We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musket Cove Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Musket Cove Island Resort to your Saves list
Musket Cove Island Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Private Mail Bag, NAP 0352 | Nadi Airport, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Toowoon Bay, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My cousin and I recently stayed at Musket Cove for nine days. We were in the Armstrong Villas where we were very spoilt by the lovely Kara. The villa was exceptional with the facilities top class. A lovely location , the only drawback was it was a bit far from the main pool and restaurant. The staff were all friendly, welcoming and very helpful at all times. The food was delicious although as we are staying for twelve days next year it would be good to see a bit more choice. This was my first time in Fiji and will definately not be my last. Next year we will be staying in a garden villa which is a bit closer to the action. Thank you Max, Munse, Tulia to name a few. You were all great.
NZ Sauvignon Blanc very reasonably priced. Love to all from A41 24/6...1/7 .

Room Tip: Armstrong villas are perfect if you are able to walk to other ares. Not suitable if you are elderly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    143
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
144
160
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at Musket Cove in May this 2014 in a Garden bure.
It was amazing.1st trip ever without the children (4 of them !!)
I fell in love it was soo romantic.
You are made to feel so welcome from the minute you step off the Malolo Cat to singing Fijians followed by a short ride to the bar where you receive a complimentary cold delicious beverage & toweltette whilst your room is prepared,
If you can relax & enjoy the slow pace you will thoroughly enjoy it.The staff are super friendly & nothing is a problem.
Our Bure was clean & inviting, very comfy with ceiling fans,aircon, kitchenette bathroom & outdoor shower ...devine.
Dicks Place (the Musket Cove restaurant had lovely food all home made bread pastries etc)
The evening meals by candlelight so romantic.had the meal deal which was great for two people. There are other places to dine but we never left the resort!
Pools lovely & seawater the temp of a bath.
Our bure was serviced daily & fresh water baked cookies & fresh flowers daily we felt so spoilt.
I love Musket Cove can't wait to return with the kids at Christmas c:

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrinsville , New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at Musket Cove timeshare 3 times, it's great, the staff know you from pervious visits and are very welcoming. The island is very beautiful, and the timeshare has the best beach. There is so much you can do on the island, but if you want to relax and just enjoy, this is the best place to be.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Unfortunately we stayed at Plantation Island Resort which was terrible - however we ate 4 nights at Musket Cove and 2 lunches and they were all devine - fantastic menu choice with a kiwi chef on board and excellent value for money. Highly recommend eating here - I just wish we had of stayed here also as the service and friendliness was such a refreshing change from where we were!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at Musket Cove for 3 nights, in a Beach Bure, in early June. It was a last minute decision to attend a wedding on Malolo Lailai Island, where the resort is situated. The actual wedding was at a nearby resort. The arrival and welcome was great and Nai the welcome host was perfect for her role and so were all of the other staff at the resort. The Beach Bure was superb: large, spacious, well decorated, absolute beach front, with 2 lounges & a hammock outside there was no shortage of places to sit or lie down. The food was great and well presented and the restaurant area is adjacent to the large pool and it looks out over the beach. The resort offers a number of activities, some free and some with a small fee, depending on how active you want to be. Due to our limited time, we only did a short snorkelling trip. The only criticism is that there were too many guest (20), on the small boat took us snorkelling and only 1 crew member. Our biggest regret is that, we did not have more time at the resort. Well done to the management & staff.

Room Tip: The Beach Bures are definitely the best, a little bit more than the other types of accommodation, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in the Armstrong Villa for a wedding, party of about 50 guests
for ten days.

Positives
ABOUT THE RESORT
- The Welcome and the atmosphere was fantastic
- little shop available for small purchases including water
- Nanny service -CHEAP , made our guests trip that much more enjoyable
- BREAKFAST - great options, I recommend getting it included.
- Free Snorkelling twice a day
- Great communal area
- picturesque beach
- Beach bar, with BBQ facilities and bar.


ABOUT THE ROOM
- Lovely and big. Perfect for four of us.
- Good Aircon
- Nice views


Negatives
ABOUT THE RESORT
- Not varied enough food options for ten days, food was also very western and pricey to eat there every day for ten days
- Not great wine and champagne options
- Ten or so sun loungers around the pool, not enough shade
-WIFI - NEARLY NON EXISANT and for how much the rooms are, should be free. $5 or half an hour ish.

ABOUT THE ROOM
- Really far away from the pool, beach and main hub. I do not recommend if you have elderly guests. You can hire bikes at an additional fee. Given how expensive our villa as should have been complimentary. If your guests cant ride a bike do not book the Armstrong Villa.

OVERALL
Lovely resort for maybe a five day holiday. BEACH rooms, highly highly recommend.
The party paying for the wedding had other issues with wedding specifics. If you are booking for a wedding feel free to message me.
Beautiful place. Would be better with some minor adjustments.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keeler11, General Manager at Musket Cove Island Resort, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Greetings from Musket and thanks for your feedback and compliments.
If anyone has doubts about our food or wine selections please check our website. Lunch, Dinner menus and wine list are posted.
In my humble opinion, offering 11 sparkling wines and champagnes is what most would consider an excellent choice.
To be honest we really do our best to maintain "value for money" pricing. No one, including myself likes being stitched up. All alcohol pricing includes 20% taxes and Fiji has a 38% import duty on imported alcohol. Therefore making it challenging. But I think most will find some very well priced, good value wines.
In addition to a la carte each day. We offer theme night buffets - Monday - Fiji Curry night, Thursday our famous Fiji Pig on the spit and Meke, Saturday - Asian stir fry night. We also offer a cook your own BBQ option at the MCYC Island Bar.
We have 20 sun lounges around the main pool, all with umbrellas and a further 20 on the beach. Under the shade of coconuts. The island villas private pool has 16 pool lounges with umbrellas. More than enough for 10 rooms.
Sorry about the WIFI. During your stay the Telecom tower was out of order. Which effected ALL internet. It was fixed last week.
My comments are not meant to be defensive or trite. I just want to offer potential guests a balanced view.
Thanks again. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay.
Garry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Musket Cove is good for familes and couples and the staff so friendly and accommodating. We were lucky to get an early check-in too. Food and beverage very good and pool and water activities and snorkelling was very enjoyable. The other resorts are poor quality for food and beverage so only eat at Musket Cove. The mini supermarket is good for some top up items required during the stay. We enjoyed the day hire of bikes to cycle around the island.

Room Tip: our room was good - it was the old house with 6 rooms and a generous balcony like a farmhouse veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Musket Cove Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musket Cove Island Resort

Address: Private Mail Bag, NAP 0352 | Nadi Airport, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Musket Cove Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Musket Cove you'll find the pace of life smooth and unhurried. The resort consists of 55 bures and villas scattered along the beachfront and throughout our tropical landscaped gardens. All rooms are spacious with separate living rooms and quality inclusions. What sets Musket apart is space, with 400 acres of rolling hills and palm fringed beaches to explore there is never a sense of crowding. Muskets world class marina offers a vast selection of water-sports and activities. Or for those wanting to relax, our dedicated Mandara Spa is a true haven of tranquillity. Musket offers several gourmet-dining options headed by renowned chef Peter Becker and over 150 warm and friendly Fijian staff ready to welcome you to our island home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Musket Cove Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musket Cove Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Hotel Musket Cove Island
Musket Cove Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musket Cove Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.