We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tumbs up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mana Island Resort to your Saves list
Mana Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P. O. Box 610, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tumbs up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent ,outstanding , beautiful gorgeous people , took our breath away, Thanks ever so much to Soko and her Staff :-) Planning to come back and get Married on Mana Island. The warm friendly and very relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    495
    163
    76
    58
See reviews for
571
366
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was all a mistake ! Honestly Guv ! We flopped into Nadi airport at 0500, gummy eyed and disorientated, no local money, and no idea of what to do. So, with little gumption or courage, the Missus and I made a shaky decision to get a taxi to go to Port Denarau, and see about a boat to Mana island. Well, after a bit of a wait, and naiively booking a ferry to Mana, we were squuzz onto the boat and cast up on the beach there, We were shepherded into believing that there was no alternative accommodation but the Mana Island resort, and so we dutifully went along with being shepherded like sheep into this big complex of faux bures, swimming pools, huge dining areas, this 'n that, and gradually relieved of a considerable amount of cash.......... far more that we'd budgeted for ! OK. ( or not OK ) it wasn't until we'd had an evening meal that we found out that there was a really brilliant place to eat, a sort of back packers restaurant, on the beach, 4 minutes walk away from where we'd beached. It was friendly, informal, inexpensive in comparison, and the food was to die for ! The best fish meal I have EVER had in my life ! I crappeth ye not ! The local beer was finest kind too ! We ate there for the rest of the visit. The local kids are enchanting, eager to practice their English, and humbling with their trust of total strangers.
Mana, is great, if you ignore the shepherds that guide you away from the REAL local scene, with local people, and not imported workers for a big corporate organisation. A great getaway place. The sea's warm, safe and the local dogs just sit in it to keep cool. Beware of sunburn even when the sky is grey and overcast !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I recently visited Mana Island resort with my work mates and the hospitality is extremely the best. The management and staffs at the resort are very friendly and the buffet meals are truly awesome. I was very impressed with the beauty of the untouched island and very amazed to see that very few island resorts have turtle breeding and releasing programs. I went out snorkeling with my work mates and it was amazed to see the the beauty of the corals and different kind of fish. The white sandy beach at north and south are the best. I took out time to go to the lookout point and amazed to see the beauty around mana island

Thank you Mana

Room Tip: Block 600 rooms on the south beach are the best as you get to see the beauty of the ocean with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at Mana Island in October for 6 nights with a mixture of adults and children from 9 years to 15 years old. And it was a wonderful place to have a relaxing family holiday with lots of options.

We stayed in an Oceanfront Suite on the South Beach which was a fantastic space - 2 bathrooms, mezzanine floor with queen bed and beautiful views from the deck, 2 single beds downstairs with a lounge area and a covered terrace from which it was only a few metres to the beach. There was a small fridge, but no ice. It was quiet and clean, though a bit of a walk to the main hotel complex on the North Beach. The tiling in the bathrooms was a bit rugged, but it is a tropical island after all.

Some of our group stayed in an Island Bure which looked very cute with thatched roof and outdoor stone shower. It was fine, but not very spacious, and further from a beach.

Both rooms were serviced well each day with gorgeous fresh tropical flowers displayed, a special touch. Both rooms had air con, though we preferred not to use it, just open the shutters and let the breeze (of which there was plenty) flow through. Windows had fly screens, but bugs, mozzies etc. were not a problem, and I didn't see any cockroaches.

Mana is a beautiful island, and the great thing is it is big enough to go for a decent walk and get out of the Resort if you want. There are nice walks to lookouts and the Sunset Beach loop which are definitely worth the effort. Do make an effort to go outside the fence and see the village down the beach, it is more the real Fiji, and any food or gifts are gratefully received. We packed old clothes the kids had grown out of and took the kids down to the village to pass the clothes on to some appreciative locals. We took quite a bit of food which we brought from home (snacks, drinks etc) that we didn't end up eating so we gave that to the ladies in the village when we left too. Apparently the hotel staff are not allowed to accept gifts from guests. But there is so much waste from the hotel and so much poverty outside, it is good to give what you can.

The beaches are fabulous, the water clear and was warm, and the snorkelling good and easy, straight off the beach. North Beach was better, the drop off was amazing and the fish were plentiful, but weather permitting, South Beach was ok. We took our own snorkelling gear for ease, but it didn't look difficult to use the resort gear. The great thing about Mana is that there are the 2 beaches, so whichever way the wind is blowing, there is a sheltered option. I'm not sure other Resorts would be like that. The kids liked being able to swim out to the pontoon on the South Beach and kayaking there on a sunny day was just superb. We used the catamarans a couple of times when it was not too windy, we didn't spend extra on motorised sports but did enjoy watching others try them out. Do be aware that some water activities can't take place if the tide is low or it is too windy.

The kids spent a lot of time in the pool, which was quite small, and yes, could be kept cleaner, it is used a lot. But we didn't catch any illnesses, the worst that happened was sunburn. Nice to sit and watch them while sipping a cool drink or ordering a yummy ice cream. It is certainly a beautiful island.

Lots of discussion on the food. We ate at the buffet breakfast and dinner, all except for 1 night when we booked at the South Beach restaurant and which was actually a disappointment - muddled service and overcooked food. The breakfast buffet was good, plenty of choice of things kids eat, always had freshly cooked eggs etc, and delicious fresh tropical fruit (yummy pineapple!). If you can, get a table outside on the deck, looking over the ocean, just fabulous. (My girls loved the 3 kittens that wandered around looking for attention). The dinners were a bit mixed, but choose the food wisely and stay away from cold food that may have been sitting there for a while. It is not 5 star cuisine but it is perfectly edible if you are not too precious. The biggest disappointment really was the very variable level of cocktail making skills at the bar, but always such friendly service it didn't matter.

All in all, if you are looking for a high level of luxury and attention, don't go to Mana. If you are looking for a relaxed, safe, casual resort holiday with lots of things to do, Mana is ideal. I would definitely go again as a family holiday destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were looking forward to our stay on Mana to be disappoint from the moment we got there. We stayed there from the 13th of November through to the 17th. We got there on a very hot day to be sat down in the hall like we were at a school Summer camp to check in with no air conditioning. It was a hour before getting to our room and we were traveling with three very hot young children. The food is absolutely disgusting. The buffet meal were really bad there was cockroaches crawling around the food. The food wasn't fresh and we felt sick after ever meal. The decks around the resort were dangerous with missing palings and nails sticking out. The water sports were very expensive and not all available. The pool wasn't clean it was cloudy you couldn't even see the bottom of the pool. We were getting the same reports from other families on the island so the mode on the island wasn't a pleasant one. We stayed 5 nights on the island and we couldn't wait to get off the island. I wouldn't recommend it at all. From one of the other reviews I'm glad to hear you choose to leave the island. Ki would say this is a 2 star resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I recently travelled to Fiji with my 12 year old son and spent 4 nights at Mana Island resort. Having visited Fiji many times but never to Mana, I was impressed by the beauty of the relatively untouched Island. With comfortable and spacious accom and snorkelling right off the beach it was a great family holiday. The food was good, but don't expect too much from breakfast buffet. It was fine, just not over the top.Personally I don't travel to Fiji for the food anyway. Kids and adults alike will love this place.

Room Tip: 2 story family villa good option for families but maybe not for young ones with a steep staircase up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I read all the reviews about the buffet and they are right. It is the worst buffet. All food is cold even when just brought out. No taste. Breakfast was ok but even egg person quality was ordinary.

We stayed in Deluxe Oceanview in the 500 range. It was a long walk especially to South Beach. Had a great time relaxing but resort definitely needs a makeover. Pool is dirty and needs cleaning in adults pool as very dirty.

We stayed the 5 nights before schoolies arrived and resort only half full. Took all our drinks from Yees at Denarau and saved heaps of money

Room Tip: Long walk to 500 series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Island Resort

Address: P. O. Box 610, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mana Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mana Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.