We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing place on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Island Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Seaford Rise, ADELAIDE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Most relaxing place on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Just got back from our 4th trip to Plantation Island, and am planning the 5th!

It was quiet for this stay, so Ananda's was closed, which freed up Wame to sing at the Copra Shed! John jammed with them a few nights, all great fun. The buffet wasn't on for a few nights, but the a la carte menu made up for that. We had breakfast and dinner there, with most lunches were sandwiches from the supplies we bought at Musket Cove or Anamda's supermarkets, on the island.

We spent most of the time swimming, snorkling or lying by one of the 3 pools on Plantation Island. The free snorkling on the sand bar was fantastic, and a tip is to take out some stale bread for the fish. Such an abundance of different types of fish there. My daughter and her family stayed for some of the time we were there, and I had my 4 year old grand daughter with her mask and snorkel on out the front of there Beach Bure, with fish swimming all around us.

We had booked a Hotel room, but as it wasn't busy, we were upgraded to a poolside room, perfect for after dinner late night swims.

Our activities included the Shell Village visit, Island hopping, lots of fun with our lot, including the pusher for the 1 year old! Went of the dolphin cruise, but alas no dolphins. This allowed more time to snorkle on one of the deeper reefs.

At least 4 of the staff remembered us from past visits, and it really felt like we were returning home to family. Michael is back on Plantation Island, and Richie as the firelighter had all the kids running after him like the pied piper! After 2 days we felt like we had been on the island for a week, such was the relaxing feel of the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    441
    162
    80
    65
See reviews for
725
161
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fiji
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Home yesterday after 6 nights on the island - were so relaxed we felt we had been away a month!! Kids are 5 and 7 - 2 active boys, between swimming, eating and sleeping we managed to fit in snorkelling - amazing, visit to local Shell village, kids went to some of activities at kids club - lei making, weaving, sandcastle building, fish feeding. Food was not fantastic but was fine, bbq's for buffet most nights and you could pick fish, chicken, steak or sausages - or a bit of each. Always lots of beautiful fruit available so some days just had a big bowl of fruit salad and icecream for lunch. Kids always happy with their choices - spag bol, fish and chips etc - all on the meal plan. Would def go again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

Plantation Island was everything we had hoped for and more. We went with our two kids ages 9 & 7 and had the BEST family holiday we have ever had ! We would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy the real Fiji....although it does not have 5 star facilities, the location and vibe of the place makes up for everything. Thanks Plantation we can't wait to come back !!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We travelled to Plantation for 11 nights. I took my two children (14 and 9 years). The location is stunning, lovely sea to swim in, snorkelling, kayaking etc.

The resort is starting to get a bit run down and could do with a little bit of work but I guess when you have the sun and the sea etc it doesn't really matter.

The food wasn't very nice so glad we took a whole suitcase full with us. We just made breakfast etc in our room. Glad we didn't go the meal plan option. The shop by Ananda's is where we would go to buy fresh bread or rolls etc for lunch. You can walk to Musket Cove shop in the morning and order a roast chicken for $10 and pick that up in the afternoon. A couple of times we just made roast chicken sandwiches for dinner.

My boys loved the swimming pools and waterslide. Also, the minigolf was great as you can play this for no charge. Tara at the activities room was very friendly. Unfortunately we did notice the staff at this resort weren't as friendly as other resorts we have stayed at. At some resorts the Fijian people treat you like you are their long lost relative with their smiles and bulas. At Plantation, you are greeted with a "bula" but they aren't that friendly.

I didn't put my children in kids club. It did look very unorganised. You can collect masks and snorkels every morning from 8am for no charge but you need to return them by 5pm or otherwise a charge does apply.

Events in the evenings are great. Crab racing, frog racing, polynesian show etc. All these are free to watch.

There is a shop where you can make your own necklaces. My boys made theirs and you can design them and it's only $6 a necklace or $3 a bracelet.

Nice little souvenir shop also where you can buy some souvenirs to take home. There is also a gift shop around at Musket Cove and a gallery shop up near the airstrip.

We walked around the island one evening and cut back through the airstrip. Was a nice walk and we met some Fijian children on our way back.

If you are after a cheap dinner then Ananda's is a lot nicer than Plantations restaurant. (5 min walk). Kids meals are $12 which includes bread rolls, their main and a dessert. Kids mains here you can choose from Steak, Fish, Sausage, Schnitzel, Bolognaise etc. The meals are also served with baked beans, salad and hot chips. I normally just ate an entree which was $9. So, at this restaurant we were eating dinner for about $24NZD. Great value.

Any questions from people, please feel free to email me. A great holiday and I would recommend this resort to families although just remember it's 3 star. Sue.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We went to Plantation Island In June for my daughter's wedding - and 36 other adults and 4 pre-schoolers. We had a wonderful time. The bures by the pool were fantastic for families (only one night were we annoyed by noisy neighbours - and they were all old enough to know better and were dealt to by staff next day so no more problems).
The wedding itself was magical. The wedding co-ordinator made everything happen just like we wanted even though we were a bit apprehensive before we arrived as communicatrion had been a bit sparse. We need not have worried, he was so experienced and made sure everything my daughter wanted actually happened. The wedding bure was decorated with flax plaiting on the posts and a beautiful flower heart made on the beach. We were picked up by a stretch golf cart and made to feel very special. One of the gardeners even ran out to me with a specially picked bouquet for the mother of the bride - so sweet. The marriage celebrant was very nice and the service meaningful and very special. The nibbles after the ceremony were amazing - we didn't take the full menu, and for $15 a head it was like a full meal. Looked gorgeous and tropical. We didn't even get to taste everything there was so much and the plates just kept on being refilled. We organised the band to play while we had nibbles - they were fantastic. At sunset we all walked down the beach to the restuarant, they had sectioned us off very privately and decorated the tables with flowers - it was lovely. Lovely white table cloths, chair covers, right on the beach. The wedding breakfast food was totally amazing - for $50Fiji a head it was an absolute banquet, much, much nicer than the food we had been having for dinner in the restuarant. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were professional and seemed to be having a good time too. They upgraded the bride and groom to a bure away from us all for the next two nights at no extra cost which was much appreciated.
We used a Japanese photographer from the mainland - the photos are gorgeous; the light at sunset is magnificent. Not too expensive and he gave us the CD in the price (delivered it to the airport as we left - great service).
Other than the wedding we loved the hammocks down on the beach, and the snorkelling was great too. The children just loved the pool, we didn't use the kid's club but had a Nanny a couple of nights - so reasonable.
I did get a sting from a stingray which was agony, however the nurse at the medical room knew absolutely what to do and treated me magnificently.
Our pre-school grandchildren hated the food except for the puddings, but we managed, and asked for a banana when all else failed. Not quite enough variety sometimes for wee ones.
We took our own duty free and nibbles, no problem, I also took the wedding cake and we iced it up there the day before the wedding.
Yes, some of the bures are a wee bit run down, but they are fine for this sort of holiday. We had two toilets in ours!! Some people take their own toaster to make their own breakfasts - would be good for children, however we enjoyed going out for breakfast each day even if it was a bit samey - it is so beautiful sitting looking out at the water.
We helicopted in and out (only a $1 each way on our plan) - this was fabulous, although we did have a bit of a wait for someone to come and find us!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

ideal way to experience fiji. not for the intrepid traveler or activityphobic honeymooner...unless you have children already..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We had our daughters wedding here - she wanted something different from the usual informal beach wedding - wanted a formal wedding in this informal environment! We were pretty concerned at getting it all right and dealt with the wedding coordinator at the resort - but that wasnt very easy! When we finally got there, we found that they totally undersold themselves and were capable of putting on a fantastic wedding - we just had to say what we wanted - they dont suggest anything.....despite having all sorts of resources!
They could not do enough for us and the wedding was a total success.
The bures/rooms are all spacious and well laid out - the food is great - we had the three meal a day plan which was far too much food to eat - there are places to get a quick and cheap snack for lunch so I dont recommend having the three meal plan.
The sea is gorgeous and snorkelling is great, even right off the beach.

There are two things that you need to be aware of here though, one is that it is a family resort so unless you have younger kids, you may want to go somewhere else as the place is teaming with kids - if you have kids, then it is a fantastic place to go as they are well catered for!

This was our second time at this resort and I was disappointed this time to find that almost the entire place had a smell coming from the sewage plant which really put me off. I hope they have done something about it by now! Check, if you are going.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Island Resort

Address: Plantation Island | PO Box 9176, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Malolo Lailai Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Malolo Lailai Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the 553 acre island of Malolo Lailai, part of the Mamanuca Group of Islands, Plantation is surrounded by 23 acres of tropical gardens, coconut palms and white sandy beaches that front a beautiful sheltered lagoon. Plantation offers several accommodation options to suit most budgets, and is great value for families, students and fun loving couples. Most of the activities are complimentary including the 'Coconut Kids Club'. Come experience the friendly Fijian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Plantation Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Island Hotel Malolo Lailai Island
Plantation Island Malolo Lailai
Island Plantation Resort
Plantation Island Resort Fiji/Malolo Lailai Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.