We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tadrai Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tadrai Island Resort to your Saves list
Tadrai Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mana Island Resort, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon in May 2014 and it was really an excellent stay! The service and the food are amazing! The hotel is secluded and you feel like everything is tailored for you, with all the staff knowing your name and even what you prefer to eat. We had a great time! Plenty of activities to do on your own: hiking, kayaking, snorkelling, among others. Very recommended for any couple that´s looking for a combination of relaxing and fun. At most, there are 10 people, so if you´re looking to socialize, this is not the place to go.

Rob and Faby from Mexico

Room Tip: Sand bank picnic is a MUST! Sunset cruise is also a MUST! Open up to the staff/manager so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    2
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

So me and my boyfriend went there last March during our Spring break. We were probably one of the youngest couples who stayed there at that time (20 and 21) so we were a little bit nervous of the limited crowd (up to 10 guests max) and activities. But it turned out to be the exact opposite!! We had the most relaxed and enjoyable time and we couldn't stop recommending this hotel to our friends!.
Food was awesome, freshest fruit and seafood, unlimited nice beverages.
Nice massager Tom and the manager Tim was so helpful and made our trip very well organized and pleasant!
Words can't express how close to heaven this place really is. And seeing the previous harsh comments made me want to leave this comment (it's actually my first review ) and I'll post pictures of our time fishing, the food and the room! More about this bitter commenters, if you think paying 1,500$ a night is such a huge deal to you and u'll have to strive to get every single penny's worth back in every possible way, then don't bother going to this hotel. It's perfect for relaxation,holiday and romantic getaway.
Will definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

If I had a billionaire friend, I imagine that staying in his private island villa would feel the same as my vacation at Tadrai. The warm staff cares for you with a personal touch that you only find in hotels like Aman. They are attentive and refined without being stuffy. Anything you could want is provided - gourmet food, free flowing cocktails, watersports, adventures to nearby islands, and an incredible staff that anticipates your vacation desires. Tadrai is a new hotel so it has all the modern conveniences that some other luxury Fijian properties lack. Still, you feel secluded in this boutique hotel in which every guest has their own pool that overlooks a pristine beach.

Room Tip: The four beach front bures appear to be identical (plunge pool, huge bathroom with outdoor shower, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Tadrai is the most amazing place I have stayed in. The service is incredible, I asked for a coffee in my room each morning, and it arrived every morning thereafter without fail. The chef here cares so much about what we think of the food, and asks us what we types of food we enjoy, and I every meal we have had included what we like. Beautiful seafood, curry, steak...anything we like accompanied by Moët, served at your choice of venues- the island, villa, beach... Mike (yes you get to know the employees who treat you like family) will take you wherever and whenever you want to go. The room is beautiful, with a cool shower head coming from a tree branch! Toiletries are pure fiji range which is lovely, big bottles too! Our room attendant seems to know when we are out, and we return to a made up room (inc clean laundry) every time. This place is incredible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Town, Elbow Cay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It would be hard to beat the stunning location of Tadrai with magnificent views of surrounding islands. The design of the cottages and restaurant area take full advantage of the views with the cottage bathrooms - looking out over the private plunge pool and part open to the sky - a particular delight. The decoration is understated and tasteful in island style. The food during our visit was nothing short of outstanding as were the delightful staff and the wines were also of good quality. With only five rooms privacy and quiet are high on the agenda - the sand island picnic was great - but we enjoyed a walk with other guests over the top of the island to the village on the other side. The sole service boat does hard duty but when it wasn't present another was hired from the village for our trip. Overall one of the few places in the world of this type that we would definitely like to return to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIR_RM, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Bula Robert,

We thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post your highly complimentary review
As Fiji’s newest de-luxe Resort, Tadrai was envisaged as a unique sanctuary, affording Guests a temporary escape from the pressures of the outside world. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our relaxed island Paradise.

Your comments in relation to the “understated” design elegance and spaciously proportioned villas of the award-winning Hare+Klein design team are well noted. It was intended that Tadrai decor present a refreshing alternative to the usual tropical stereotypes, particularly in relation to the creative use of native handicrafts and natural building materials.

Tadrai cuisine reflects a similarly eclectic approach. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the light clean flavours of what is loosely termed Pacific Rim cuisine in addition to the more complex dishes prepared upon request. The delicious fresh seafood caught daily off the Resort’s private beaches is testament to the pristine marine environment at our doorstep.
Your point that your requirement for “quiet and privacy” was met during your visit is also well made. Whilst Tadrai has many activities to keep Guests amused, ample opportunities exist throughout the Resort’s 70 acre property for exploration and secluded getaways.

Almost every Tadrai Guest ventures out to the picturesque nuki-i-mana sand quay for a “Robinson Crusoe” (but with champagne!) picnic. We consider ourselves extremely fortunate to have this wonder of Mother Nature as part of our immediate seascape and are very pleased to learn that you had an opportunity to share the experience.

Your resounding recommendation of our Resort is sincerely appreciated by the dedicated Tadrai Team.

We do hope we’ll have an opportunity to Welcome you back to Paradise in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Jan McGrath
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After reading the latest reviews we were unsure what to expect but when we arrived all concerns disappeared. From the friendly welcome to items being put in our room from our pre-arrival questionnaire, the lovely meals, and the attentive staff who could not do enough for you. 4 days felt like a couple of weeks ... very relaxing and well worth it. Now working on a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIR_RM, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Bula Enny,

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed being “spoilt” during your recent visit to Paradise. On Tadrai, we pride ourselves on delivering nothing less than peerless hospitality and service.
Attention to detail is a hallmark of our property, as is the genuine Fijian warmth and pride in hospitality extended by our professional, caring staff.

Tadrai Island Resort is Fiji’s newest Deluxe category Resort. Our ultra-luxurious villas, the product of international award-winning designers Hare+ Klein and Kenneth Cobonpue create the perfect location for couples, honeymooners or for that romantic getaway, as you have discovered.

Thank you on behalf of your personal Tadrai Chef for compliments in relation to his cuisine and for your kind acknowledgment of our attentive staff.

We are delighted that you had an opportunity to experience our unique island lifestyle.
Wonderful to know that you will be returning to Tadrai.

We look forward to Welcoming you back to our private corner of Paradise.

Warm regards,
Jan McGrath
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed at a number of 5 star resorts in Fiji. This one was a huge dissapointment and certainly not worth a visit. You can do so much better at resorts such as Liku Liku which is superb .
When you are asked to pay FJ$3,000 per night you expect things to be very good . They were not. We were travelling in a group of 4 (two couples) we arrived late in the afternoon so we thought we had given the resort plenty of time to prepare for our arrival. We were very dissapointed!
On arrival we waited some two hours to get any service in our rooms. When someone finally delivered our drinks they were very apologetic. we got the sense they were short of staff.
The accomodation is OK but not of a standard you would expect of a 5 star resort. It is all a bit tired. As there are only 5 rooms at the resort the dinning and bar facilities are a bit limited. The night we stayed there it was very windy but we had no choice but to sit in the dinning area and suffer the wind which was unpleasant. The food was good but not spectacular and again in comparrison to other 5 star resorts in Fiji it didnt match up.
When retiring to bed we were dissapointed to find sand in our bed linen.
We had read an article in Air New Zealands Koru magazine which recomended this resort. The article mentioned the fact that the resort put ipads in your room loaded with your favourite music and movies and that your fridge would be stocked with your favourite beverages. Non of this proved to be correct. There was no ipad in the room and the mini bar was modestly stocked with soft drinks and beer so we had to ask for such things which took a long time to arrive.
Fresh towels were also in scarce supply and again we had to ask for these and wait some considerable time before they arrived.
The beach is nice but at low tide it is a long walk to the end of the reef for a swim in the ocean.
When we checked out we raised these concerns with the manager who again was apologetic and readily agreed that things had not been up to standard. He imediately offerd a 20% discount which we accepted. We were therefore shocked when he took our credit card to the office to process payment but returned to tell us he had spoken to the resorts owners (He told us their name is mr and Mrs McVeagh from Australia) who had told him that regardless of our complaints he was to charge us the full amount and no discount was to be offered . we therefor paid the full rate and left. we will never go back. If you are looking for a 5 star resort in Fiji we recomend you stay well clear of Tadrai. Try Liku Liku which is stunning in all respects.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIR_RM, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Bula Mark,

Clearly we were both very disappointed and not a little surprised to read your review in the circumstances.

Yours was a last minute booking. We received only a few hours notice of your imminent arrival, directly from your yacht, in unusually adverse weather conditions.

Tadrai is the newest Deluxe category Resort in Fiji, having being completed just 20 months ago. We are thrilled this week to have been accorded third ranking, Trip Advisor, Top Ten Hotels in Fiji, 2014.

Tadrai Guests would normally complete a detailed Pre Registration Questionnaire, requesting details of music, food and beverage preferences etc. Unfortunately, we were unable to make contact with your yacht via internet to confirm any of these requirements in advance of your arrival. We apologise most sincerely for any delays created in attending to your requests subsequently.

Our beautiful tropical island Paradise is “barefoot casual” and we deeply regret any inconvenience occasioned in retiring for the evening with sandy feet. Please be assured that all Resort linen is meticulously laundered – off premises on the Viti Levu mainland, in the interests of maintaining our pristine environment.

Tadrai Island Resort is a wholly Fiji owned and operated company.

We wish you safe and wonderful yachting around Fiji waters in future.

We are indeed blessed with some of the world’s most unspoiled and spectacular maritime destinations.

Warm regards,
Jan McGrath
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tadrai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadrai Island Resort

Address: Mana Island Resort, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tadrai Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone deserves to experience the dream once in a lifetime... At Tadrai: Tadrai Island Resort, Fiji's newest five star resort created exclusively for couples, welcomed its first guests in September 2011. Located in the Mamanuca Island Group at palm-fringed Selena Cove, Tadrai Island Resort is Fiji's first all-inclusive luxury retreat for adults only. The X Factor: Tadrai Island Resort is the ultimate luxury getaway, with five ultra-deluxe 100-metres square beachfront villas guaranteed to provide guests with privacy, tranquility and five-star personalised butler service. The Fijian-style luxury villas have been designed with ultra-modern interiors including decadent finishes and an outdoor rain shower and private plunge pool, creating the ultimate romantic sanctuary. Experience the best of Pacific Rim cuisine in the signature Na Vatu Rock Pool Restaurant, enjoy private chef in-room dining, or order a gourmet picnic basket to savour at one of Tadrai's four secluded white sandy beaches. Activities are tailored to your individual interests and include hand-line fishing, hobycat sailing and inter-island excursions. For those looking for the ultimate pampering experience, indulge the senses at the Wai Siliva Alfresco Spa - your gateway to Nirvana. Or book in for a private massage or beauty treatment in the comfort of your air-conditioned villa. Each day at sunset, enjoy cocktails in the relaxed ambiance of Na Vatu Bar - a seriously heavenly place to end a lazy or active day in paradise. Live the Dream! For those in search of the ultimate romantic escape, make Tadrai Island Resort you destination - the perfect getaway for honeymooners, romantics and lovers of the very best things in life. Start living your dreams on Tadrai Island Resort... Where everything is included, especially the memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tadrai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadrai Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tadrai Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.