We didn't use the pools at all, as we found between north, south and sunset beach, we could always get out of the wind and the water was beautiful.

All in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island Qld
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

We stayed for five nights on Mana Island, just last week. We had an Ocean Front Suite, which we found great for ourselves and two year old daughter.
As many people have mentioned the Island itself is fantastic, with very good snorkelling straight off the beach and beautiful white sandy beaches. The water temp. is also very warm. Activities and excursions are plentiful. The playground was a real bonus for our little girl, as it provided something other than water activities to keep her amused.
She was too young for Kids Club (Minimum age is 3), but enjoyed many visits there with us supervising her.
The room location was fantastic - only about 10 second walk to the beach - very handy with toddler in tow. Be aware that with the Ocean Front suites, most sleeping areas are on the upper floor, so even though it is a much bigger space you will still be sleeping next to the kids, unless they sleep on the sofa bed downstairs. We just asked for a single fold-out bed which we put downstairs as our little one is only recently out of the cot.
Another minor issue was the fact that the room has paper thin curtains, which made for early rising for all concerned. Would be great if they one day upgraded these to some darker ones in the future. The island bures all have dark curtains, so not sure why these got the flimsy ones.
The only neagtive with the resort is what has been mentioned by most other reviewers - the food. While we found most meals to be OK, and some quite tasty, it was the price that really got me. Our food and softdrink bill (alcohol excluded) for two people came to over $1100 Fiji dollars for 5 days and one night we ate at the Backpackers (which was really nice, by the way) and another night had one pizza from the a la carte restaurant. All lunches were usually a la carte and often just a shared single item. The rest was buffet style. Although kids eat free, I found the kids selection of a bland pasta, very dry meat pies and chips hardly an acceptable range of food for kids. We consider orselves very small eaters, and while expecting the food quality didn't quite expect the limitation of options and the resulting price. I guess the suggestion would be to try and get a good deal on a meal package and lug over as many drinks as possible from Nadi or Denarau. There are also brief times during the day when both the buffet and a la carte restaurants are closed and for short periods, no food is available anywhere. Of course, Murphy's law prevailing, this was always the time we wanted to feed the little one and get her off for an early nap etc. They really need an all day bar food type menu to alleviate this problem.
On a food related issue, the resort makes it as difficult as possible to self-cater with nothing other than a bar fridge provided in the room (ie no cutlery, sharp knives, plates, microwave etc). We found ourselves having to pinch plates and cutlery from the buffet to take back to the room, so we could have the ocassional sandwich with stuff bought at Denarau. So perhaps if you wanted to bring some food over, also bring some plastic plates and cutlery as well.
Overall though, we had a great time. We had great weather, great scenery and a relaxing time. We definitely will return to the islands next year, but not 100% sure if we would return to Mana, unless we could get a cheap meal plan deal. Might try Castaway next time as they have fantastic cheap meal plans at the moment (that you can use at any of the restaurants, not just buffet style) and food available all day.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.