We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Island Resort to your Saves list
Mana Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P. O. Box 610, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the oceanfront suites, they were beautiful and huge. I looked at the island bures, they are very small and need a refurb. A range of good eating options, prices reasonable. Snorkelling was AMAZING. White sand and clear blue water. Lots of water sports. Great kids club. Overall was great but could do with a bit of a refurb in areas.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    506
    171
    79
    61
See reviews for
588
377
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our stay at Mana Island was simply beautiful. The Fijian people are so helpful and happy and the island itself is picturesque. Try to avoid staying at the Ocean View Rooms as they are a little "hotel style" and the plumbing is not good. In saying that though, the view is amazing. We found eating at the resort very pricey, so we ventured into the village which has the backpackers accommodation, don't be put off by the fence, it's well worth the look. The meals there were great and the price much better. They also have their own spa in the village aswell which we all had treatments at, being a beauty therapist myself, I couldn't fault it, there's nothing better than having a massage with the sound and breeze of the ocean. The resort had plenty to do for all ages and the Kids Club was fantastic! I do not recommend going to and from the island in a Water Taxi, it was a little scary!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We arrived at Mana Island to be greeted by the nicest people we have ever met. We stayed in a deluxe ocean view bure which had an amazing sea view. The bure was huge and looked even better than the pictures online, they do not do it justice! We should mention Eta who cleaned our room each day, she worked so hard and made time to stop and greet us every time she saw us. We spent many afternoons sat out on our private deck calling out Bula to people as they walked past! Our wedding at the resort was so relaxed, we did not have to worry about anything. The staff could not do enough for us and the minister and choir who sang at our wedding were amazing! Thank you to Nancy for making our wedding day really special!
The beach was incredible, it is paradise! We snorkelled for the first time and were so impressed by the fish and coral! After talking to other families and couples who were staying in the hotel we managed to get some good tips. I cannot even describe how beautiful the fish and coral were, the colours were so bright.
Before we traveled to Fiji I read some bad reviews about the food but I must say we did not have a problem at any meal. Both breakfast and dinner had plenty of choice and there was always pizza and sushi as an option if you did not like the other food on offer. We both loved the Fijian food, it was so yummy! We were on a half board option and felt this was enough as we did not need anything else during the day.
We had also read before hand that drinks were expensive at the resort but did not find this the case. A large bottle of water was only about £3 from the shop and soft drinks were about £2-£3 each. This is what we would expect to pay normally so did not seem expensive to us.
For gifts to take home with you I would recommend walking to the small village on the island (along the beach). The ladies were so friendly and had a great choice of small souvenirs for sale.
Mana Island had a great eco-area where there was some turtles and information about protecting these.
We went on 2 trips during our stay, one on the sea spray adventure and the other to Malolo Island. The seaspray trip was a great day out and it was really nice to see a traditional Fijian village and meet the locals. It was also great to visit Modriki (sorry about the spelling!) island where Castaway was filmed. We would highly recommend this trip it was worth every penny!
Malolo Island was a beautiful Island and resort and worth a day trip.
The only bad thing I can say about Mana Island is the insects (so not the hotels fault but should mention in case you are not aware). Make sure you take plenty of insect repellant although the hotel actually provide some of this in your room which is brilliant! Mana will also replenish this for you if it runs out (which ours did)!
Finally I must say that this was the most fantastic holiday we have ever been on, it was everything we could imagine and we are saving up to return! Despite the long flights from England this is definatley worth the trip! Thank you so much to all the staff who made our stay at Mana amazing and we miss saying 'Bula' and seeing smiles everywhere we looked! The staff even hugged us and sang us all off as we left, we truely felt part of the Mana family!
Looking forward to returning as soon as possible :)

Room Tip: We would recommend the deluxe ocean view rooms for quiet relaxing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Mana is a beautiful island and overall we enjoyed our stay but be aware that there is construction going on at all times of the day and night. We were very close to the construction which began with dropping of metal drums at 7am. One night the construction continued until 1.40am with trucks, tractors, banging and yelling, not so relaxing. They did offer to move us the next day but we had been there for 5 nights already and only had one to go, so weren't going to pack up twice in two days. Disappointing that there was no noise curfew, morning or night, at a holiday destination where people go for relaxation. The island bures are good but old and could do with an internal upgrade with a noisy fan and air conditioner which seemed to have only one setting. The outdoor shower was a novelty but extremely hard to regulate, burning hot one second, freezing cold the next. Staff were friendly and obliging even though they often worked on "Fiji time" when it suited them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are near the construction site, opt for a room closer to the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Our second time to Mana Island. Great service and food. Rooms are nice but poor insulation if you have neighbors who party all night you will not get sleep. The Spa is wonderful. So are the fishing trips with excellent staff. As returnees we got upgraded. Really recommend this resort for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived it was magic from the friendly people including the local villagers, definitely visit the village! To the snorkelling, the weather was perfect! We stayed in an ocean view deluxe bure fantastic! We were with our two teenagers who didn't want to leave! I recommend the half board meal plan (breki n dinner) I don't know what some people complain about!! Every meal was fantastic!! Can be expensive and highly recommend bringing snack foods (only shop there packet of chips $10.50... I know!!!) cocktails fantastic and the shows, Bon fires, crab racing, fire dancing all amazing! And the lady that sings in the band everynight awesome! A great family holiday and although there is construction going on did not affect us! Ups to them to improving their facility! Mana spa whole family went on our last night us pricey but worth it!! And by the way highly recommend the back packers the restaurant doesn't look much but food beautiful (we went for lunch) and to eat n drink there cheaper than resort! Loved it we'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I and two boys aged 9 & 11 recently spent seven nights on Mana Island. The positives were:
1. Beautiful Reef for snorkelling.
2. very friendly staff.
3. very clean & tidy.
4. nice weather.
The negatives were:
1. Duplex bures with paper thin walls (the Family next door to us had a baby that cried 1-2hrs every night of our stay).
2. Over-priced Food & coffee - $6.50 Australian for a small pod coffee is very steep.
3. construction noise at 7am for Island bures near South beach.
We were very disappointed that Management could not move us to another quieter Bure - when you are paying over $300 a Night for accommodation, you expect a good Nights sleep.

Room Tip: If booking an Island bure - make sure it is a stand alone Bure, not a duplex. Avoid Island Bure 139...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.