We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tadrai Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tadrai Island Resort to your Saves list
Tadrai Island Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mana Island Resort, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

WOW! Tadrai is AMAZING! I can't recommend it highly enough, and I am looking forward to the day when I can return to this stunning resort for another fantastic holiday experience.

I visited Tadrai for a five night stay with my husband for our 10th wedding anniversary in November 2012. And what a way to celebrate! Luxury villas right on the beach, with HUGE outdoor bathrooms. We loved the private deck and plunge pool too. And the iPad loaded with a custom selection of music was a nice touch too.

This was our second visit to Fiji (but our first time at Tadrai). I'd often heard people talk about how amazingly friendly they thought the Fijians were, although I had never really experienced this friendliness first-hand - until I arrived at Tadrai. The staff here are AMAZING. So friendly, so helpful, so genuine - they really do their best to give guests a memorable stay. Aussie managers Tim and Vanessa are also fantastic, nothing is too much trouble.

Yes, a stay at Tadrai is expensive compared to many other resorts, BUT you have to compare apples with apples. Everything at Tadrai is included - fantastic meals and snacks, cocktails, beer, wine and coffee, an unlimited supply of Pure Fiji toiletries, and a great selection of activities (I can highly recommend a massage on the private sandbar, and also the trip to Castaway Island where the Tom Hanks movie was filmed). I asked for a fresh pina colada one day and within minutes my husband and I were being led along the beach by a staff member to find and husk fresh coconuts - you don't get much fresher than that! On another occasion I mentioned that I was planning to have a relaxing soak in the bath - I soon had a staff member on my doorstep with a bunch of freshly-picked frangipanis - my favourite flower - to add to the ambience. The food is mind-blowing and guests never go hungry. If for some reason you don't feel like eating what's on the menu, the chefs will happily prepare something else for you.

Amazing pool/reception/dining area - it's easy to spend hours there just lazing about. The fact that Tadrai caters for a maximum of five couples at a time means you often feel like you have the entire place to yourself.

I have done a lot of travelling - not just in the South Pacific but all over the world - and Tadrai definitely rates as one of my favourite and most luxurious travel experiences so far. Anyone who hasn't stayed at Tadrai really is missing out on something special. My only disappointment is that we didn't stay for longer. Tim - we'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic - you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIR_RM, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Bula Linda,

We were delighted to host yourself and Tim for your 10th Wedding Anniversary earlier this year.
Wonderful review – and high praise from well-seasoned travellers such as yourselves.

Particularly delighted to hear that our wonderful Tadrai staff exceeded your expectation in relation to their friendliness and service.

Tadrai’s streamlined interiors , complete with ipads and other reminders of busy lifestyles, have been specifically designed to blend with the overall laid-back ambience of the Resort.

We’re delighted that you were able to luxuriate in the natural beauty of the surrounding, whilst at the same time, enjoy the attention to detail expected of a Resort in our deluxe category.

We look forward to Welcoming you back to Tadrai Island Resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jan McGrath
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Tadrai island resort after traveling for 12 days in New Zealand! What a way to end our honeymoon and relax. We had an amazing time there and are looking forward to getting back there again this year! Tim and Vanessa did an amazing job hosting us. We only stayed for two nights but it felt like we were there for a week! It rained mainly the whole time we were there but it honestly did not make a difference. The villas are so relaxing and spacious you can literally spend all day in the room. Tim will get you whatever you want and is constantly asking you if you have everything you need! Vanessa is busy cooking up amazing food! The first night it was a 5 course dinner. I am super picky about food and like to eat small meals and Vanessa always had something for me to eat and the staff got me lots of snacks at all times of the day! There was only one other couple there while we were there so it seemed like we had the whole resort to ourselfs. We both got a massage and it was the best massage I have ever had. Even with the bad weather it was a beautiful and realaxing vacation. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone who needs a get away and likes privacy. Thank you Tim and Vanessa!!! Melissa and Noah

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIR_RM, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Bula,

Delighted to hear that you completed a wonderful Honeymoon trip on Tadrai, although very disappointed for you that the weather failed to co-operate.

Fortunately though, our luxurious villas are “destinations unto themselves” and very pleased to know that you also took the opportunity to experience a wonderful in-villa Spa treatment during this time.

The intimate size of the our Resort (five villas only), plus the Private Butler service offered, ensures highly personalised attention to our Guests.

On Tadrai we take great pride in accommodating the culinary requirements of our Guests to the highest possible standard, as demonstrated by the outstanding effort of both Tim and Chef Vanessa.

We look forward to your return to Paradise – fingers crossed for brilliant sunshine!

Warm regards from all of us,

Jan McGrath
Executive Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a two hour boat ride before arriving at Mana Island, where you are greeted by another little local boat which take you on a 10 minutes ride around the island to Tadrai Resort. The resort is small, 5 villas in total plus the restaurant/bar/reception area. On the positive side, the villas are very well appointed with a spacious bathroom which is half open air, and half closed; opening onto a plunge pool outside your deck.The bathroom amenities are in large dispensing bottles and of very good Fijian quality. The deck is also well appointed with a nice long chair, a sofa to laze about large enough for 2 people. The bedroom is large, well equipped with mini bar and wine fridge, very comfortable bed and good lights. On arrival, a bottle of French Champagne was waiting for us on the deck! Nice touch. The resort offer an all inclusive rate with food and beverage. Spa is chargeable but it is a funky experience to go and get a massage in the middle of the ocean on a sand bar. The food was superb and the manager / chef, Vanessa did an incredible 7 course degustation dinner which was outstanding in all aspect: presentation, texture, taste and flavour. The only negative is the lack of privacy when one is on the deck and that is because most of their garden had been destroyed by the early 2013 cyclones so hopefully, as they work toward restoring the gardens, they will concentrate on planting natural shrubs that will hide you somewhat from people using the water sport facilities

Room Tip: Take the villa the further away from the main reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our 2nd Visit to Tadrai and what a great week we had. Because of the small number of Bures, only 5, which means a maximum of 10 Guests only, you feel that the entire Resort is all yours. During our Stay we had just the 2 of us one night, up to 8 Guests on one night, and 6 for the other nights. On 2 nights the 6 of us sat together and had a great evening, on other nights, you have a drink together, then have have your own private dinner together.
The new Resort Managers, Tim and Vanessa have come from a great background of top Resorts in Australia, and have a fantastic attitude to making sure that everything you need is available. Tim is constantly on the go, around the Bures, making sure everything is as it should be, while Chef Vanessa is turning out great Mains and Desserts, doing her absolute best to make sure we don't lose any weight !!
The Bures themselves are extremely comfortable, the A/C works well, the bathroom is huge, (in fact it could have been smaller and the Bedroom bigger), the Pure Fiji Products in the Bathroom are wonderful products, and you get an iPad to play with, loaded with Movies, if the weather turns.
The Management of Tadrai are aware as to my thoughts regarding the Plunge Pools. They do not get enough Sun and are quite cold compared to the Main Pool and Ocean. During this trip I asked all of the Guests if they used the Plunge Pools, and 100% of them all said they hadn't used them because of the temperature. Fortunately I was able to explain to Tim in person an idea I had to easliy fix this problem, here's hoping !
As to Activities, plenty to do, good Snorkelling, Cayaking, Sand Bar Picnics, Fishing, Surfing or Diving can be arranged, or, simply lounge around the Pool and read, waiting for the next Meal from Vanessa.
If small, intimate and totally relaxing is your thing, Tadrai is for you.

Room Tip: All Good, all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

if god exists i now know where he lives your mind is only capable of exsperiencing so much beauty but our minds have been absolutely blown away we just spent the most unbelievable escape in fiji on tadrai resort private luxury secluded sophistication vercace meets bond once you experience tadrai you actually feel like you dont want to be anywhere else in the world every detail is understated elogance with only ten state of the art villas you are sourounded by the ultimate in cuisine luxury and service like no other the colour palet is like being immersed in a sea of precious jewels i challenge anyone to find any other resort that even comes close to this saphire of indulgent beauty we are already planing our return every one has to experience this mana island brilliance it will stay in our minds memory forever we cried on the plane omg omg

Room Tip: every villa is simply mind bogling it will blow your brain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talei B, Executive Director at Tadrai Island Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Ni Si Bula

Many thanks for posting your highly enthusiastic review of our wonderful Resort.

It was our great pleasure to host you and your partner in Paradise. Seru, Vanessa, myself and the rest of the dedicated Tadrai team enjoyed meeting you both and certainly hope we can replicate the perfect weather conditions you experienced during your next stay.

Your favourite fresh lobster (sashimi) appetiser has become a signature dish!

We hope that you will be able to take advantage of the longer break you’re planning for your next escape.

We agree that nowhere quite compares with Tadrai...

Our best wishes to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our stay was unforgettable! Tadrai is a beautiful, luxurious and friendly place to stay! Tim and Vanessa (resort manager) have done everything to make our stay memorable! THEY ALWAYS SAY YES TO EVERYTHING WE WANT! One of the best hotels in the world! The staff is very friendly, the food and beverages very good, and the resort wonderful! Very beautiful views from our spacious and comfortable room! We spent 6 amazing nights there and we desperately wanted to stay for longer! The reef in front of the hotel is fantastic, with lovely fishes, starfishes and turtles! The helicopter transfer is really nice! We really loved to stay at Tadrai! The best island resort in Fiji! If you enjoy relaxing, this is the place to go! WE REALLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

OMG Tadrai what can i say
this is one amazing resort. we take our hat off to Tim Vanessa and the team.
where to start... we had the most wonderful time, 7 days went so fast. it was so relaxing.
Tim and Vanessa really went out of there way to make our stay perfect.
the food was amazing, every day breakfast lunch and dinner was an experience, every meal was perfect, Vanessa and her team in the kitchen turned out the most beautiful food. any thing you wanted you got. the boys titto, nikko. squirral, thomasi, sam, paulie, smalls, tima, russie, joe. you guys are the best. always there when needed but not in your face, you guys made our holiday perfect. Tim you have a great team there. i was there on my birthday, and was made to feel like a queen.

if you want to really relax and escape this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tadrai Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadrai Island Resort

Address: Mana Island Resort, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Mana Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mana Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tadrai Island Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone deserves to experience the dream once in a lifetime... At Tadrai: Tadrai Island Resort, Fiji's newest five star resort created exclusively for couples, welcomed its first guests in September 2011. Located in the Mamanuca Island Group at palm-fringed Selena Cove, Tadrai Island Resort is Fiji's first all-inclusive luxury retreat for adults only. The X Factor: Tadrai Island Resort is the ultimate luxury getaway, with five ultra-deluxe 100-metres square beachfront villas guaranteed to provide guests with privacy, tranquility and five-star personalised butler service. The Fijian-style luxury villas have been designed with ultra-modern interiors including decadent finishes and an outdoor rain shower and private plunge pool, creating the ultimate romantic sanctuary. Experience the best of Pacific Rim cuisine in the signature Na Vatu Rock Pool Restaurant, enjoy private chef in-room dining, or order a gourmet picnic basket to savour at one of Tadrai's four secluded white sandy beaches. Activities are tailored to your individual interests and include hand-line fishing, hobycat sailing and inter-island excursions. For those looking for the ultimate pampering experience, indulge the senses at the Wai Siliva Alfresco Spa - your gateway to Nirvana. Or book in for a private massage or beauty treatment in the comfort of your air-conditioned villa. Each day at sunset, enjoy cocktails in the relaxed ambiance of Na Vatu Bar - a seriously heavenly place to end a lazy or active day in paradise. Live the Dream! For those in search of the ultimate romantic escape, make Tadrai Island Resort you destination - the perfect getaway for honeymooners, romantics and lovers of the very best things in life. Start living your dreams on Tadrai Island Resort... Where everything is included, especially the memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tadrai Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadrai Island Hotel Mana Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tadrai Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.