We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bueatiful place, definitely we will come back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Island Resort to your Saves list
Mana Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P. O. Box 610, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bueatiful place, definitely we will come back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just came back from Mana island. The resort is an super amazing place where we have ever stayed. The service and facility are incredible, activity program changes everyday, we can do many things. Snorkeling and table tennis were our favorite, morning snorkeling at beautiful beach, night time played table tennis in Fiji Bure...also there are many more to enjoy, fishing, kayaking, diving.....The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Since we got off the boat, we were very warm welcomed by Soko, she was so nice and looked after our family through all our stay. Whatever you ask any information or you need any help, just go straight you will get an answer, which helped us a lot, and saved big money from taxi.....Bula, Mana, we had a wonderful holiday experience, only problem was that the time was too short....definitely we will come back again....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    495
    164
    76
    58
See reviews for
571
366
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We spent five nights on Mana Island in an Deluxe ocean view Bure. Worth the money as so close to the beach, plenty of room for the family and our own little balcony. We had the breakfast and dinner buffet meal deal which was great. The buffet changed theme each night so no boredom with choice. North beach was excellent at high tide for beautiful snorkelling conditions. Kids spent low tide time in the pool. Everything was a reasonable price and always friendly staff. This was our second time and we'd go again in another few years. Our kids chose not to join the kids club but there was a range of activities offered with kids club open until 9pm!

Room Tip: Don't go for anything less than a bure as the hotel type rooms are quite small (from our previou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Like many this was a return visit to Mana for me. It's a relaxed and beautiful place just an hour and a half from mainland by (a very pleasant ) boat. Great snorkelling and beaches and of course wonderful staff. This time we were met by Soko who took wonderful care of us from checking in and throughout our stay. In fact she went above and beyond the usual high standard and sorted out some tricky transfer arrangements for us for our onward journey. Plenty of accommodation options depending on your budget but regardless Mana Island Resort is a standout for value for money whatever option you choose and no trip to Fiji is complete unless you get out for an island stay!
We tried the deluxe beach bures on north beach this time and that's where I'll be next time ! Already looking forward to getting back sometime soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

returned yesterday from the best island resort holiday ever Mana Island!!
Had read lots of reviews before leaving and was worried about my visit there.
It was everything I wanted it to be beautiful island bure maybe a nice picture or fijian art could of been added for appearance. wonderful Eta who made our room sparkle every day.
Breakfast was great full american hot breakfast yes it can get tired and boring but its up to you to mix it up. There was a egg cooking station of every variety every day. We took with us some snacks if we needed lunch but never ate lunch any day as was full from breakfast. buffet dinner was ok maybe not quite up to standard some nights, there was a live cooking station on buffet nights that we went. seafood and pasta cooked for you yum. South beach restaurant was great large variety of meals loved the lobster.staff were friendly didnt have any problems with surly staff members. The beaches are to die for south can get alittle windy but when it is so hot sometimes that a good thing, north beach was great snorkelling on both side fantastic. loved the option of having 2 beaches. water sports were good went jet skiing for the first time and hubby. loved all non motorised water sports. Overall the most relaxing, perfect holiday Ive had in Fiji having been our 5th visit. thanks Mana looking forward to next year so keen to go back.
PS buy your meal voucher when you arrive and if you are heading out on the last boat organise a late checkout so much cheaper than a travel agent will do it for.
Thankyou
Deb

Room Tip: choose an island bure the cheapest accomadation and has a great outside shower and really we were ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We returned recently from our third trip to lovely Mana Island. it is a very friendly and relaxing place to stay. The staff can not do enough for you, if ever you need so information our help you can call on Soko in reception area. in the gift shop Ruvina can supply you with the gifts to bring back into Australia for friends and family. Mana is highly recommended for families, we plan on taken all of our family back next time. Hope to see you back there very soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the deluxe ocean view rooms three times but next time we are going to try the bure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Not sure what else is being posted but suspect one of the resorts worst kept secrets is that the island, or at least the western end of the island is set for the next location of Survivor. The location is certainly exotic , but not remote by any stretch of the imagination with the 4 star resort within 15 minutes walk and the airport runway a 500 meter distance from the beautiful and now secluded sunset beach where they will do their challenges. I suppose the producers can't be accused of trashing another island though suspect the panoramic shots will need to avoid the passing boats not to mention the noise from the 3 flights that can occur daily. I'm curious what they will tell the competitors, maybe don't talk to the local and tourists and tell the tourists and locals not to feed the competitors (lol) Now for the resort.

My capable wife found Mana island resort for some down time for the Easter long weekend and seemed impressed with plenty of positives from other trip advisor travellers. Caught the very comfortable South Pacific cruise out there (worth checking out all your options depending on the number travelling from Water taxis to transport for nearby resorts). We Arrived at the pier, welcomed and taken by the "bula bus" into the main hall for us to all get our paperwork done with our baggage following. It's not real personal but not sure how you can process that many excited guests all arriving at once without it being impersonal even with the best of intentions. Soko still did a great job with the necessary paperwork done for us all, explained the layout, options and events. In fact Soko was fantastic the whole time we were there even though it was very busy from finding my lost mobile to convincing the chef to cook the fish we had just caught. We were taken care of by her as it seemed was everyone.

We were fortunate to score an upgrade to an ocean view and it was a stunning view as were all the rooms presented that claim a view. The room was very comfortable, king and double bed, lounge, fridge, and renovated bathrooms (loved the glass tiles for the wall in the bathroom) also A/c with a private balcony out front.

You can choose between the a la carte South Beach restaurant or the North a Beach buffet for your meals. We did both as didn't have a meal plan and couldn't work it out anyway. Not sure what meal plans came with what packages so suggest you do your homework as the meals aren't over the top but certainly not inexpensive, or the drinks (small can of soft drink is $5.50 FjD). We couldn't have possibly eaten all three buffets anyway. Lots of options for meals or snacks near the pool or check out the backpackers Ratu Kini, a 3 - 5 minute walk next door that you may have noticed when you arrived.

The snorkelling is good, just out front of the north beach, but if you want the "great" then it's a boat trip which is pretty standard anywhere in Fiji. The "sea lice" can be a problem as can anywhere in Fiji in April so beware. We are going with stinger suits next year as have been slow learner in this regard and would rather do overkill with comfort and certainty over bravado and chance.

The 2 resort pools are great, especially the adult pool. Must be getting old as really enjoyed this option as did the kids and families next door, though needed to get your sun lounge early by the pool or beach on busy days.

We did snorkelling, swimming, sailing, sleeping and plenty of chilling by the pool. Very touristy for us but just what we needed and an ideal location. There were daily organised activities and what seemed a well appreciated kids club. Should mention the night shows which are worth checking out. The resident Fijian band was impressive especially their exceptional talented female lead singer that you would normally expect in a top nightclub in Oz. My only complaints with them was that we couldn't see the band because of the lighting for the disco ball and the play list was too varied, though realise that may well have reflected the range of audience they could have any night. ( at least they didn't do "running bear and little white dove"..... when we were there anyway) The Polynesian dance show is also worth seeing especially the fire twirling. Maybe too kitsch for some but we love it every time.

Did go sport fishing with Joe (not Moses) from the backpackers next door. Thought I had done my homework and checked out International gold reels and halco lures, good enough for me, but ..... didn't realise they used the banana boat (60 hp) and don't have rod holders for trolling. We still went twice and had a great time even after losing a huge marlin on dusk the first evening (may have been just as well with it peeling line feely from the 70lb 50w reel.) Glad I was sitting down and wish I had also checked the swivels more closely as it disintegrated on the second run but did last the first huge run and aerial display before the fish was lost. (Realised it was probably only a 100 pd standard brass swivel and sending them the 300lb coastlock bb swivel for them to use.) Suggest if you go only use the 50 lb reels, as the 70lb is really for a game chair or harness and can easily pull you over the side with a big fish. Joes a great captain but wouldn't suggest you go unless its calm or you are a seasoned fisho. You will be taken way out to the channel beyond the outer reef and swimming or floating back just isn't an option if it goes horribly wrong. The resort also had sports fishing in a properly set up boat and gear but was too expensive an option for us.

We had a fantastic time at the resort and hope to return with the rest of our adult family first chance we get.

Room Tip: -Mana seemed ok to assist with your baggage regardless of how your arrived or departed. -get vod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just back from 14 days at Mana. I love Mana - Been stacks of times but this visit has been exceptional. The last night before leaving I could not sleep just thinking of what a great 2 weeks I had just had on Mana Island. My 5 star rating is for the whole of Mana Island.

The Resort:

The resort itself has its quirkiness and has some obvious failings in food quality, etc, (I actually now like their lack of perfection). But a resort to breath in a sense of freedom, friendliness, and if you have kids with you a place that is safe for young kids to roam and have adventures.

Our granddaughter now thinks she is a member of the Mana Staff and often occupies one of the desks in the main office, meets the arriving boats, etc, and is greeted by name by virtually every Mana staff member. She had a big group of Mana staff bid her farewell when leaving.

As a person used to city life and running a business it is great to be on an island where I do not wear shoes for 2 weeks and where computer access is there but not easy. Where the sea is warm and a beautiful blue and if the wind is too strong on the south side of the island you just go to the other beach 100m away on the North side. Where I spend hours just snorkelling past multi coloured coral and fish of all sizes ( just saw one shark this time - they are well fed and safe). Snorkel - Beer at the beach bar - Chat with interesting people - Snorkel, etc. On Mana Resort people say hello to each other. You will meet people from Australia, New Zealand, USA, Europe and Asia.

The Backpackers:

Next to the resort is the Mana village and the Ratu Kinis backpackers and restaurant. This is a place that reminds me of some old 50's place - a wooden place right on the beach, customers are 60% young backpackers (from everywhere) and the others are escapees from the resort. Great atmosphere and good food at low prices (love the chicken curry). One night I think there were 13 different nationalities (mostly Europeans).

The food can be very very fresh. One night I went in the kitchen to see a freshly caught Marlin of over 90kg. Another night their fishing boat pulls up at the restaurant steps with another catch of very big fish. A Chinese family had 2 of the biggest lobsters I have ever seen.

A special thanks to the 2 operators of the dive shop attached to Ratu Kini's. Who had their regular table at the restaurant. We often arrived late at the restaurant when it was already full and they would wait until we arrived so that we could use their table - thanks you guys.

The Rest of The Island

Mana is a big island and on its west side are addition beaches, some private homes and a very beautiful wedding chapel. Nice for a walk late afternoon or at sunset. During our stay and for the next few months that side of the island is being used to make a new Survivor Fiji series. We met a couple of the crew doing the set up and also had a look at the setting up process. The amount of people and gear needed is massive but has no real impact on the resort.

Thanks to all the people of Mana Island that made this visit so special.

Room Tip: The cheapest Island Bure rooms. I like the outside showers - nothing like having a shower and have h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.