We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Girl in Fiji” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana Lagoon Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mana Lagoon Backpackers
Save
You added Mana Lagoon Backpackers to your Saves list
Manabeach 4, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Canadian Girl in Fiji”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Traveling around the world by myself went to this place on an small island in the South Pacific I felt safe here the staff made me feel at home they all new my name . The price was right . Lots of activities and fun to keep me busy . I was in my bikini most of the time cause it was so warm and I didn't feel uncomfortable . I well return one day . I found Paradise Thank you Mana Lagoon!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalagoon, Manager at Mana Lagoon Backpackers, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review
/
/vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    6
    5
    16
See reviews for
4
15
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

I am backpacking around the world and I ended up on this 300 acre Island in Fiji. Wow did I come to the right place lots of fun lots of Hot chicks and Cold Fiji Beeeeer ! I think I found my Paradise ! Thank you God for Mana Lagoon !! I think I found my future X Wife here . Bula Bula Bula !!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

A fantastic cultural experience with a chance to see the real small island (different to the mainland like Nadi and Suva) way of life. Good food and the friendliest people you can meet, you are welcomed with open arms and have the choice to either relax on beautiful beaches, hike around the island, go on scuba and surf excursions and even visit the Island that featured in Tom Hanks film Castaway. There are great live shows every night from traditional tribal dances, fire breathers, music shows, quiz nights and a world night. All are well presented and have the whole audience interacting and getting to know each other and learning a "Bula dance". The islanders are so generous they even let you try their cava for free and encourage visitors to pay a visit to the local school and give you the chance to teach and interact with the children.

This is my favorite place on planet earth and there is not many I haven't been too. If you want culture, good people, good food an awesome scenery with loads to do this should be a destination for you.

Room Tip: Speak to Noa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalagoon, Manager at Mana Lagoon Backpackers, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the review

Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ate at Mana Lagoon a few times. A great effort from Ravi and his team under trying circumstances (we had a crew of 15 turn up). Carpet bag steak is worth a crack and is served really hot with a stuffing of prawns, pineapple and pine nuts. Worth the extra 300m walk from Ratu Kini for the authentic Fiji Backpacker experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I spent a wonderful Christmas here. As it was my first Christmas away from my family I was a little uncertain of what to expect. What I received at Mana however was a great food and very friendly staff. I went to visit the Castaway island, done some island hopping, done some surfing and thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas dinner.

The only thing I was disappointed in was visiting the other side of Mana. They have a wonderful spa and I thought I would treat myself seeing as it was Christmas. The treatments ranged from $300 to $600 and I was glad to arrive to find that it was quite and had plenty of room left. As soon as they found out I was from the backpacker area they wouldn't even allow me to book in despite the fact that they were low on the business, my money wasn't good enough.

As the backpacker area there is amazing food and company to be had and I was really surprised that even people from the upper resort came down to eat here. It was great speaking and meeting everyone from around the island. It was just a pity I wasn't even allowed to buy to enjoy any treatments on the other parts of the island.

On the bright side I saved some money and enjoyed more activities. It was a wonderful Christmas.

And a big thank you to all the staff especially Joe our boat captain. You made the trip worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I dont understand why every review isn't 5 stars. Yes its a hostel and if you haven't stayed in one in a non-westerned country before you might be surprised at a few dogs running around and the odd bug but was so impressed with the hospitality of the wonderful staff at Mana Lagoon. Its important to know there's no electricity between sunrise and sunset so if you need to charge things best to do it overnight.

Ate the best i probably ate in my three months with nutritious tasty meals that are different every day. Mana Island is big enough to explore and I even managed to get lost on it for an hour and a half which i find hard to explain as it really isnt that big.

Great views of the sunset and helpful staff, cheap diving, the best thing being that because of the small number of beds at the hostel there is always a nice number of people staying there, not too many, not too little and so you become part of the family the longer you stay there.

We stayed for 5 days and i would have stayed longer if i could have. Great place to relax.

Sala is the most special member of staff and deserves a special mention!

Awesome week

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalagoon, Manager at Mana Lagoon Backpackers, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for the review

Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Chef Ravi served tasty and buget meal for us eventhough we stayed other Backpackers. We spent a good time in there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana Lagoon Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Lagoon Backpackers

Address: Manabeach 4, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mamanuca Islands are clearly visible off the coast of Nadi International Airport. The stunning beauty and close proximity of the island group with its handsome scattering of tiny coral atolls and small volcanic islands all within view of each other make this the most popular holiday resort destination, a fantastic sailing destination and the busiest day cruise destination. Nowhere else in the South Pacific will you find such easy access to so many beautiful islands, all with perfect white sandy beaches, lots of water activities .Mana Fyer boat transfer from wailoaloa beach every day cost $65 FJD ...Our accommodation is clean and basic offering Dorm, single, twin, double rooms, which includes all three meals from $55 -$150FJD. Unlike others who will only offer accommodation, and charge more for meals. With Mana Lagoon Backpackers, you don’t pay anything extra except for your drinks The Mana Lagoon Backpackers is conveniently located right on the beach on Mana Islands with crystal clear waters where you can engage in snorkeling, fishing, kayaking,scuba diving, surf trips to cloud break, trips to Castaway the movie staring Tom Hanks it was filmed close by on another island. We offer 4 Day Padi Open Water Courses $700FJD if you like to learn to dive, at The Mana Lagoon backpackers is an ideal place for partying offering an extreme relaxation atmosphere! Great beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana Lagoon Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.